We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Hostel with parking”
Review of Muffin Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Muffin Hostel
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Okay Hostel with parking”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed at this hostel with my husband mainly because it was the closest to the city center with parking for the price. It was fine. Not amazing, not terrible. We stayed in a 4 person dorm room for 2 nights. Both nights we were fortunate to have quiet roommates. Everything seemed fairly clean which is a top priority for me in a hostel. They have separate bathrooms for boys and girls which I liked (no walking in on a dude brushing his teeth and flexing for the mirror in his underwear - this has happened elsewhere and I prefer to avoid it if possible). There are only two toilet and shower stalls but I never had to compete for them.

It is a decent walk to the city center, but not bad. We had read reviews before we came about how long the walk in would take us. Perhaps we just had very low expectations but we didn't find the walk troublesome at all. Plus it gives you the opportunity to walk through the tunnel which we both found interesting. We found everything that Salzburg built into the mountain fascinating.

All in all, it's an average stay. The staff is nice but not overly so. The rooms are clean but somewhat uncomfortable. The location is fair. This goes for the price too. Good not great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    20
    18
    11
    18
See reviews for
10
25
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The location is really awkward for people travelling by public transports. Might actually be good if you drive as they have lots of parking space. Apparently it was a student accommodation, and the sign "Muffin Hostel" is temporarily hang up, covering the original sign. Even the layout of the room is like a student study room. The room was not very clean, and I could easily flies in the room and sometimes bugs on my bed. Wifi is available, but only in the lobby. We were given bed sheets and had to put them on by ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0nd0nKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The hostel is clearly a boarding school or something similar which is converted into a hostel for the summer months. The temporary sign outside and the huge Christian mural on the wall of the reception/common area were the first giveaways. The staff were fairly polite without being overly friendly.

We booked a twin room, hoping to push the beds together, but they were each attached to the walls and their own study desk (like being back at school) but can't complain about this as we booked a twin. The hostel was quiet at night which was great and meant you could get a good sleep.

As others have written the wi-fi which was very poor, even in the reception area which was very frustrating. It was a 20 min walk to the city centre, but this was fine for us and was a fairly nice walk. Another issue we had was no security pass or anything that had to be shown to get your key which didn't make it seem too secure. Keys were given out to whoever asked for them.

Overall not the best hostel but definitely not the worst either. For the prices charged however, there's that needs to be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aga117, Manager at Muffin Hostel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are planning to introduce new security policy in order to make our guests feel safer during their stay. We were facing some internet problems last summer and we are currently working on permanent solutions. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg anyway! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Quite big youth hostel (2 floors with many kinds of rooms), located in a very quiet area but in 15 minutes walking to the centre. We were in a four bed shared room with shared bathroom. The dortory was very simple, but with many furnitures to tidy clothes. The bathroom was a bit disappointing because there are only 2 showers and it gets dirty very fast...And you have to bring your own towels which is not very practical when you travel.
Concerning the breakfast, I don't advise you to take it since it is almost 5euros for hardly something to eat. Little choice, very basic and not so good!

However the staff is kind but not very efficient when it comes to fixing the wifi (which is not very powerful...it doesn't work in the bedrooms, so that you have to come in the reception to get a decent connection!).

The youth hostel has a terrace which is very pleasant to relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Laure B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aga117, Manager at Muffin Hostel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for the review - we would like to assure you that we will take these suggestions into account. We were facing some serious internet problems lat summer, but we are now working on permanent solutions. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg anyway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights, yes it's a bit pricey but we found it to be the most reasonable place to stay in Salzburg with parking and within walking distance of the city.

It takes around 20 minutes to walk into the centre of the city it's also in a great location to walk to Leopoldskron for any sound of music fans, it takes around 15 minutes and it's a lovely walk past farmland.

The hostel is actually student accommodation, so the rooms are a good size with private facilities. We found it very comfortable and the staff to be very friendly, knowledgeable and very happy to help. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lawmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

As many others have said, this place is at least a 15-20 minute walk to Salzburg itself from this place, although the walk is a pleasant one. I'm not sure I'd fancy walking back in the dark however as the route does take you down a path through the forest.
The room was clean, although we had to make the beds ourselves and were given the most starchy, itchy sheets I've ever slept on to do so! I don't mind making my own bed but considering this was the only place that asked us to do this during our travels through Europe and was also one of the most expensive hostels we stayed in it seemed a bit strange.
I think the crux of the problem with this place is not the location or the rooms themselves but just that you constantly feel like you're paying for something more than what you get. The bathrooms in the private rooms are tiny, the bar doesn't open till 10pm, they only accept payment in cash and they are quite hard to locate from the town itself. The overall feel of the organisation and service here is chaotic, the place seems to be run by teenagers who are perhaps more suited to staying in a hostel rather than running one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cesca1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

They gave us muffins! What better way to improve to mood of three tired teenagers. The location was pretty decent.. About a 20 minute walk to the city or a bus ride into town which was a less than five minute walk to the stop and a five minute ride into the city. The room itself was pretty average. We booked a triple room which had a bunk bed and a single bed and was tiny - but that was what we expected. However, the cleanliness of the room was quite poor; there were black hairs scattered over each of the beds which was pretty gross. The floor was also very dirty but the bathroom reasonably clean. They have cooking facilities which seemed quite good but we did not use them. The WiFi was appalling - the hostel advertised that the WiFi would work around the hotel but the signal was incredibly weak and only slightly worked in the reception area. The people were very nice and helpful and we booked our hostel in Prague through them as we got a discount.. The reception is open 24 hours which is really convenient. The value is okay but its what you would expect for Salzburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellebell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Pension Josefa
Pension Josefa
#104 of 132 in Salzburg
18 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pension Jahn
Pension Jahn
#50 of 132 in Salzburg
181 reviews
1.9 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
JUFA Hotel Salzburg City
JUFA Hotel Salzburg City
#3 of 37 in Salzburg
667 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kolpinghaus Salzburg
Kolpinghaus Salzburg
#12 of 37 in Salzburg
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ferienwohnung Kasererbraeu
Ferienwohnung Kasererbraeu
#54 of 61 in Salzburg
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muffin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muffin Hostel

Property: Muffin Hostel
Address: Hegigasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Muffin Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muffin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing