We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, spacious value in Salzburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pension Herbert
Ranked #21 of 63 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I booked three rooms for my family and arrived at Hotel Pension Herbert on Christmas Eve 2012. The owner/operators were very friendly and helpful. All of the rooms were clean, comfortable, and surprisingly large for Salzburg accomodations... two of our three rooms had full size bath tubs. With fresh bread, meats, fruit, eggs, and everything you would expect, the breakfast was excellent. Parking is extremely easy and convenient. Some of the rooms have a view of the large castle out of the window. The historic city center is walking distance away and bus stops are nearby. There is an excellent restaurant just around the corner that seems to be open all day, nearly every day including holidays... we found this to be very convenient and fortunate given that we were visiting during Christmas. There is a large walled cemetery next to the hotel which is actually a beautiful and fascinating cultural experience... with many convenient walking paths leading in/out of it. The family run Hotel Pension Herbert is a great value in what can be a very costly location.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend paying for the hotel parking space The double rooms with bath tubs are a pleasur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOLITAFELIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

We travelled to Salzburg in September after having been in Europe for a month. We had booked this B&B in April after reading the reviews, provided our credit card information so we could receive a "firm reservation", and received our confirmation. In May, we provided our train arrival time, and received directions for a cab from the train station as we would not have a car. At the end of July, we emailed the owner that our plans were still in place and received an email back that our room was confirmed.

When we arrived at the designated time, the owner was busy checking in another couple. He returned from showing them their room and told us that he was sorry but the B&B was "overbooked" and we did not have a room. He said he had arranged other accommodation, about 2 kms further from the town centre, and that he assumed it would be OK as we had a car. We informed him we did not have a car, as he knew from our email exchange, and that a further 2 kms was too far away from the town area. He then booked us into a small, new, hotel (which was a bargain and clean) and paid for our taxi, but this was not the experience we were looking for in Salzburg.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank haveitchyfeet_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked this hotel based on my friend recommendation. Its located a short trolley ride from center in a residential area.
We stayed for 2 nights while exploring surrounding area and city.
Rooms are decent sized and clean, but pretty basic. there is a bed and little talbe with 2 chairs. There was no toileteries in the bathroom.
There is on-site parking if you have a car.
Breakfast was good.
It was very noisy in the morning with garbage trucks coming and construction-like noises.
We got couple of recommendations for local restaurants from the owner, but decided to try our luck based on Risk Steve's book (good choice).
We got recommendations for attractions as well, but some directions were not accurate. We read in Rick Steve's book that fortress is not worth much time, so we went there around 6 PM and got discounted tickets. It was enough time to look at the views and stroll throug the museum and grounds. We walked down. It's a nice stroll and saves you a couple of euros.

Room Tip: You will not get good sleep there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pension Herbert in mid-August. Having never been to Salzburg before, we wanted something that was close to the Altstadt but without being in the dead center of it--too many crowds (funny coming from a person who lives in NYC). This is a great pension. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious and most importantly quiet. The breakfast is perfect--not too much food in the morning. Best of all it is served more on your own time--key if someone you are traveling with is a bit sluggish in the mornings.

As mentioned the pension is a little outside the Altstadt. The #5 tram, which runs every 10 minutes during the day, stops just outside the door of the inn. Hop on and you're in the city in under 10 minutes. If you are in good shape you could easily walk the distance as well.

Herbert and his wife are friendly and helpful. On the morning we were leaving Herbert took time to figure out the quickest way for us to get to our next destination, which was a little off the beaten track. While we were waiting to catch our train, he brought us a late-morning coffee.

All in all it's a very nice place to stay. As long as you don't mind not being right in the city center than this is the perfect spot. We are ever so grateful for Herbert's enthusiastic suggestion of going to the Augustiner Braustubl. It's the best beer we have ever tasted. Ever.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I chose Pension Herbert as it is slightly outside Salzburg centre with easy access by tram or taxi. Old house with car parking which again is difficult when in a city. Clean comfortable rooms and for 3* is totally adequate for a city break. Breakfast was good.
herbert and his family were welcoming without being intrusive which is always good in a samll hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missattention2detail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Pension Herbert. Our room was lovely and even had a view of the castle. Herbert and his family were delightful hosts- helpful and charming. Breakfast was great. With the bus stop right outside the hotel, it was no problem getting back and forth to town. It was much more relaxing to be away from the hustle and noise of old town.

Room Tip: Our room in the corner on the top floor had a partial view of the castle, but there are two flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Pension Herbert for 3 nights in June. Immediately, the experience was good when Herbert let us check in as early as 10am (we'd been on overnight trains so desperately wanted to be able to do this!).

This place has more of a B&B feel than we expected but we were pleasantly surprised. Herbert, his wife and son are very welcoming and the property is immaculately kept & very beautiful.

It's not right in the old town of Salzburg, but we found this to be fine as it was a nice stroll everyday. Otherwise, Herbert shows you where the closest bus stop is (it's very close) and where to eat.

He was also able to book us into The Sound of Music tour and we did the 8 hour version that takes you out to the Lakes District. a MUST for any traveller to Salzburg. It was the most beautiful scenery we have witnessed.

The breakfasts here were also fantastic and great value for money. You can order anything additional you feel like; eggs, cheese, spreads, juice but always get coffee, croissants, bread, spreads and cereals.

The room was large, comfortable and the bathroom fantastic.
It's quiet and relaxing which was key after we'd been travelling around for so long.

If you're looking for a lovely, well-priced, family feel accommodation experience, I'd hands down recommend this place!
Thanks Herbert!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luci144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#14 of 132 in Salzburg
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pension Katrin
Pension Katrin
#8 of 63 in Salzburg
163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gastehaus im Priesterseminar Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Haus Steiner
Haus Steiner
#6 of 63 in Salzburg
284 reviews
1.4 mi away
HAUS ARENBERG
HAUS ARENBERG
#9 of 63 in Salzburg
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
#15 of 63 in Salzburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Herbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Herbert

Address: Nonntaler Hauptstrasse 85, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Herbert 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pension Herbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing