We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place overall”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel-Pension Alderhof
Ranked #25 of 60 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent place overall”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights here in July 2012, as a family of 3 (2 adults and a 6 year old child). A quick summary of the pros and cons:

Pros:

1. The hotel is quite well located, just a 3-4 min walk from the train station. For those wishing to use the bus station, this is adjacent to the train station, and again very easily accessible from the hotel. The city center is about a 15 min. walk away.
2. Extremely helpful staff - we encountered 6 different people at the reception during our stay here, each of whom was extremely pleasant and eager to help. Some of them also gave us some very useful tips on what to/ what not to see, and on what the most economical options were for most things.
3. There is a laundromat located at a short distance from the hotel, which was indeed a boon for someone undertaking a fairly long trip in Europe on a finite budget.
4. Breakfast, included in the room rate, is adequate.

Cons:

1. The rooms themselves are rather small and somewhat cramped.
2 The neighborhood is not exactly the most salubrious, although I must admit that we did not face any issues.

Overall, however, not a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
26
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Want a nice, clean, reasonably priced, friendly, spacious room near the down town area of Salzburg? This is the place. The facility is family owned and run, and they want you to feel as part of their family. My family of four stayed in a very spacious room, comfortable and neat. We did have an issue with the street noise but with the windows closed, heard nothing. The breakfast opportunities in the morning made our day and saved us both time and money by not having to search for another place to eat before heading out on our day's activities. When we left the hotel for our activities, we walked about two blocks to the river and enjoyed the stroll on the footpath to the downtown shopping and historic districts, very relaxing and took no more time than walking the busy main street. Family Parbaumgartner also offers bicycles for a reasonable fee if so inclined but we chose to walk as it offered more freedoms to move around a busy city. We would definitely stay here again upon any future visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the font of the hotel when making reservation. Also mention if you need parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel have met my expectations. After reading the reviews on this site, I compared prices for similar hotels in Salzburg and couldn't find a better deal. The hotel is on the bus route from the airport, so you can save $$$. It's close to the train station which is right across from the bus station. The old city is 15-20 min walk. Alternatively, you can take a bus. Breakfast was fine, but could have been better. the hotel staff was very helpful. the area is not rough as some members have suggested. I booked a single room which had all the basics.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed in a 4-person room with three of my friends. We had a double bed and two singles, but the double bed was separated like you see in places like this, which is great for friends traveling together. From the outside, I was a little worried. The businesses nearby seemed a little sketchy (I quickly forgot about that, even after dark). However, when I checked into my room I was amazed. The room would be considered large even by American standards, as would the pristine bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and filling. The place is near the train station, not near the touristy downtown, but we didn't mind the walk at all, even in winter.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToTNandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
501 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This is a basic,safe hotel just 5 minutes on foot from the main station . This is a basic hotel which was clean and not expensive for Salzburg.

It will take 15 mins to walk to the old town. the pension is in the "downtown" and while safe is not a tourist area .

If you want a cheap hotel close to station - worth considering . If you want to be in Salzburg tourist area and dont want a 15mins walk perhaps try somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
250 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

On our recent trip to Salzburg, my boyfriend and I chose this hotel because it was conveniently located within walking distance to the train station (we were only staying in Salzburg for 2 days). The Alderhof is definitely within 5-10min walk from the station, which was nice. However, the surrounding location wasn't very appealing. Similar to previous reviews, the area seemed run down and dirty. It is about a 15min walk to Mirabell Gardens and another 5min to Old Town. The hotel itself was OK - comfortable rooms. They were a little odd, with the toilet in one room and the shower/sink in another. In the end, it suited our needs fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I only stayed one night in Salzburg but I enjoyed this hotel. It was very close to the train station, but it was about a 15 minute walk to get to the Old Town. The neighbourhood looked a little seedy but I felt perfectly safe walking around at dusk. The room was cosy and had a television which allowed me to watch CNN in English.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alycia614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Pension Jahn
Pension Jahn
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#45 of 132 in Salzburg
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#33 of 132 in Salzburg
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Scherer Hotel
Scherer Hotel
#98 of 132 in Salzburg
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Alderhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Alderhof

Property: Hotel-Pension Alderhof
Address: Elisabethstrasse 25, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing