We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'wow' experience in Salzburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reiterhof Moos

Reiterhof Moos
Ranked #129 of 629 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lebanon, PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A 'wow' experience in Salzburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at a hotel down the street whose restaurant was closed; Reiterhof Moos was highly recommended by our Innkeeper. We went upstairs to the dining room - and once we walked in we experienced Genuine European atmosphere & hospitality. You get the sense you are eating in someone's home. There were a lot of locals there the night we went, the atmosphere was cozy and intimate. The waiter helped with our decision, highly recommending the Gemüseplatte (vegetable plate) when I told him I was eating gluten free (I was deciding between that and the shrimp cocktail) - he almost insisted that I get it. When it arrived, I was so glad I listened to him! He presented it to me and when I remarked how nice it looked, he stated it was "the finest in all of Salzburg." It certainly did not disappoint! Ham & egg over veggies may not be the norm in the US, but we are missing out - it was absolutely delicious! My son got the Salzburger Schnitzel and declared it one of the best meals EVER - and for a 16 year old, that is quite a compliment.

Be aware that they accept cash only - a surprise to us US travelers - the waiter said he would take US dollars, so we used our currency converter and paid that way - I was impressed by his honesty in trusting us.

If you are in this area of Salzburg, a meal here is a must. It's a little tough to find and when you first enter the building as there is no one to greet you (you have to make your way upstairs) - and I would recommend calling ahead as we got the last table. If you are sensitive to smoke, be aware that you're in Europe and smoking is still allowed.

Such a delightful meal! A home cooked-meal experience while dining out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouseturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    20
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious simple food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Familie Walkner has an impressive domestic undertaking: Gasthof, stables, riding academy and a popular restaurant that overlooks the training ring, homey farm with lots of personal animals.

We love the pan-seared fresh trout here. We also enjoyed wurst mit sauerkraut, fried and breaded chicken with potato and cucumber salad, and chicken “cordon blue” with boiled potatoes and mixed salad with slaw. Deep-fried, hot, crispy, and delicious.

We came back two times. Tony is a freindly and gracious host.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelblogger1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome food and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We chanced upon this restaurant on our first day in Salzburg, as we stayed in a B&B just a few houses away. It was full when we came at around 8.30pm but the waiter arranged a makeshift seat at a corner table after checking with us whether we minded. It was a family establishment and there were many local families enjoying their meal here.

The dinner was awesome. The waiter gave us recommendations for the specials of the day, which was the green garlic soup and breaded chicken with almonds. We ordered that as well as a salmon steak for the mains. That meal has got to be the best in the whole of our Europe trip (we visited Holland, Switzerland and Austria)! We had our fair share of tasty meals in the touristy restaurants we visited but Reiterhof Moos really takes the cake and they do it at really affordable prices. We were so impressed that we returned for dinner again the next day. We spent about EUR30 per meal, which was very reasonable for the portion and quality that we were served. Judging from the reviews, the desserts were supposedly real good too but by the time we finished with our mains, we barely had space for anything else. I tried the schnitzel on the second day, and though I have eaten schnitzels for almost all other meals for the next 2 days in both Salzburg and Vienna, it has got to be the best I've ever tasted.

Service was quick enough and the staff do their best to make you feel welcome. We gave them big tips for their wonderful service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank applie_bleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice waiter, nice owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Food was OK, soup fab!! Nothing to write home about really, service a bit haphazard, speed not really their thing. Didn't know they only took cash and didn't have enough but the boss just said to bring it the next day and leave in the oven outside as there would be no-one home!! we did with thanks!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadabout010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Charming with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

This is a charming, cozy family run restaurant outside Salzburg. The dining room is upstairs and you feel as if you are a guest in their home. The food was wonderful! Pumpkin soup, pork roast, desserts. No rush service and wonderful attitude of owners. You won't be dissapointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reiterhof Moos also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Reiterhof Moos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing