We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Obertauern”
Review of Hotel Latschenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Latschenhof
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just returned from a stay at the the Latschenhof in Jan 2014, great place to be located as you can pop across the road onto the slopes (Bridge 5) which is conveniently next to an après ski bar! In addition the centre of town is just a 5 min walk so you don't have the noisy bars under your windows at night, but its within easy reach if you feel like it.

The room was a decent size for two and the bed although the classic Austrian twin set up worked fine as a double and very comfy! The food surpassed our expectations, part buffet and part a la carte worked well and the service from all the staff was exceptional. The boot room was very nicely set-up and warmers and lockers worked very well.

My only criticism was the wifi didn't work on the last 48 hours of our stay and our room whilst nice and quiet was always too warm even with the radiator turned off.

This was a mid-range priced hotel, we think we got a higher standard than paid for so happy :)

Room Tip: Low numbers on each floor e.g. 101, 201, 301 etc give you a great view... Higher numbers e.g. 110...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisox9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were in Hotel Latschenhof for 2 nights stay in January 14. The stay was just perfect.
Location - perfect. The hotel is close to both sides of ski resort and the nearest slope is just 3 min by walk.
Rooms - enough big, clean and warm. Beds were like new. Maybe just the bathroom seems older than the rest of room, but it was clean.
Food - not a highest experience of culinary, but we did not even expect it. Everything was tasty and the selection must make happy everybody.
Services - you can see that it is family hotel. They really take care of customers' needs.
Spa - it is actually not spa but saunas' place. But it is good enough. Unfortunately opened just 2.5 hours per day.

The hotel was perfect and we can recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Followed the recommendation of Tripadvisor reviewers we spent some days here in the summer. The rooms are a good size and have WiFi which works. The (foreign student?) staff are invariably helpful and friendly. Free wine, beer and soft drinks are indeed on offer.
However, the food is barely adequate - at breakfast the inferior processed meats and sliced cheese are uncovered and well frequented by flies, for a fried egg there is an extra 1.50 Euro charge, for eggs and bacon 2.50 Euros. Indeed the long shadow of the accountant is never far away; at dinner the salads are always the same, the main courses small, and the "rich beef broth" soup extremely thin. Our pieces of breaded pollack (coley) with boiled potatoes were tiny and served raw. The culinary highlight of the stay was a piece of grilled chicken breast; otherwise the only evidence of cooking ability was the wholesome cakes served for tea and dessert.
The rooms had no emergency instructions, or indeed any information except a sheet referring to the catering arrangements. Reception was unmanned (after a forty minute wait, we rang the telephone number given on the internet, and got an answering machine). Emergency firelights on the landings point downstairs; however, on the ground floor there appeared to be no emergency exit, and the front door was bolted at night with a deadlock which the room key would not open. There seemed to be no bell or telephone for contacting reception.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluecowstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very clean and welcoming hotel located ideally for skiing. Excellent meals with plenty of choice. All of the staff could speak very good English and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. All rooms have free WiFi (code obtained from reception). Excellent Boot & Ski room arrangement with all accommodation rooms having a dedicated locker. Am already making arrangements to return next year - enough said!

Room Tip: Ask for a slope facing room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Very cosy and comfortable hotel with good food, clean rooms and good facilities. The breakfast was self service with eggs cooked freshley to order, either fried, omlete, boiled or scrambled. Pleantly of fruit and cerials to choose from with a variety of breads. Dinner was informal with soup, main course and sweets served to the table. In between you can help yourself to salad bar and cheeses and buscuits. We were very fotunate with our room, which was choosen by hotel and not ourselves, we were two gents sharing so one had the bedroon and one selpt in the pull out bed in the living room, so we had plenty of space. Once you get to know the resort there is a ski in facility near by. Overall I thought the hotel and break offered good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mairyhinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

About 3 min. walk to piste where you can snowboard down to the lifts. At the end of the day, you can board back to where you started which is also the site of an apres-ski bar. The hotel is at the bottom end of the village, but you can walk the length of the village in about 15 minutes max. The hotel bar is not particularly expensive if you are drinking alcohol, but the non-alcoholic drinks are about the same price. The food was excellent with plenty to choose from including vegetarian options. The sauna was ok but it is limited and not completely free. If you want to hire a robe, it costs 5 euros. The sauna and steam room are free but there is a charge of over 10 euros for half an hour in the relaxation room and there are also charges for the jacuzzi and solarium. The ski room isn't locked so you may want to take a lock. We stayed at the front of the hotel. It is set quite far back from the main road and is the quietest ski resort hotel I have been in. The hotel is lovely and the staff are very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loulabelle1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel was excellent. Afternoon tea from 4-5pm everyday consisting of choice of beverage and cakes /pizza / cold meats ect . This was followed by 5 course evening meals every day.

The location meant a two minute walk to the ski slope and our room at the front of the hotel overlooked the ski slopes. The staff were very friendly. The bar and "lounge" area were a little small but still very pleasant and welcoming. Would defintely recommend it and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank golferLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
0.8 mi away
Tauernhaus Wisenegg
Tauernhaus Wisenegg
#27 of 35 in Obertauern
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig
Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig
#21 of 35 in Obertauern
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#11 of 35 in Obertauern
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Gamsspitzl
Aparthotel Gamsspitzl
#31 of 35 in Obertauern
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Petersbuhel
Hotel Petersbuhel
#9 of 35 in Obertauern
129 reviews
0 mi away
Marietta Hotel
Marietta Hotel
#8 of 35 in Obertauern
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Latschenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Latschenhof

Address: Ringstrasse 4, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Obertauern
Price Range: £174 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Latschenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Latschenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latschenhof Hotel Obertauern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing