We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Petersbuhel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Petersbuhel
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We booked through Crystal for a weeks stay at the Petersbuhel in early March 2012. Having flown in on a early morning flight we arrived at 1 p.m. to be told our room was not ready, which having been up since 2 a.m. that morning was not what we wanted to hear! I guess we were just unlucky as the rooms for other guests checking in at the same time were ready for them. We were told to come back at 3 p.m. and not before. When we finally got our room it was a bit on the small side, old and tired and was in need of updating but on the plus side the bathroom was nice with fresh towels provided each day and we had great views over the facing ski slopes and a good sized balcony
We found the food to be of good quality. The weekly farmers buffet and desert buffet were excellent and the daily skiers snack (bread, various spreads and lovely cakes) was an added bonus and greatly enjoyed after a hard day of skiing.
The hotel has a large wellness area which my partner visited each evening, during our stay the naked rules did apply during our visit (so he tells me)
There is a large bar area next to the reception that has an open fire and flat screen tv showing mostly football, plenty of seating and a large range of wines and cocktails. You cannot add any drinks purchased in the bar to your room bill, but drinks ordered in the restaurant at dinner can be charged.
The hotel is not ski to door, but a very short walk down the road in each direction will take you to the nearest lift or on to directly on to a piste giving access to the lifts on the opposite side of the valley.
Overall we did enjoy our stay and would probably return, but would hope to be allocated a better room if we did.

Room Tip: May be worth paying a supplement for a larger, more updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GDP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    47
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday in the Petersbuhel hotel March 2012. Having read the reviews we had mixed messages, we arrived and were shown into a tiny room miles away from the main part of the hotel when shown to our table for dinner once again put at the back miles away. I did politely ask if we could have a table in the window to be told by Claudia "owner" no we are fully booked on looking into this I found not to be true. We had to complain to the rep who was very helpful to be able to move. I found the food, owners and the hotel not up to a 4 star standard in fact who doubt if it met a 3 star. Having skied in Austria before I would not stay here again much better hotels in Obertauern.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane_parkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here for the first time in March 2012. Welcomed by a friendly receptionist in traditional Austrian costume. The room was comfortable with a south-facing balcony with a great mountains view. All we needed as we were there to ski. The staff were all friendly & helpful, especially the restaurant staff, in particular Hanna. The choice of breakfast buffet was excellent as was the 5 course evening meals. Plenty of choice so even the most fussy eater should be satisfied. In the afternoon the hotel provides a skiers snack with hot drinks & a wide selection of cakes & pastries after a busy day on the piste. There was plenty of snow during our trip but the road to the hotel was clear so we couldn't ski to the door. However it was only a short walk to the slopes, a skiers resort with lively apres ski if you want it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed as part of Crystal package which was £1200 each for half board plus afternoon ( 15.00 to 17.00) skiers snacks . the hotel is almost ski in /out which is much better than most hotels in this resort . Our room was on 3rd floor - No 52 - Lungai style - which seemed to stand for old & unimproved! The carpet was orange , unclean , stained and in an industrial style fabric . The curtains were blue and so thin that the street lights shone through ! The walls bore the scars of previous residents . It was not a four star room .There was a balcony with superb view of ski area and mountains ( See photo) The hotel was not full but diplomatic requests for a room change were met with ' thats the room you have been allocated' by the hotel and Crystal.

Breakfast was a reasonable buffet . Nothing freshly cooked like an egg or an omlette as you would find in 4* Spain/Portugal hotels.

Dinner was a salad buffet , a choice of two soups and three main courses - a meat , a fish a vegetarian. Dessert and/or cheese . The cheese board was superb - huge selection of very different types of cheese! Not 4* food but adequate in quality and amount .

The afternoon cakes were varied and nearly all excellent . A real bonus .

All the staff were good and Katja our waitress was very good - efficient and charming .

The remainder of the hotel - ski and bot room , public areas , bar and 'spa' - were 4 star . The spa lacks a jacuzzi and you can wear clothes - altho notices say you should be nude.

The ski area is well suited to beginners through to good intermediates . Several choke points on the slopes produced very dangerous skiing with young Germans rocketing through groups of slower skiers . One guy in the hotel was hit by not one but four teenagers - 5 stiches to repair the ski going over his hand and a broken collar bone . They scarecly apologised! He did not ski - obviously! - for the remaining 3 days of his holiday .

It is not a big ski area but enough for 5 days - 2 days of constant snow stopped us going out ! Food and drink on hill was expensive - 6E for a beer !

The very poor room highlights the continuing problem with a package holiday . The tour company pays peanuts for the cheapest rooms and the hoteliers then treat the customer like monkeys .

Room Tip: Make sure you get an improved room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobessonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here in January 2012 for the sixth year. We have always found the owner and the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms are always comfortable and clean.The food has improved over the years and is now excellent and the addition of a new lounge bar in recent years has greatly improved after dinner comfort. The hotel is ideally placed for the slopes and if the conditions are right you can actually ski to and from the front door

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel in February 2012 we were greeted by a friendly receptionist (with an interesting outfit!) however one of the receptionists, who I think could've been co manager, was not very welcoming or friendly throughout the stay.

Our twin room was very clean and cosy (our cleaner was very friendly) however we were unfortunate to have 'elephants' staying in the room above us (I don't think this was a common problem for other guests as other members of our party didn't have any noise problems). We did inform the (male) manager who was helpful and did try to solve the problem.

The afternoon selection of cakes and savouries was a lovely addition and very morish! There was a nice variety of evening meals and the waiters/waitresses were very friendly and assisting inparticular Rene and Katia.

The spa area was very relaxing and modern although was a bit put off using the 'bikini-free' sauna. I think this spa missed a jacuzzi. Massage prices a little expensive but reasonable I suppose.

My party and I enjoyed using the family lounge/games room (which also has a childrens play area next door).

Location was suitable and we were lucky to have a gorgeous view of the mountains.

When it came to paying the bar bill there was a confusion over what we had spent as they had not kept records of receipts. It would also be useful if they would allow you to pay using a credit card (especially if they are able to take credit card for the deposit).

I would recommend this hotel and consider possibly returning again in the future.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamC090814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Second year at this excellent hotel. Room again was spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts, after-ski teas and dinners all first class. Sensible bar and restaurant wine prices - a pleasant change from french resorts! The staff are friendly and professional and couldn't be more helpful. Hotel provides some ski guiding and snow-shoeing expeditions for guests without charge.The "wellness" area is terrific, though not for the prudish with nudity obligatory! Not quite ski-in/out but very close to being so - a stop at the Achenrainhutte a couple of minute's ski above the hotel thoroughly recommended at the end of the day - if you can sqeeze in. Not a hotel for young ravers, though serious apres ski bars are only a few minutes walk away. Good resort for intermediates but better skiers may find runs a tad short and run out of options and variety.

Room Tip: So called superior rooms were excellent as was a "studio". There is a neat private lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul0U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#13 of 35 in Obertauern
47 reviews
1.6 mi away
Appartement & Suiten Hotel Gloecknerin
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
#9 of 35 in Obertauern
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#11 of 35 in Obertauern
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Enzian
Hotel Enzian
#6 of 35 in Obertauern
111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seekarhaus
Seekarhaus
#3 of 35 in Obertauern
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Petersbuhel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Petersbuhel

Property: Hotel Petersbuhel
Address: Gamsleitenstrasse 6, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Obertauern
#8 Luxury Hotel in Obertauern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Petersbuhel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pure joy of skiing in a cozy holiday atmosphere at the beautiful Petersbuhel (located in the center of Obertauern and next to the lift). We pamper you with a unique wine collection, a free basement garage, modern & traditional cuisine, a cozy fire place in our wine bar, our feel well area and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Petersbuhel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Petersbuhel Obertauern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing