We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the train station, good neighborhood”
Review of Hotel Guter Hirte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Guter Hirte
Ranked #30 of 61 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Elko, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Close to the train station, good neighborhood”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is well managed and clean, with a nice staff. They are affiliated with a Gasthaus around the corner that serves excellent Austrian food, but there are no other restaurants nearby.
We arrived late on a rainy night and took a taxi, but the hotel is only a ten minute walk, if you know where you are going.

The Aldstat and other Salzberg attractions are a couple of miles away, but the Salzburg transportation system is inexpensive and efficient. A 24-hour pass is only 5.30 euros, and many lines converge on the nearby train station, though there is a stop closer to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    44
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
47
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Location: This is about 1km away from the Salzburg station. There is a restaurant around the corner which is also where you'll get the welcome drink but aside from that, there is nothing else I found to be nearby. The train station got a big grocery store so you may opt to get some food ere before checking in.

Staff: I met 2 receptions on duty, both very nice and helpful.

Room: hotel type. Clean. But no coffee maker or kettle. But you may ask from downstairs. You may also get hairdryer from the reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuchessDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I only booked a night be it turned out to be just nice. Hotel is 10-min away from train station, easy to find. Reception area was small but staff was nice and helpful. Wifi service was not good but room was surprisinly big and clean, biggest I'd ever stayed in EU at that price. Needed to walk a few blocks to its restaurant but great food and service. Warm countryside feeling and indeed it's kind of away from city center. So one day was good...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie_sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in August with a group from Malta. We spent five nights in an excellent three star hotel in Vienna (Austria Trend Hotel Messe Wien) and then we came to this hotel! It's a hotel without any air condition and only a very small fan to cool the room (temperatures were above 30); three stairs to come to the lift; no hotel lobby - all the group had to wait in front of the hotel to make the check-in! And the group leader told us it was 12Euro a night more than the excellent hotel in Vienna!! Wow! To add insult to injury, when we were checking out, some confusion arose (because there is no hotel lobby) and all the group was coming at the same time. One person, accidentally, hit a vase which was in the crowded entrance of the hotel (we were a group of 44!) and this vase was broken. Immediately, the receptionist went somewhere and brought with her a person (I think of another nationality - perhaps from Libya from his accent) and he said that the person had to pay 50Euro!!! We soon ordered our tour leader, that before they give the lady back the 50 Euro never ever to return to this hotel run by egoistic staff. As a group leader, in our name, he put an appreciation review about the hotel in Vienna while waiting for an apology from the staff of the hotel in Salzburg. Till now, our tour leader never received those money back after all the extra money we gave to this hotel when compared with the excellent hotel in Vienna. We'll wait and see if the staff of the Guter Hirte ever come in contact with our tour leader. Otherwise we have to find another hotel in Salzburg when we organise other groups in the coming summers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VallettaMalta1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Melbourne Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed a night at this place and i highly recommend avoiding this place. service is the poorest i have ever experienced in Austria.Receptionist is rude and stuck up and just lies to your face when you ask about any facility.when i asked for an iron in the morning i was told they don't have one.Wireless internet is simply useless as they use an ancient modem cannot access the internet from room or even from the lounge.this place is listed under bed and breakfast but no breakfast is provided but charged 82 euros, you have to pay extra to get it!! thank god i didn't ask for paid breakfast, could imagine what i would have got for 11 more euros.

Avoid!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

oh dear...here goes:

Staff - rude, unfriendly, not helpful at all.

Location - a fair walk from the train station especially when you wheeling luggage. We were on a trip of 7 weeks and travelled lightly (16kgs ea) but it took what seemed forever to find. Asked how to get to old town and was told it was a 10 min walk. Well 35 min later! Next day I asked if there was a bus only to be told NO!

Rooms - large, clean and modern. Hot, stuffy, poor venitlation. A little table fan to keep the air moving.

Wifi - huh....now thats funny...you have to walk past the breakfast room down a few steps to a sitting area and the chair on the left is the only place you will get wifi....even so it was very poor

I wouldn't stay here again and would not recommend it. Stay closer to the old town!

Room Tip: We were up the top with attic windows..maybe the other rooms have larger windows to allow air in. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goderich, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My son and I stayed here one night because it was "close to the train station". It actually was a fair distance from train station when you are carrying backpacks. It is a long walk to the down town and the staff were not helpful at all. The student that was working at the desk the day we arrived spoke limited English and was not helpful at all. The room was very hot and stuffy. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Use the small fan in closet or ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slybacon_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Amedia Express Salzburg City
0.2 mi away
Gasthof Auerhahn
Gasthof Auerhahn
#28 of 61 in Salzburg
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
EB Hotel Garni - Cafe
EB Hotel Garni - Cafe
#35 of 61 in Salzburg
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Krone 1512
Hotel Krone 1512
#16 of 61 in Salzburg
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pension Elisabeth
Pension Elisabeth
#18 of 61 in Salzburg
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
A&O Salzburg Hauptbahnhof
A&O Salzburg Hauptbahnhof
#9 of 37 in Salzburg
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guter Hirte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guter Hirte

Property: Hotel Guter Hirte
Address: Salzburger Schuetzenstrasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guter Hirte 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Guter Hirte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing