We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location, uncooperative staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Ranked #38 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel location is a bit far from anything in Salzburg.
STAFF is simply the WORST i have ever dealt with in Euopre. ( not willing to cooperate or even smile in your face, very aggressive, we stayed for 2 nights and everytime i ask any of them about the bus station or any adventure to do , they communicate in a rude and temper way, i believe that HOLIDAY INN has to work more on training their staff to treat their guests in a nice friendly way).
Breakfast is okay.
Room is nice.
No free car parking.
Intrrnet is not free of charge (you have to pay 4 EUR per day for the standard speed which is very low)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ShadiALBESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in the Holiday Inn Salzburg.

We are sorry, that you had some problems with our staff during your stay and be sure that we will take suitable measures.

Since you liked the hotel in general, we would be very pleased if you give us a chance to prove, that we have a nice team working here who cares for our guests.

Besides, we have 10 free parking spaces in front of the hotel (the garage is to pay) and the WIFI is free for members of the IHG Rewards Club.

Best regards from Salzburg,

Roland Schaefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Salzburg City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

You're never know with HI, what you’ll find, but the Holiday Inn in Salzburg was everything OK, better than expected. Large rooms, efficient AC, TV with many international channels, definitely worth the price. But the breakfast... Not adequate do the class of hotel, poor choice, tiny space for food, only one coffee machine (witch serves "latte macciato", instead of “macchiato” in italian, a sign of the seriousness of the producer). Ant the grossy, voicy young lady, at 9.45 apostrophizing a group of Arab and Japanese guest, clearly with a jet-lag problems in their eyes: "the breakfast is over", "You have only 5 minutes to finish"... "Your room is without breakfast, it cost 16 euros,, don't touch, you have to sign before"...

Room Tip: I had a room destinated to reward-program guests; it was really OK
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jacek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Mr. Jacek P,

I was delighted to read your comments regarding the hotel and the staff. We always pride ourselves to provide high level of customer service and I am pleased to see that we have made your experience a memorable one.
I have taken the opportunity to share your feedback regarding breakfast and the staff to our Food & Beverage Manager who has assured me this one of incident will not happen again in the future.

We sincerely apologies for the very poor service you experienced and hope that we can restore your faith in the Holiday Inn Salzburg City.

Best regards from Salbzurg
Mariana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here recently for three nights to celebrate a friends wedding.
The room was really comfortable with a huge bed. The outdoor blinds were a bit odd but everything else was great.
A taxi from the airport was under €20 and the staff were really helpful.
The hotel is a little out of town but only takes about 15mins to walk into town.
We were having too much fun enjoying the town we really didn't spend much time at the hotel.
They offered us breakfast for a discounted rate of €13 but went into town for breakfast instead and around the same price with a fabulous view!
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top levels.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMacL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear JMacL0nd0,

I am truly delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Team does really enjoy delivering inspirational service to give you a truly memorable stay.
I will pass on your comments to the team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City.

Best regards from Salzburg
Mariana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

It's just the best in location, catching a bus or cab is not a problem. People are friendly, too. Dining in the hotel is good, too. Only wished the elevator is a bit larger,
quite small. Had to wait a while when it's crowded, especially during check-in with our luggages.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmcalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Alvin Taikor,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

sunny regards from salzburg
Mariana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

had stayed in this hotel from 17/7 to 19/7, the hotel is 15 min walk from the station or the city centre, the rooms are good in size, equipped with all requirement but being a holiday inn chain, not upto mark. there is no free WIFI, overall a ok type stay in this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunjeevm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear sunjeevm,

Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. We do not think of ourselves as "basic" or average, as we strive to be the best. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate departments. We always welcome opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Average hotel, but good sized room and bathroom. 15 min walk to the old town and river. Very noisy with traffic as it is on a busy road, if you wish to open the windows at all !!! staff were extremely helpful - parking under hotel or at front of entrance, so all very convenient. easy with car, would not recommend if you didn't have a car.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear susie971 ,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you appreciated our friendly staff service. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the outside noise had caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The welcome I was given at this hotel was so bright and friendly I wondered if I had wandered into my local pub. The receptionist had my key ready and handed it over with a map showing quickest way to a local beer garden. At the same time highlighting to a student traveling companion the nicest hostels. The room was very clean and quiet. the lighting and blinds were amazing. The Bathroom was fantastic. I would definitely stay there again. Location is only a 10 minute walk away from the centre of Salzburg. In the morning the welcome from the morning receptionist and Manager were a credit to behold and they should be held up by IHG as an example to HI managers everywhere

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Knotty2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Knotty2207,

Many thanks for leaving such positive feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read how much your enjoyed the whole experience.

It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the rest of the team of the Holiday Inn Salzburg City and we hope to welcome you back soon.

sunny Regards from Salzburg
Mariana
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#35 of 132 in Salzburg
888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,084 reviews
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.6 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salzburg City

Address: Sterneckstrasse 21 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £67 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay central at the modern Holiday Inn Salzburg City hotel, a short walk from the sights of Salzburg's historic Old Town. Our contemporary hotel is a gleaming glass-fronted building just 5km from Salzburg International Airport. Enjoy far-reaching mountain views and an Alpine feel in your stylish Guest room. Stroll down bustling Linzergasse Lane and over the Salzach River to see Mozart's birthplace on Getreidegasse shopping street, 2km from Holiday Inn Salzburg City. Ride the funicular railway to majestic Hohensalzburg Castle and gaze out over the city from its grand turrets. The headquarters of Porsche Salzburg and Ernst & Young are a short drive from our hotel. Features: See Salzburg on a sightseeing city tour for example by bus with a hopp on and hopp off ticket. The restaurant staff is looking forward serving you delicious international cuisine in our restaurant "In(n)ovation" with indirect lightning and front cooking station as highlights. Our hotel lounge and 24-hours bar offers from lunch to espresso-break everything that you need to relax. Privat parking-garage available (at a charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing