We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go!”
Review of Villa Trapp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Trapp
Ranked #14 of 61 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked a room with free cancellation. I had to cancel and I never got my money back. Even after several emails and calls. They don't answer. Better avoid this place if you have intention on maybe cancelling your stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Karlmaister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acul2001, Manager at Villa Trapp, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
For every cancellation there is a deadline! I can understand your beeing diappointed missing it.
For cases like this we do have terms and conditions. WE stick to them.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    95
    44
    17
    32
See reviews for
106
142
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We weren't planning on staying here but it was such a good deal online last minute that we couldn't not stay. We got an apartment on the top floor and it was awesome! Two bedrooms, a bathroom and a living room for the price of a regular hotel room! The staff is awesome too. Very helpful and knowledgable. Breakfast was really good too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are awesome but there is no air conditioning so in the hot times get a room that faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acul2001, Manager at Villa Trapp, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much!
We are very happy to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The pictures do not do it justice! We have just spent two nights in Villa Trapp and had a fabulous time. We arrived early, about ten am, and were immediately welcomed in and taken to our room despite check in being three pm. Nothing was too much trouble, maps were given, iphone was charged, directions etc. The house and grounds were lovely, the beds comfy and rooms very well decorated and it was a truly memorable experience. The villa is within easy reach of the buses. It had everything we needed. We would definitely go back. Lovely! Great coffee too!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the historical significance. Beautifully decorated mixing the memories with the modern; quiet; lots of charm. Bedding was comfortable; breakfast isn't a huge choice but it's ample to satisfy; Ros clean, staff very friendly and welcoming.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed because of my love of the Sound of Music. It's very quiet and not far from Salzburg old city by car (10 min). The staff were very nice and I bought a video on the real Von Trapp family for 10 EUR (DVD available for Regions 1 and 2). The breakfast was very good (those of you who have read more than one of my reviews know that breakfast is important to me).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We agreed to pay 200 euros ( US275) for a place with not bathroom. ( New Year's Eve). But when we arrived we discovered that our "bed" was a sofa bed with a ridiculous mat in a really tiny place.
Breakfast wasn't included....

You better skip this place unless you love to be assaulted.

The guy who was in charge that night ( eventually, he doesn't work there on a regular basis, which is not a surprise..) was VERY kind and helpful)


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank JMT458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acul2001, Geschäftsführer at Villa Trapp, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comment.

Why do you book a room with NO bathroom ensuite, breakfast not included and then complain about it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The critical reviews of this hotel that we read beforehand did not do it real justice. We arrived by car with some trepidation because of that. However our one day stay was really quite fine. This is not a typical hotel so don't expect it to be. It is truly the original house after which the movie was based on and is owned by a brotherhood of the Catholic Church who bought it after the war. It is leased and managed as a hotel by a separate company. The actual building is the most interesting part of your stay and there is a wide variety of rooms and therefore prices and potential experience. There is no actual reception after 7pm, so if you like that courtesy don't arrive after that. The staff are typical business like friendly but very straightforward Austrians. Our room was the Trapp Family suite ground floor right next to the main entrance and the main living room. Huge rooms, clean, plain and simple with scattered memorial pictures etc of the family. No screens. No A/C. Typical steam/water heating radiators. Big comfortable bed in one room, hideabed in the other room. When we entered there was an obvious odor of a newborn baby diaper. Eventually the staff found one that had slipped inside the hideabed springs and they were profoundly embarrassed and very professional about the incident. We did not sample the morning breakfast since we felt we might achieve a better option on the highway considering the price. I would recommend that the hotel change its rates and just include the breakfast with some suites.

Room Tip: If you don't have a car this is an inconvenient location unless you like to walk a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TFSCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
532 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
2.0 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
427 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,426 reviews
2.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Trapp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Trapp

Property: Villa Trapp
Address: Traunstrasse 34 | Aigen, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Trapp 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Trapp was the residence of the world-famous Von Trapp family, whose life in Salzburg entered history as "The Sound of Music", the most popular musical of all times. The villa is maintained in the style of this period, including 2 luxurious, 60 m² suites. They are exclusively furnished. In the past the Villa Trapp was not accessible to the public. Now you can sleep in the family's rooms and walk on their paths through the villa and the park. This stately building enjoys a quiet location close to the centre of Salzburg, surrounded by the city's largest private park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Trapp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Trapp Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing