We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gamsleiten
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Krallinger(Obertauern)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Panorama(Obertauern)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Schneider(Obertauern)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Edelweiss(Obertauern)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rigele Royal(Obertauern)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Petersbuhel(Obertauern)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tauernblick(Obertauern)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cinderella(Obertauern)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Frau Holle(Obertauern)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zehnerkar(Obertauern)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
20
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
7
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This year it was our second stay. It was again amazing stay. This is family Mountain hotel right next to the ski lift Gamsleiten. The Hotel is situated in the heart of Obertauern village. Well-known tourist destination in the south-east of the state of Salzburg radiates a friendly welcoming atmosphere. Hotel Gamsleiten, family-run for over 30 years, is ideal for guests wishing to experience the perfect winter holiday. 2 minutes to ski lift from ski room is a biggest advantage of this Hotel also parking is ok. They serve 4-course dinner at the restaurant or sample a piece of homemade cake or pastry. After a day on the ski runs, round off your evening at the hotel bar. Guests looking for utter relaxation can pay a visit to the wellness area, including sauna and solarium.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuloJulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This family-run hotel right next to the ski lift, situated in the heart of Obertauern – a well-known tourist destination in the south-east of the state of Salzburg, radiates a friendly welcoming atmosphere. Hotel Gamsleiten, family-run for over 30 years, is ideal for guests wishing to experience the perfect winter holiday. Indulge in a scrumptious 4-course dinner at the restaurant or sample a piece of homemade cake or pastry. After a day on the ski runs, round off your evening at the hotel bar. Guests looking for utter relaxation can pay a visit to the wellness area, including sauna and solarium.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuloJulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This hotel is led by a married couple. They are warm, hospitable and social. Because the hotel isn't huge, you get a familial and warm feeling with it. They try to make you feel at home and very welcome.
We were there for christmas last year and this year. They make christmas eve special, where santa even came by on his sleigh. Next to us, there are a lot of people who come back yearly to this hotel.
It is situated just under the gamsleiten I lift, which is a great starting point to go skiing/boarding everywhere. If you are a beginner, you can just cross the street and go to the edelweis piste for beginners. As well, the edelweis piste is the piste that is open for nightskiiing. And just accross the street you are able to rent skies, get skilessons and small supermarkts are closeby.

The rooms are clean and austrian like. The breakfast buffet is good. And dinner is a five course meal where you are able to choose from fish, meat or vegeterian courses for the main course. The service is good, and is hospitable.

Wat I really like about this place is the way you feel like home. The service is nice, hospitable and warm. You don't feel like a number in a big hotel, but I felt like a welcome guest in their hotel.
Wat i dind't like was that this year we were in room 127, which is just above the bar. This wouldn't be a problem, because they do seal off the room pretty well, however, room 127 is just above the music installation, therefore on some nights, you could hear the music. However, the year before, we stayed in a room just down the hall, and we didn't hear anything.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottevanbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Gamsleiten for two nights and we were very pleased with the overall experience:

- The hotel is perfectly located right next to the Gamsleiten ski lift and one of Obertauern's numerous car parks (although ask to park in the hotel car park as the ski one closed at 10pm). It is also just across the street from various ski rental shops.
- Our 'classic double room' was enormous, with a separate seating area next to the window with beautiful views across the slopes, and very clean.
- The bathroom had everything necessary, with underfloor heating as a bonus.
- The room had a fridge to store food in, and a flatscreen TV which had BBC World, BBC Entertainment and CNN.
- We stayed on a half-board basis and have never eaten so much. Half board included breakfast, coffee and cakes in the afternoon and a six course meal in the evening - I was expecting a buffet dinner, so was amazed at the sheer quantity and quality of the food provided! Drinks had to be paid for separately, but were surprisingly affordable. The restaurant was non-smoking.
- There was a ski room with a heated shoe rack to store equipment overnight - there's a door directly from the room to the carpark outside (we made the mistake of walking through reception in our snowy ski stuff the first day)

A couple of comments about the hotel:
- When we returned to our room after a day's skiing my make up bag had been emptied out on the side and my make up mirror was broken. We didn't complain to the hotel as we didn't want to create an atmosphere when we were enjoying the experience, but were slightly concerned that the cleaner had been going through our things, and worse, damaging them (although it could have been by accident).
- Tea making equipment would have been a welcome addition in the room

We thought the hotel was fantastic though, and would definitely stay again.

We both thought that Obertauern itself was a lovely ski resort, with enough slopes of varying degrees to keep us both happy and plenty of bars/restaurants for apres-ski lovers. The majority of people seemed to be Austrian/German on weekend breaks, but being only an hour's drive from Salzburg it's easily doable from the UK for a short getaway. We hired a car in Salzburg and the drive to Obertauern was extremely easy, even in the snow.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We booked for 4 nights for a family ski trip and have found the staff to be extremely welcoming and helpful. The rooms are large and well appointed with good comfy beds. The meals are excellent with a great selection at breakfast and eggs and bacon cooked to order. From 3.30 there are cakes and tea or coffee. Dinner has been delicious and beautifully presented with six courses. We have stayed at 3 other hotels in Obertauern and this one is by far the best. The location is superb and the skiing is very good. Less than an hour away from Salzburg. Brilliant, we will definately come again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews