We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful”

Salzburg Cathedral (Dom)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$56.16*
and up
Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich
More Info
US$146.36*
and up
Private Tour of City of Salzburg and Lake district area
More Info
US$178.02*
and up
Salzburg Day Trip from Ljubljana
Ranked #4 of 174 things to do in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This uniquely-designed cathedral was constructed in the early 17th century and was the site of Mozart's baptism in 1756.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very beautiful”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

There are cathedrals in every city and when you are visiting many cities they all seem to mould into one. I really like this cathedral because of its gothic style. It was different to others I have seen and I really appreciated the architecture and the aesthetic appeal inside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,714
    1,036
    222
    18
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A Cavernous Rococo Wonderland”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Salzburg Cathedral (The Dom) has a cavernous sanctuary that rivals even larger churches in Europe and has some extraordinary features: instead of just one iconic altarpiece, there were two more almost as ornate, an adjacent one in the right corner and an adjacent one in the left corner. It has a magnificent larger organ high above the entrance to the sanctuary and four more organ sets of pipes, each placed in its own imposing balustrade, two flanking the central altarpiece and two further back.

There is still a tremendous amount of unrivalled uncluttered space because the interior is not buttressed by the myriad of pillars that characterize so many of the Viennese churches. One last distinction is the rococo decoration. Myriads of alabaster arabesques snake around the Salzburg cathedral’s sanctuary, from just above the floor to just beneath the dome. We have seen similar accoutrements in palaces, museums, and concert halls but not in the churches we have visited

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarieandStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashdod
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A boring average. Salzburg is outstanding for whatever we recollect or it speaks about Mozart. Superbly located, a castle here another there, but let's face it, music speaks louder than any description.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZoiaAshdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koti in Warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Something Special”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This cathedral is very old and beautiful. It is so worth a visit. One of the best ones we have visited. It's truly beautiful. There are 5 organs one of which it is said Mozart used.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“So pretty!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is one of my favorite cathedrals that I saw on my trip to Germany and Austria. The outside is beautiful but even more beautiful on the inside. There is so much detail and the architecture is amazing. It's like stepping back into time. There are so many things to see in there. It's like stepping back in time. I definitely would suggest going to this cathedral while in Salzburg, you will not be disappointed and it does not cost any money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salzburg Cathedral (Dom) also viewed

 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Salzburg Cathedral (Dom)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing