We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jedermann(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ganslhof(Salzburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
154
308
178
43
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
308
178
43
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townminute walkmountain viewtrain stationnumber busair congave us a mapmodern hotelthe staff was friendly and helpfuleuros per personcorner roomstayed here for nightsstandard roommain stationquiet locationmini barpublic transport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The carpet was stained in the room and the hallway. No ice bucket in the room. No remote control for TV in the room (had to ask twice). 2 lamps not working. Different coffee cups in room and one was chipped. VERY NOISY A/C UNIT. Liquid soap only, no shampoo, conditioner or hand lotion. I think that says it all.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go to another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baldharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City and your feedback.

We are sorry, that you could not fully enjoy your stay in our hotel. Unfortunately some of our carpets are very worn-out and the staines cannot removed anymore. Therefore we did start in this week to change the carpets.

We do not have ice buckets in our guest room as a standard, but are pleased to provide ice cubes at our hotelbar.

Please excuse that the remote control was missing, which should not happen and also that one of your coffee cups was chipped.

We provide at the wash basin liquid soap and in the shower we have a shampoo. The soap dispensers just look similar.

Thank you again for your comment and we would be very happy if you would choose the Holiday Inn Salzburg also for your next stay.

Best regards from Salzburg,

Roland Schaefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel room carpet was stained and dirty. Small rooms. Front desk staff manager. according to the placard on the wall, was Martina. As we left, I ask the women at the front desk a question about currency exchange which she refused to answer three times in a row. She was too busy to care about the people who were paying her salary. Go to a hotel that understands that without us, there would be no need for them to have a job.

Room Tip: I don't have any tips.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckeyesandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Holiday Inn Salzburg and your feedback.

We are sorry, that you could not fully enjoy your stay in our hotel. Unfortunately some of our carpets are very worn-out and the staines cannot removed anymore. Therefore we will start to change carpets in the end of June.
I will talk with my reception team about the service quality, which we want to provide and also normally do, but in your case unfortunately was unsatisfying.

Best regards from Salzburg,

Roland Schaefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The main entrance is in the side of the hotel..very kind staffs at the reception... Easy check in and check out....willing to look after our luggages till we are back from our tour...Very nice and quiet locality..10 minutes from the salzburg hauptbahnhof ..3 minutes to Indian taj restaurant which serves excellent chicken briyani..very close to Mac Donalds from this hotel..very close to departmental store Billa..the rooms are big with very good bathroom..during one night the fire alarm started to ring and there was panic at every floor..the male staff at the reception was kind enough to come to every room to vacate us ..though there was some fire in the kitchen area... all of us gathered outside the hotel within a short span ..we were let in only after the firemen asked us to go..the guests are well taken care of..I definitely will recommend this hotel and would stay here if I ever visited Salzburg again.....truly a 4star hotel...

Room Tip: We booked a standard room..am sure it had all the comforts a guest needs..
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shami2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear shami2014,

Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn Salzburg City.
We are very happy that everything was to your satisfaction.

It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the rest of the team of the Holiday Inn Salzburg City and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sunny Regards from Salzburg
Mariana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We could have been at any Holiday Inn in the world. The room was good, clean, and the staff was well informed and pleasant. We were greeted with a map of the city, which is a good distance away. However, the low price more than made up for the distance. We chose to take taxis on a couple of occasions, but the cost still was lower than we would have paid for a hotel in the tourist district.

Lots of tour buses outside, but they did not cause any issues. Breakfast was really wonderful - lots of choices and offered for a lengthy period of time. Would stay here again, even though the pillows were not comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank therese l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear therese l,

I am truly delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Team does really enjoy delivering inspirational service to give you a truly memorable stay. I will pass on your comments to the team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City.


Sunny Regards from Salzburg
Mariana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed with my wife in May 2014 in this hotel. We reached in the morning at around 11 AM. They refused to check in because check in time is strictly 2 PM. Even if the rooms are ready they don't give. It is well known, almost all tourists arrive early in the morning and leave early in the morning. In most of the hotels we visited in and around Europe, even if we arrive at 9 Am, they accommodated. Because, all one need is to store the baggage, get ready and go for tours. Still they have problem. Services are not up to the name standard.

Room Tip: If you are arriving early morning, do not book this hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOHAMMED IMRAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Holiday Inn Salzburg and your feedback.

We ar sorry, that you could not enter your room before 2 pm, but please see that the normal check in time is 3 pm and we always try to check in our guests when they arrive. But if we do not have free rooms at all or no the free rooms in your room category, we just cannot check you in. But we have a luggage room so you can leave your luggage, visit beautiful Salzburg and when you come back your room is ready.

Best regards from Salzburg,

Roland Schaefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews