We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many negatives but nice”
Review of Stadtalm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stadtalm
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So many negatives but nice”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

First choice was full up so .. Starting with the negatives

Sat Nav blew a fuse trying to find it - I ended up ignoring every "no vehicles allowed" signs - only a motorbike could thread between the bollards - up 2 kilometres of winding path - passing a family of 5 dragging their suitcases on foot uphill.

Finally end up at a restaurant perched at the top backing onto the old walls.

Resorting to google maps to find out where on earth I was family of 5 gives into view.

I had the right place.

More negatives

1 loo - it was busy
1 shower - join the queue

The rest ace.

Clean, scrubbed even. Evening meal was just so right - and the scenery.

Breakfast included - out in the sun on the terrace accompanied by a cacophony of bells.

For what appears to be a remote place (if you exclude throwing yourself off the cliff onto the city below) this is one busy restaurant - morning and evening.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
15
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the double room. The location on top of the hill gives stunning views, even from the sleeping room. The decoration has some character and the breakfast which we could get outside on the terrace with view was good. The place has a lot of potential and seems likeable, including the fact that you can just book by email without having to pay in advance. The terrace in front of the house is no problem noise-wise we felt. It is rather an asset to have such a great terrace in front of the house!

The main problem is the remote location on top of the hill. You can use a lift from downtown, but depending on the day/month they would close by 7 or 9 p.m.. That means that you have to get back early or walk up the hill in the dark. If you are in a group this should be OK. We (a male/female couple) were sort of attacked by a drunkard when starting to walk up from the side of the Augustiner pub. We managed to escape, but downhill and had to wait for a while until it seemed safe to walk up again. Could have been just bad luck, but the evening before I was actually thinking that walking up there on your own or with 2 girls might be a bit creepy.....

The air in the room was quite warm, but for the price you pay you can not ask for more.

There was some confusion when we left, because in the beginning the person working there did not want to return the 20 euro deposit we paid for the key. She said it was not registered as paid deposit. We got the money back in the end so we are fine with the solution. But to avoid unclear situations I urge guests to make sure you get a receipt for the deposit when paying and to keep it as proof.

Room Tip: The double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GojkoMitic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. A very adventurous location. Book whatever you like but will likely not get what you booked. Be prepared to do a little bit of hiking, you will not be a happy camper if you have a lot of luggage. But once you're there the location will not disappoint. Rooms are mainly shared with bunk beds. So if you travel alone you will most likely be sharing with some other people. A perfect place for back packers. We were 4 so we ended up with our own room and 2 bunk beds. There was also a fold up bed in the room as well which made it a tight squeeze if there was to be another person. The view of the city is postcard perfect whether your inside or outside your room.
Don't expect a lot of info from the staff. But do check-in on time because the place lock up tight after dark. While we were there people were trying to get in after hours, and they didn't have keys. They were banging away at the door for quite a long time before someone have had enough or was courageous enough to open the door for them. To prevent any frustration of not being able to enter after closing time make sure you confirm your arrival with the staff and get necessary codes to get your key.
This is a hostel so don't expect anything special. The kitchen closes quite early so don't expect to return late from your trip and have a meal there. Their breakfast is quite simple and nice though. For the price it is a great stay. Staff service could be pleasant or unpleasant depending on how you look at it. They are there to provide a place for you to stay not to accommodate to your every need. This is not a 5 stars hotel but it is a hostel with a place for a good rest and a great view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pornpimon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed there just for one night, we called first to be sure everything was alright with our booking. The only answer we received was to come to the hostel. Once we arrived there, no one welcomed us or was available to talk to, because the staff was busy with smoking. When we finally got attention by the women working there she was really unfriendly and the highlight of the day: Our booked double room where we received the booking confirmation was not available! The only answer we got from the staff: " I am not dealing with bookings so what should I do" there was no sorry or anything kind. After she handed as some other keys for another room, which was supposed to be empty, we discovered that there was no additional space for 2 people. So we had to wait again until she finally gave as another room, again no apology or anything similar. The view is nice and the beds are alright but I have o say the service is more than terrible and the people are really impolite! I would no suggest this hostel to anyone which is really sad because it just needed a bit of kindness or friendliness..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was great! It is sort of attached to a used to be important fortress! That makes it so much more unique :D The walk with our heavy backpacks all the way up the hill was definitely worth it when we arrived! The view was stunning and looked just like the postcards! The staff were really friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the 3 bunk bed room and the beds were surprisingly really comfortable! Clean detached WC and shower area too! The breakfast is simple and delicious. They have a small cosy little corner of the restaurant/hostel overlooking the city of Salzburg. A breath taking view! I would come back to this place if I were to revisit Salzburg :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This place is in a nice location with a great view of the city (minus the fact that it's a hike to get to...which can be creepy if you're alone). The beds are comfy but the rooms are quite tiny. The staff is not so nice & helpful - except the young guy. Everything was super clean. For the price, it's a good place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Despite the lovely view from the mountain, this hostel has NOTHING to offer. Check in took a long time, they had no locker keys for us, most unfriendly people I have ever met, rooms/bathroom had beetles, and we could not check out in the morning as there was no one there! We tried to call the manager and knock of his door, but nothing. So we lost our 20 Euro deposit for the key since no one could return it to us. Overall a TERRIBLE place. Check out the view from the mountain on a short hike, butt I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izzyr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.1 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadtalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadtalm

Property: Stadtalm
Address: Moenchsberg 19c, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Salzburg
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing