We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great location, Tidy, Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Ranked #30 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not great location, Tidy, Clean”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at Meininger hotel for 3 nights. We liked this hotel! Clean, tidy, decently comfy beds. The view was great! The receptionists were very welcoming aswell. We were backpacking, so we were very pleased when we saw a cooler with bottled water and vending machines around! Plus they have muffins you can have at anytime! Very convenient. We ventured off around the corner to a greek restaurant called "Acropolis". It was recommended, so, we went and gave it a shot. The service there was terrible. Our waiter was disgustingly rude. However, the meal was delicious. Back to the hotel though, it was all in all a great place to stay, other than the location. They have a kitchen which you can use which is very helpful if you do not want to spend a chunk of money at a restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hey there!

Thank you very much for the review! We are really happy to hear that you had such a nice time with us in Salzburg!
We are sorry about the service at Akropolis, but unfortunately we do not have much influence on this.
We would be happy to see you in one of our hotels in the future again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    330
    118
    30
    25
See reviews for
211
126
65
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited with a bunch of friends. Perfect place to stay if you're on a budget and as a group. Clean rooms. The guys at the reception were very helpful. The bus stop is a few minutes away by walk. The breakfast is great for 5 euros. Parking is a big positive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yunusav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hey there!

Thank you very much for your comment! We are happy to hear that you had such a nice time here in Salzburg°

It would be great to welcome you in a MEININGER again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We liked this hotel . It is well connected by bus to all the places . The bus stop is couple of mins from the hotel . We were satisfied with the house keeping . Staff at the reception too were good. Hypermarket Mercure chain is in the same complex of the hotel. We loved the view from the hotel . Our room was the one facing the mountain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anvi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello!
Thank you very much for your comment! It is really good to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel in Salzburg!
We hope to see you in a MEININGER again in the future - maybe in Vienna or Munich?

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

NEGATIVE: Too far from city center but if the weather is fair it's a fine walk, or a nice bicycle ride.
Common place for school groups to stay so noisy groups of kids in hallway was a bit annoying but my room was near the end of the hall so we didnt really hear much noise from the kids running and talking.
POSITIVE: Urbankeller restaurant nearby is good for dinner. Meininger staff are multilingual and quite helpful and gracious. The breakfast spread is AMAZING, well worth €5.90 if you like a large breakfast. Luggage storage for free, really nice bathrooms and great linen. Most spacious and bright cheerful room layout I have seen.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank nom63plume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hey there!
Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are glad that all in all you enjoyed your stay with us, even though some of our guests were not very respectful. We will try to keep a better eye on school children in the future, so nobody has to feel disturbed and we are sure you won´t hear any noise the next time you decide to stay with us.
We hope to see you in one of our hotels soon!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed with a friend in a triple room over the last week of April. The rooms were tidy and clean, with modern furnishing. The hallway was slightly disconcerting with its bright red walls and carpet. We had a fantastic view of the mountains surrounding Sazburg, which was nice to wake up to. The hotel itself is a little out of the way, which could be inconvenient for those less mobile. It took us a good 25 minutes at a reasonably fast pace to walk to the city centre. Although the area may seem desolate, there's actually a large shopping complex just around the corner from the hotel, which unfortunately we found out on the last day.

The front desk was also helpful with directions and questions. Generally a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_myworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hello!

Thank you very much for your comment! It is great to hear that you spent a nice time here in Salzburg even though it takes a couple of minutes to get to the heart of the old town.
It would be great to welcome you in a MEININGER again in the future!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel over the Easter weekend and it was great!

Our family of 5 fit well into the room, but my only complaint about the room itself was that they did not restock the bathroom. They did not put in anymore tissue (the box was clearly empty), nor did they stock the toilet paper or the shampoo/body wash in the shower.

Parking I found was a little pricey, but it was nice and close to the bus route that would take us into the city center. The common areas were clean although we could not find any oven mitts to use for the pans in the oven and I had to use my sweater to take the pans out.

Overall, a great hotel for a great price!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jelly_Bean91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hey there!

Thank you very much for your feedback! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Easter staying with us!
We apologize for not restocking your bathroom, it was definitely not on purpose and it will not happen again, once you decide to visit us in the future - we would be happy to see you again!

Maybe you can try MEININGER Hotels in other destinations as well - like Munich, Vienna, Brussels or Amsterdam.

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#45 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.7 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#25 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
1.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#26 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Property: MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Address: Furbergstrasse 18 - 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing