We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time at this wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Steiner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Steiner
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Certificate of Excellence
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“2nd time at this wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our second visit to the Steiner hotel and have to say I think it was even better than last time, we were a party of 3 families (12 in total)

As some of our party were beginners the location is perfect close to the training slopes/T bar lift and ski school (Go with Koch ski school, v-good), out of the boot room, across the road and you're there ready to ski/board.

They are now doing an all inclusive arrangement which means you can return and have lunch, we did this only once as we like to ski a lot and eat up the mountain however, some of our friends eat there most days and loved it, this brings me to the food...it is amazing, a six course meal every night and there's always a meat, fish and vegetarian option (my wife's a veggie), they will also allow the children to order from the main menu and/or eat from the kids buffet (not all ski hotels will do this)....so everyones happy, breakfast is lavish and has everything you could want.

The spa is extensive is covers 3 floors and can be a bit of a rabbit warren, having said that we like finding yet another 'relaxation' room or family sauna or infra-red cabin etc, the pool is big and warm(ish) with a hot tub next to it, around the corner is the nude area with sauna, steam and crystal rooms, its frowned on if you don't get your kit off, we don't mind this but some UK visitors are a but prudish. Our friends arranged a massage which they said was good.

We stayed in a Panorama suite again, they are top floor facing the front of the hotel with great views of the mountain and down the valley, it has a sliding door to separate the area where our daughter slept/sang/danced/put on make-up, as she is now 14 we found this very handy !

Its approx 1 hour from Salzburg, I've driven it and gone by taxi, its a simple journey so maybe hire a car...?

In summary: We will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Obertauern.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Like2getaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    45
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
123
85
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for a week at the end of March 2014 for a family ski holiday. We were delighted with all aspects of the hotel. All of the staff were lovely and could not have been more helpful. Special mention must go to our regular waitress, Karen, who was outstanding. The food was a delight and the dining room was a nice place to be. The hotel is spotless throughout. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. There were heated ski lockers for each room with an outside entrance, and it was a 50m walk across the road and up a short bank to the piste. We enjoyed skiing in Obertauern - lifts were efficient, heated, and queue-less and the pistes were well maintained. The pool and jacuzzi were a boon after a day's skiing and we never had a problem finding a lounger on which to relax, with views from the picture windows back on to the pistes. There were lots of nice little areas in which to sit and relax and the quality of the decor was high.The bar was sociable and a pleasant place to sit too.

We would definitely want to revisit this hotel. The only irritation was the wi-fi. You had to re-register every time you left your room and even in the mornings too. Once hooked-up the speed was fine however.

Room Tip: Rooms by the lift (101 and 201) were smaller but perfectly adequate. Rooms at the back are peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thinpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive comment! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay in our Hotel and that you enjoy our various food and the wellness area. We together with our wonderful staff are always keen to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible!
We starting a new wi-fi System in the summer.
We hope to welcome you as soon as possible in our Hotel again.

Family Steiner & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Steiner in March 2014. The rooms are very spacious and quiet. It is a short 2 minutes walk across one road and you are on the slope. We had full package with 3 meals included and the food quality is really excellent. Excellent Spa and Pool facilities are included. Walking to the "city centre" takes about 10 minutes. The ski room is also an excellent construction.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuenterD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive comment! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay in our Hotel. Especially our various food and the wellness area. We together with our wonderful staff are always keen to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible! We hope to welcome you as soon as possible in our Hotel again.

We wish you all the best

Family Steiner & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located for the slopes. It's not quite ski in ski out as advertised but it is easy to get to the slopes after a short walk. The food in the hotel is great. Breakfasts are plentiful and dinner is tasty with an excellent number of choices. The spa area is very pleasant although the communal areas are over run by young children. This is not a problem as there are places to retract to for peace abs tranquility. The only negative is the exceptionally small rooms by the lift. Avoid these at all costs.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Globalresident123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have just had the most wonderful week at the beautiful Hotel Steiner, certainly the best ski hotel we have stayed in fifty years of ski-ing. I had read reports that rooms could be noisy but our south facing room was blissfully quiet (312) The eat all day policy is a great asset particularly for elderly skiers like us, we could finish ski-ing any time of the day and return to the hotel for a delicious meal. Facilities are spectacular, the most beautiful pool which at 7am was a great way to wake up. Amazing food, lovely friendly staff, we loved it.
Now in our eighties our ski-ing careers might be coming to an end but a week here in the winter will still be on the cards. Tom.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMJONES2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive comment! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay in our Hotel. Especially our various food and the wellness area. We together with our wonderful staff are always keen to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible! We hope to welcome you as soon as possible in our Hotel again.

We wish you all the best

Family Steiner & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

On arrival was welcomed and dealt with efficiently. The reception were very attentive and pleasant throughout our stay. Room was spacious, clean and warm. Excellent facilities in the Pool and spa area. The first few days could not have been better. Ski room great, able to lock away own gear. Location superb. So why not perfect.
In the middle of the holiday one of our party contracted food poisoning and as the hotel is full board , and we had not eaten anywhere else had to assume it was from something served from the kitchen in the hotel. It only lasted for 48 hours and heard that other guests were also unwell.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halpal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgloon, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very neat and large rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Wellness and massages are extensive. The kitchen has Michelin star quality, very sophisticated, highly recommended! The ski slopes are located across the street. This was the second time we were there and next year is already booked :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartensddFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petersbuhel
Hotel Petersbuhel
#8 of 35 in Obertauern
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#13 of 35 in Obertauern
47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seekarhaus
Seekarhaus
#3 of 35 in Obertauern
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Appartement & Suiten Hotel Gloecknerin
0.5 mi away
Hotel Enzian
Hotel Enzian
#6 of 35 in Obertauern
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rigele Royal
Hotel Rigele Royal
#15 of 35 in Obertauern
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Steiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Steiner

Property: Hotel Steiner
Address: Roemerstrasse 45, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Obertauern
#2 Luxury Hotel in Obertauern
#2 Spa Hotel in Obertauern
#2 Family Hotel in Obertauern
#4 Romantic Hotel in Obertauern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Steiner 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Steiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steiner Hotel Obertauern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing