We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had a large family holiday here and can't fault this hotel. We had young children with us and the hotel went to great lengths for all ages. Food was wonderful and would have no doubt in recommending this to anyone who is looking to holiday in the wonderful ski town of Obertauern

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateS515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

I've just returned from a week at this hotel with 3 generations of our family, age 4-70+, skiers & non-skiers. Our family rarely goes anywhere twice and this is the first place I think we may return to. The accommodation was great, and the food was fantastic. The reception staff were friendly and helpful as were roman & dan who arranged ski hire, ski school & an enjoyable Nordic stroll. The pool, jacuzzi & wellness sauna/steam area were great, especially for non skiers who had the place to themselves during the morning/early afternoon. We were there over Easter and there were lots of Easter chocolate and bakery treats. The restaurant has fabulous views and the food and service was great - a special thank you to Lisa for her wine recommendation and general cheeriness, and to the omelette man. A minor criticism was that the child's menu was slightly too sophisticated for the 4 year old who would have liked more along the lines of pizza, chicken nuggets, pasta & chips! There were a lot of extra free activities at the hotel but many of thes could have been better timed for non skiers to fill their days (eg aqua aerobics). Thank you and hope to return!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Mel_Minx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Good location but average service (reception, bar), on the other hand good cleaning and restaurant staff.
It lacks the little extra's we became used to in other hotels in Austria. There's an extra charge for parking in the garage and if you like to make use of the WIFI you have to pay too. I heard there planning a renovation next year, this could make the cost/value balance better.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank blue74Laarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We were here for Christmas. The 9 course gala dinner had to be seen to be believed and all the food, from the breakfast through the afternoon "snacks" to the dinners was outstanding, if very generous. Service is personal and friendly, rooms are clean, pool is large and generally peaceful.

The standard rooms are rather small, with space taken up by a seating area. The larger rooms (we had a "junior suite") are expensive but much better.

Wifi is expensive and unreliable, and smoke in the bar areas can make them unusable by non-smokers in the evenings - but that would not stop us going back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HampshireNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Except for the very booking process, everything else was superb.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just came back from a week at the Kohlmayr with my husband & 3 children. Very good food throughout, omelette/egg counter at breakfast + smoked salmon, soft & hard cheese, roast beef, fruit salad, fresh fruit, different speciality breads each day, croissants, pastries etc. About 8 different juices, again varying each day.

Rooms simple but comfortable, we had a KomfortAppartment which was a 2 bedroom suite with 2 separate single sofa beds in the sitting room, ideal for a family with teenage children.

Pool area large & spacious, good jacuzzi & spa area.

Boot & ski room easy to access from outside, no steps. In house ski etc hire available. Also sells goggles, hats, gloves. Larger shop v close.

Dinner v good each night, 5 courses apart from gala night, 8 courses. Children's menu available. Vegetarian, fish & meat main course choice each night apart from Gala. Self service soft drinks included with dinner - you choose a carafe size, fill it & take back to your table so no waiting for more water or children's drinks.

Substantial après ski snack. Savory, salads and cakes each day. Unlimited tea, hot chocolate & soft drinks.

Staff very friendly & helpful, chambermaid brought robes to fit each child on first day.

Only showergel/shampoo & small bars of soap as toiletries together with small emergency kit - ear buds, shower cap.

We had a great time & would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiflippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I've stayed here for a number of years and always find the staff very friendly. Food is fantastic and although you may read that this hotel is not in the centre of town, it really isn't that far and to be honest it's a bit of a god send. Spa is great pool huge.......enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4realWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steiner
Hotel Steiner
#2 of 35 in Obertauern
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schneider
Hotel Schneider
#1 of 35 in Obertauern
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petersbuhel
Hotel Petersbuhel
#8 of 35 in Obertauern
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Appartement & Suiten Hotel Gloecknerin
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rigele Royal
Hotel Rigele Royal
#14 of 35 in Obertauern
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Perner
Alpenhotel Perner
#15 of 35 in Obertauern
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kohlmayr Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kohlmayr Royal

Address: Ringstrasse 5, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Obertauern
Price Range: £241 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kohlmayr Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kohlmayr Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohlmayr Hotel Obertauern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing