We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing!”
Review of Villa Trapp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Trapp
Ranked #17 of 62 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The pictures do not do it justice! We have just spent two nights in Villa Trapp and had a fabulous time. We arrived early, about ten am, and were immediately welcomed in and taken to our room despite check in being three pm. Nothing was too much trouble, maps were given, iphone was charged, directions etc. The house and grounds were lovely, the beds comfy and rooms very well decorated and it was a truly memorable experience. The villa is within easy reach of the buses. It had everything we needed. We would definitely go back. Lovely! Great coffee too!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Villa Trapp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the historical significance. Beautifully decorated mixing the memories with the modern; quiet; lots of charm. Bedding was comfortable; breakfast isn't a huge choice but it's ample to satisfy; Ros clean, staff very friendly and welcoming.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed because of my love of the Sound of Music. It's very quiet and not far from Salzburg old city by car (10 min). The staff were very nice and I bought a video on the real Von Trapp family for 10 EUR (DVD available for Regions 1 and 2). The breakfast was very good (those of you who have read more than one of my reviews know that breakfast is important to me).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We agreed to pay 200 euros ( US275) for a place with not bathroom. ( New Year's Eve). But when we arrived we discovered that our "bed" was a sofa bed with a ridiculous mat in a really tiny place.
Breakfast wasn't included....

You better skip this place unless you love to be assaulted.

The guy who was in charge that night ( eventually, he doesn't work there on a regular basis, which is not a surprise..) was VERY kind and helpful)


Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
12  Thank JMT458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acul2001, Geschäftsführer at Villa Trapp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you very much for your comment.

Why do you book a room with NO bathroom ensuite, breakfast not included and then complain about it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The critical reviews of this hotel that we read beforehand did not do it real justice. We arrived by car with some trepidation because of that. However our one day stay was really quite fine. This is not a typical hotel so don't expect it to be. It is truly the original house after which the movie was based on and is owned by a brotherhood of the Catholic Church who bought it after the war. It is leased and managed as a hotel by a separate company. The actual building is the most interesting part of your stay and there is a wide variety of rooms and therefore prices and potential experience. There is no actual reception after 7pm, so if you like that courtesy don't arrive after that. The staff are typical business like friendly but very straightforward Austrians. Our room was the Trapp Family suite ground floor right next to the main entrance and the main living room. Huge rooms, clean, plain and simple with scattered memorial pictures etc of the family. No screens. No A/C. Typical steam/water heating radiators. Big comfortable bed in one room, hideabed in the other room. When we entered there was an obvious odor of a newborn baby diaper. Eventually the staff found one that had slipped inside the hideabed springs and they were profoundly embarrassed and very professional about the incident. We did not sample the morning breakfast since we felt we might achieve a better option on the highway considering the price. I would recommend that the hotel change its rates and just include the breakfast with some suites.

Room Tip: If you don't have a car this is an inconvenient location unless you like to walk a lot.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TFSCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We arrived in the evening to find our room key taped to the front door with directions to our room. The staff leave at 7PM. There are no refreshments or drinks available in the "villa".
There is a somewwhat adequate buffet breakfast for the equivalent of $15 per person. The room was fine--clean and a good size. It is quite a way outside town but fine for us since we had a car. It was reasonably priced and was fine, totally OK -- it just wasn't a "wow" experience for us. We were asked to pay an additional city tax in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank voyager9Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is definitely the place to stay if you are a die-hard Sound of Music fan, but you have to understand that this is NOT a hotel in the city center sense--we had to share the bathroom. We were told that the internet connection is sketchy at times so we didn't pursue this option, instead opting for free wi-fi whenever we went to either McDonald's or Starbuck's. My partner and I actually slept very well despite the creakiness of the floor. It was very easy to get to the Villa from the airport. I would suggest buying the week-long bus pass at the gift shop at the airport; hope onto bus #2 or #10 just a few yards from the airport terminal exit door. Once on the bus, get off at the Hanuschplatz station--you'll know it when you pass through the tunnel; it'll be the second stop right after the tunnel. Hop off, then take the #7 bus (Salzburg Süd, Salzburgsee) until you get to Banhof-Aigen. Hop off there, cross the street and enter the tunnel at the train station taking you to the other side. From there follow the wall--it should always be on your right hand side. Follow it until you come to the entrace of the Villa (not the Josef College). At the insistance of my partner we had breakfast there one morning, but he soon found out that it wasn't worth the 10 euros per person (he just had to find that out for himself). We had a great time there, but the Villa Trapp was just basically our homebase--we were hardly there except for having a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acul2001, Manager at Villa Trapp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear JoelD1968
Thank you very much for your review. It i amazing how different people judge the Villa Trapp.
Just to be honest and let people know, there are just 2 rooms in the house which have to share the bathroom, as a matter of fact they are the cheapest. There are sufficient double rooms ensuite and real big suites in the house. Internet is always working and free of charge in the lobby. The Villa Trapp is not in the centre of the old town, but it has the biggest private owned park (8,6 acres) of town, sufficient parking space and very good public connection (bus&train) into town, which takes not more than 10 minutes to get there. It is up to your preferences, if you want to have the cheapest room in the house and just a place to sleep or a comfortable room where you can enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
1.9 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,119 reviews
2.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,036 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
578 reviews
2.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Trapp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Trapp

Address: Traunstrasse 34 | Aigen, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range: £74 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Trapp 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Trapp was the residence of the world-famous Von Trapp family, whose life in Salzburg entered history as "The Sound of Music", the most popular musical of all times. The villa is maintained in the style of this period, including 2 luxurious, 60 m² suites. They are exclusively furnished. In the past the Villa Trapp was not accessible to the public. Now you can sleep in the family's rooms and walk on their paths through the villa and the park. This stately building enjoys a quiet location close to the centre of Salzburg, surrounded by the city's largest private park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Trapp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Trapp Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing