We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant way to explore Salzburg”

Fraulein Maria's Bicycle Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant way to explore Salzburg”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked the tour based on the reviews we had read and it exceeded all expectations. The cycle tour is a great way to see the city. Those in our group where of a very mixed age group and included families with young children. Our guide Nick made the tour fun and interesting, and gave us information about the history of the sites we visited as well as the Sound of Music. Salzburg is a beautiful city and on this tour you see parts of it you might not otherwise know about - including the refreshment stop at the dairy farm! We had a great morning and would highly recommend this tour. It was excellent value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,022
    100
    23
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fun in Salzburg!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

After discovering Fraulein Maria's tours on Trip Advisor we booked tour for our stay in Salzburg. It was so much fun! Even though it is based on the Sound of Music sites, it was also an excellent way to see a bit more of Salzburg than the immediate old town.the cycling was not too challenging. Our guide was (?Alan?) not a singer, but he had plenty of music to get us in the mood. This is 'must do'!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GuruandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT, Even in the Rain!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am a long time lover of the Sound of Music, and while we were in Europe I really wanted to see the sights of the movie. The Bike tour was a great way to see everything!!! Kata was our guide and she was so fun and informative. Not only were we able to see all the sights she had tidbits of information about the making of the movie and the real VonTrapp family. It was raining the day we went, and they do not cancel for rain, which was great because we only had one day to do this. It is a good idea to make a reservation. The meeting point was a bit difficult for us and a few others to find as there was a market that day and the sign was small and the bikes were all behind the trailers.The bikes are in very good condition and they even have a few smaller bikes for kids, and tandems if you are brave! The ride has a few hills and a couple portions of 10-15 minute rides. You ride a bit stop to see a sight and hear a few minute tidbit and then you are on the bike again. I would say it is helpful is you are comfortable getting on and going in a timely matter. There are not many of places to get snacks/water/toilets along the way, so prepare accordingly. Singing and re-enacting are strongly encouraged and this is a super fun way to see Sulzburg, "The Sound of Music" style!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
“Wonderful tour!!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our family of 5, including 3 teens -18,16,12 - had a fantastic time on a private tour. Nick was our guide and did a great job of connecting with the kids. Everything was smooth including meet-up location, getting situated on the bikes, etc... The tour was a great mix of Salzburg history and of course SOM! Once we left the city and headed for the country Nick let me have his Iphone/speaker set-up in my bike basket so we could all hear the music. We even made a stop for fresh milk from a milk machine on a dairy farm - kids loved this as milk is hard to come by (and expensive!) at meals in Europe. Nick took lots of photos with his camera (to load on Facebook for us to download later) and our cameras. The tour lasted 3 hrs. One word of advice if you have teen boys like ours who seem to need to eat a full meal every few hours - feed them before the tour - ours got pretty hungry with about an hour to go. Overall a must in Salzburg!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
261 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazing! A must if you are visiting Salzburg”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked a private tour for the four of us, which was an excellent decision, having seen some of the larger groups. Our tour guide was Claud, who was entertaining, enthusiastic and great fun. He was extremely knowledgeable about, not only the Sound of Music, but also Salzburg and its history. Salzburg is beautiful and we were able to cover a large area on our bikes; all around the old part of town and out to the lakes and countryside. The bikes are easy to ride and we had such an incredible afternoon. Claud took photographs to load onto the Facebook page so that we would have a memento of our trip, which is such a lovely idea. I can thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Salzburg. There are cycle paths all over the town, so it is really easy and safe to get around and the cycling is not taxing at all. We all absolutely loved it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_LouBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fraulein Maria's Bicycle Tours also viewed

 

Been to Fraulein Maria's Bicycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing