We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Salzburg Fortress (Festung Hohensalzburg)
from US$67.40
More Info
from US$56.90
More Info
Salzburg Card
347 Reviews
from US$29.00
More Info
Reviews (9,967)
Filter reviews
5,424 results
Traveller rating
3,026
1,790
504
81
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,026
1,790
504
81
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews funicular ride audio tour torture chamber marionette museum walk up basic ticket salzburg fortress state rooms views are amazing cable car surrounding countryside festung hohensalzburg interesting history old town worth the trip mozart concert sunny day
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 5,424 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

A good visit to the fortress with audio guide, there seemed to be some reworking of the museum going on, which was a shame but hey ho. Stunning views from the tower made up for this.

Thank 520darreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This is the greatest place to see the gorgeous Salzburg in town. Only took 5 mins to the top.
You will take a cute and rapid bahn to the
frontier, but the entrance isn’t easy to find.
Sometimes you just follow tourists, they usually goes to the place same as you. There are different type of view from the top. Leave some time here and bring some food with you. Even Salzburg is not big as Vienna, but she is a charming and attractive city as well. You Stay here and enjoy the “Europe atmosphere”!

1  Thank semmyazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

Visible for miles around this is the must-see attraction in town. It is approached and left via a funicular that it part of the fun. Although we didn't use it there is a café facility up there overlooking the town. The views across Salzburg and beyond are stunning. There are a number of different museums up there - everything from puppets to militaria so something for everyone.

Thank Borderer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

You can't miss the Fortress, because is towers over Old Town Salzburg. You can take the funicular up and back, or walk the tail. We went up one way and down the other. The views from the top are beautiful! The history of the Fortress is interesting. Be sure to see this if you go to Salzburg!

Thank EmptyNestersUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

You can see this fortress from the City and it’s beautiful. We walked up to it instead of getting the lift. All in all it’s expensive to do however when you reach the top and you see the views it’s priceless.

Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

Although the views from the fortress are great we were extremely disappointed with the interior. Once we purchased our tickets we were given absolutely NO instruction on where to start and what to do. No maps were provided and on the day we were there no clear signage on how to navigate through the Fortress. We happened upon the start point of the audio tour and got in line for the next session but even that proved to be disappointing.... a large group of people are herded from room to room as you listen to the audio tape. You are not allowed to leave the area until a "guide" determines that everyone has finished that segment of the audio tape; however, the guide provides no additional explanations or instruction. Some of the other exhibits were interesting but overall I didn't feel the visit was worth the cost of the all-inclusive ticket and In hindsight could probably have gotten better value for my money doing something else in Austria to obtain the views of Salzburg and learning a bit more about the history.

Thank LoveNewExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful views at the top of the fortress and the funicular is okay, kinda of fun if you’ve never been in a funicular. Outside of the beautiful views there really isn’t much to see inside the fortress. We only had a couple of days in Salzburg, this probably wasn’t the best way to spend our time. On the other hand it probably wasn’t the worst either.

Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been to Austria many times since 1971, and attending this fortress-concert has been one of the great memories of this county. It's more than a wonderful dinner and a delightful Mozart-centered intimate concert. The setting itself—at the castle overlooking Salzburg—makes it the rare tourist trifecta. There’s even a fourth benefit: the funicular up to the castle is at no extra charge for concertgoers arriving an hour early for dinner, so you can walk around the impressive fortress (though admission to the museum is not included).

The dinner-concert was a splurge, but DEFINITELY worth it. I’d say visiting the fortress and attending the dinner-concert there is the number one thing to do in all of Salzburg.

1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

In my long European sabbatical I have been up many funiculars, still love them, though this was a short crowded ride, better than walking! The café was packed -- no surprise really because it is still nice out in November and it was sunnier and warmer at the fortress. So while I didn't eat there, the view is definitely worth it if you have time to relax and enjoy it. The castle museum is small but again for the all inclusive price worth a visit though the golden chamber is being restored. Rainer regiment, well I have seen more than my share of medieval weapons so I kind of breezed through it. The online inclusive ticket for 13.20 is just 1euro more than basic so may as well get it and just skip through what you don't want to see. Plus in general for Salzburg $15 with the funicular up and down is not that bad. Most cities charge 3-6 euros for funicular rides alone.

Thank Geeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This fortress was amazing engineering and architecture. The outside is more magnificent than the inside. The tour is interesting but not as good as it potentially could be. Lots of stairs and stroller must be left at the start.

Thank Naildozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews