We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good budget hotel well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Ranked #30 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good budget hotel well located”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel is well located in the city center close to public transport, hence not far from the old town. The room was clean but did not have enough storage facilities. There is a guest kitchen which is well equipped but gets very crowded at meal times. A shopping center is conveniently located next door. A good, not very expensive place , so seemed very popular and busy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamatravel762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello!

Thank you very much for your comment! We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us, even though you could not quite enjoy the cooking. We still hope to see you in another MEININGER again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    330
    118
    30
    25
See reviews for
211
126
65
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A nice and modern hotel with a convenient and large parking. Just 20 minutes walk from the city center, but also close to public transport. A nice place to stay for a 1 or 2-day stop in the amazing city of Salzburg. But a breakfast room quite crowded in the morning...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDevil-Lg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hey there!

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you had a nice time staying with us, despite the crowded breakfast room.
We hope to see you in one of our houses again soon!
Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My friend and I were visiting my grandparents in Germany. We decided to hop on the DB website and check out the last minute weekend vacations that include roundtrip train fare and hotel.

It was a really nice stay. We printed out a self guided walking tour and we were able to walk from our hotel all over Salzburg to all the attractions.

The beds were comfy, shower was awesome and the BREAKFAST. Oh my word it was great. We even would make extra sammies and keep them for lunch so we only purchased dinner out. The common area was nice had we stayed for a long time we would have easily been able to cook as an Aldi was right down the road.

Very safe location---we were always in by night fall but we felt safe for 2 non German speaking 20 something American travelers in Salzburg at all times.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSailorMouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hey there!

Thank you very much for your kind words! It´s great to hear that you had such a great spontanious stay with us!
We hope to see you in one of our hotels again in the future!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

its a great place to stay, we had a very warm welcome by their front office. The lady was smiling and, willing to help and we had the same experience with all the people that attended to us that day. the budget hotel room was clean and had enough room for us and the kids, basic but good. Loads of people there! We were so apprehensive about this budget place, at the end we regretted not booking with them in berlin, which was our next stop.

the kitchen doesnt have an exhaust, which makes it smelly. Breakfast was okay, they could do better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepssv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hey there!

Thank you very much for this great review! We are really happy to hear that you had such a nice time with us and all our staff was friendly to you.
Thank you also for the hint on the breakfast, we are already trying to improve the quality - maybe you can check our progress the next time you decide to stay with us.
We hope to see you in a MEININGER again soon!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at Meininger hotel for 3 nights. We liked this hotel! Clean, tidy, decently comfy beds. The view was great! The receptionists were very welcoming aswell. We were backpacking, so we were very pleased when we saw a cooler with bottled water and vending machines around! Plus they have muffins you can have at anytime! Very convenient. We ventured off around the corner to a greek restaurant called "Acropolis". It was recommended, so, we went and gave it a shot. The service there was terrible. Our waiter was disgustingly rude. However, the meal was delicious. Back to the hotel though, it was all in all a great place to stay, other than the location. They have a kitchen which you can use which is very helpful if you do not want to spend a chunk of money at a restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hey there!

Thank you very much for the review! We are really happy to hear that you had such a nice time with us in Salzburg!
We are sorry about the service at Akropolis, but unfortunately we do not have much influence on this.
We would be happy to see you in one of our hotels in the future again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited with a bunch of friends. Perfect place to stay if you're on a budget and as a group. Clean rooms. The guys at the reception were very helpful. The bus stop is a few minutes away by walk. The breakfast is great for 5 euros. Parking is a big positive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yunusav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hey there!

Thank you very much for your comment! We are happy to hear that you had such a nice time here in Salzburg°

It would be great to welcome you in a MEININGER again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We liked this hotel . It is well connected by bus to all the places . The bus stop is couple of mins from the hotel . We were satisfied with the house keeping . Staff at the reception too were good. Hypermarket Mercure chain is in the same complex of the hotel. We loved the view from the hotel . Our room was the one facing the mountain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anvi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello!
Thank you very much for your comment! It is really good to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel in Salzburg!
We hope to see you in a MEININGER again in the future - maybe in Vienna or Munich?

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#44 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.7 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#25 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
1.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Property: MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Address: Furbergstrasse 18 - 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing