We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”

ABC Altstadt-Appartements
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ABC Altstadt-Appartements
Centennial, Co
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best location”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in the Constanze room at the ABC Altstadt Apartments and loved it! The room is very clean and bright, with a small kitchenette that has all the necessary equipment and utensils. The apartments are right on Getreidegasse, so the location couldn't be any better. Don't worry about any noise, because the sound proof windows definitely do their job. The hardwood floors slope a bit, which just adds to the charm of this 600 year old house!

Heide was very timely in her responses to emails, and patiently waited in the apartment (even though our train was delayed!) to give us the keys and show us around the room.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in October and found the room to be perfect for the two of us as it was a studio type. The bed was very comfortable, the room very clean, and the amenities were all you'd need and more. The coffee's were an extra unexpected bonus. Heide was a lovely lady and very gracious, and very helpful in planning our stay. The location is very close to many of the sights and very walkable. The pedestrian street was very nice and even nicer for an evening stroll. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place and highly agree with the rest of the writers that this truly was a great place to stay. Thanks Heide, hope we meet again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredandenjoyingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in late Nov. Heidi was great, as mentioned in many of the other reviews. She was responsive to my questions via email. You have to let her know your arrival time as she will be there to receive you.

The apartment is located in the Getreidegasse which is within a 5 minutes walk to a few attractions. It is also near to the carpark for those driving. Rooms are clean and accommodate 4 nicely. There is free wifi. The kitchen has what we needed for the stay. The coffee machine is a nice touch.

This is not a service apartment so do not expect to get any room service. You are pretty much left on your own after you checked in which worked for us. Heidi was quick to reply to my emails when I have questions.

If you are ok with no-frill stay, this is good. If you are looking to have full hotel service, then you should book a family room in a hotel.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sti8k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

we read several glowing reviews about this apartment so I emailed the owner, Heide, who responded almost immediately and was extremely helpfuly throughout the entire booking and follow-up process.
The apartment itself - we stayed in Beatrice - was just perfect for us. Totally self-contained with all the kitchen amenities you could need - even a Nespresso coffee machine. A good sized bathroom, comfortable bed etc. However, the best part is the location.
The apartment is right on Getreidegasse which is the main tourist "laneway" within Old Salzburg. Everything is within walking distance from here - including Mozarts birth house which is literally 5 minutes walk away. It is close to every sort of supermarket, restaurant and any other type of eatery store you could want.

As far as sightseeing: You are a few minutes walk from several squares; the funicular railway up to the Castle; a few minutes walk to the famous Cafe Tomaselli for the best coffee and cakes in Austria! Also, you are moments away from the river and Mirabella gardens etc etc.

The amazing thing is, this "laneway" street is constantly teeming with tourists and your window opens out on to the street where you can view and hear all of the touristy atmosphere, however, once you close the outside sound-proof windows - you hear nothing. It is superb.

On our arrival Heide was as gracious, helpful and welcoming as we've ever experienced at any holiday location. She was marvellous. We cannot recommend this accommodation hightly enough and would stay nowhere else on a return visit to Salzburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in Apartment Beatrice with our 8 year old daughter. My communication with Heide was excellent. She provided clear directions and met us without complaint even as we were late due to train delay. The apartments is on the third level overlooking the lively Getreidegasse. The windows provide total blocking out of any noise as well as the curtains to darken the room. We were very impressed upon arrival with both Heide and the apartment. We had plenty of room for the 3 of us and the kitchen is well stocked. I was impressed with the variety of coffees she provided..
We all agree it is one of the best apartments and locations we have come across!!!
Thank you, Heide for sharing this treasure with us. We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Beatrice overlooks the lively street and is wonderful for people watching! (you do have to lean out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed in Apartment Constanze which faces out onto the Getreidegasse so the location is brilliant. Whilst being a very noisy street during the day it does quieten down at night (there are no bars or pubs, and the restaurants tend to shut quite early) and the double glazing in the apartment is incredible - you can't hear a thing! We left the windows open during the day as the room does get quite warm, but there is air con if you need it. The owner, Heidi, is very friendly and helpful, and made us feel very welcome and showed us around the apartment. The apartment is small but very cosy. As you go in the front door there is a bathroom on your right with a lovely large, powerful shower and sink area. On your left is a room with the toilet in. The main room has a large bed, which is actually two singles zipped together and the bedding is two single duvets rather than one large one. There is also a wardrobe, table and chairs, and a small kitchen area with a sink, hob, fridge/freezer and shelves with various utensils/pots and pans. If you are a light sleeper then be warned that the fridge does make a humming noise on and off, and you can hear the television slightly from next door. The floorboards are also really creaky (which you would expect from such an old building) and so it is impossible to get up and move around without disturbing your travelling companion! My one complaint is the lack of storage - there is a very large wardrobe and plenty of hangers, but a chest of drawers/shelves would have been very useful and I ended up piling all our things up on the floor of the wardrobe. If you're there for a weekend then this is not really an issue but we were there for a week and so had quite a lot of things. The coffee machine is a welcome addition and there are utensils and equipment for all meals. It would have been useful to have a tea towel for drying things up after washing up, and whilst there is a drying rack in the cupboard, it is very small and has to sit on the electric hob. We would thoroughly recommend the apartment and it makes the Salzburg experience so much more special than staying in a hotel. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrooveArmada58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

After reading several positive reviews about the ABC apartments we decided to give it a try. Heidi the owner emailed us with directions to the hotel and asked if we needed anything on our arrival.
Heidi is a great lady and her apartment was very welcoming and warm. After three days in Salzburg it felt like we came home every night. There is a small kitchen with a nespresso coffee maker, stover top, fridge etc.
Master bed was comfy but our kids complained about the spare room single beds. All in all a very very great place to stay!

Room Tip: Just communicate with Heidi what your needs are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetlagforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.0 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#14 of 132 in Salzburg
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.3 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABC Altstadt-Appartements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC Altstadt-Appartements

Property: ABC Altstadt-Appartements
Address: Getreidegasse 42, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABC Altstadt-Appartements 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing