We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from Home! Feels like a locale. Perfect location too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of arte vida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
arte vida
Ranked #8 of 62 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A home away from Home! Feels like a locale. Perfect location too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at the Mumbai room at Arte Vida last May 8-12, 2012. You can see daily pedestrian life from the bedroom window which is cool. Arte Vida is not your typical hotel or B&B. It is like renting a studio apartment in the city which adds to the feeling of being a locale.

They have a common lounge area, a kitchen, and cafe bar. You can use the kitchen to cook. There is also Free WIFI internet.

Location is perfect! The major sights in Salzburg are within walking distance. Arte Vida is around the corner from Cafe Classic, which is a cafe in Mozart's old family house. It is also a few meters from the bus station "theatergasse", and Makartsteg bridge to the old town. There are lots of shopping and restaurants around Arte Vida on Linzer Gasse (turn right when you exit the main door of the hotel). There is also a Sparr grocery store on Linzer Gasse.

Our host Reinhold is super friendly and we had very nice conversations with him. We also met wonderful people while we were staying here.

The only con I can think of is parking. Read from other reviews that you have to park in another location which is about 5 mins walk. But since we came here without a car, we didn't have to worry about parking.

I would highly recommend this place. And the next time we go to Salzburg, we're definitely staying at Arte Vida again. =)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkpixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    70
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
134
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed here with my husband on a recent trip for 3 nights. Room was clean and spacious enough for 2 people. The people are really helpful and friendly too. The location is great. near attractions, walking distance to all the places you would go to in Salzburg.

i only have 2 gripes - one is the toilet, which was far too small, and second, the room which was too dim. But we made do, and overall we would say that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roundeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duck Key, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here in April of 2012 and had a nice time. This is a non traditional hotel, its more like renting a room in a house than renting a hotel room. You can bring and cook your own food in the community area and breakfast is on the honor system. The room we stayed in had a very unusual bathroom where the sink toilet and shower were all in the same place. You had a folding glass enclosure that kept water from going into the sink but it got all over the toilet. Made for a slippery experience using the restroom afterwards. The staff were very friendly. Only thing that kind of sucked was parking was in a public garage at 15 euros per day about 500 yards from the hotel. There really isn't any place to unload your luggage so its a long walk with the suitcases. Oh, and no elevator.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joecooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kangaroo flat
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great location, great host (owner/manager),great help and advise, great room and very clean, very comfortable, so close to everything - easy walking distance to all the sites, shops, places to visit in the "old" Salzburg.

Room Tip: All good...just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband, son and I stayed at the loft apartment of Arte Vida ( Salzburg) in January 2012.
The guest-house is situated close to the old city with lots of restaurants and ( grocery) stores nearby.
The apartment was spacious, clean, welcoming and comfortable. It has a rear window with a beautiful view of the Old City.
From the moment I walked into the room I was drawn to this window and mesmerising over the view that kept changing with the winter weather. It is a dreamy place , in the middle of a small busy city.
We had a look at the other rooms, the communal lounge and kitchen downstairs. They are spacious, tastefully decorated, inviting and very relaxing. There is a nice ( quiet) garden at the back too, which we could not use at this time of the year , but looked great for dry, sunny weather.
The host/ manager Reinhold is one of a special kind: guest-friendly, very helpful and inviting, a rare phenomena in the commercial world of tourism today. Reinhold to me, represents the Guest-friendliness of Austria of 40 years ago, with a modern touch, a real gem. We have stayed in several hotels in Salzburg over the years. But this experience was the best. We will definitely come back. There is some restoration work going on in the area at present. The Austrian houses are well insulated, and from the moment you close doors and windows it is fine.
So don't let this keep you away from staying at this very special place in a central spot !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davincirchrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

After spending 4 nights at Arte Vide with my 4-year old son, I can say that there is likely no better "home base" in Salzburg!

The building was very nicely renovated, gorgeously furnished and appointed, and with a big back garden to sit and relax and for a child to play!

Pros -
Great "living room" including great seating and kitchen facilities available for all guests
Easy set up for self-pay breakfast and snacks
Friendly service, flexible arrangements for arrival and checkout

Possible Con -
The shower is included in the bathroom (in room Alhambra) and may be difficult for very large guests to use without bumping the controls

We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northcote, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This was one of our best finds for accommodation, a home away from home. Fantastic location, our bedroom was huge and with natural light. The place had heaps of character and was wonderfully decorated. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. You had the option to use the kitchen or you could purchase breakfast (a donation to charity) and drinks. While the office was closed when we arrived clear instructions were provided for check in and staff welcomed us the next day. There is a great sitting room although some better reading light would be helpful. Good WIFI connection. The yoga upstairs was great. We loved this place and would recommend it to others not wanting the standard hotel experience.

Room Tip: By the sounds of it all the rooms are good. We were in a twin room called Marco Polo. Had big doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to arte vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about arte vida

Property: arte vida
Address: Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
arte vida is Salzburg´s trendy boutique guesthouse, located in the very heart of the city, just a few steps away from Mozarts former residence, set among all the major tourist and cultural sights of the festival city.THE PLACE TO BE in the city center of Salzburg ! - exotic chic yet very affordable !Our beautiful, spacious accommodations, guestrooms, suites and apartments include a bohemian Cafe Bar with secluded garden and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your arte vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing