We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down-at-the-heels property in a tourist trap town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Ranked #56 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 4 September 2011

If there is any doubt that Salzburg in August is a tourist trap, this supposedly 4-star hotel is proof. Everything about the property is showing age and neglect; the staff bordered on the unhelpful, the breakfast, an outrage at 13 extra Euros, was barely edible.

The hotel itself is NOT on Mirabell Platz, but on a side street used by the numerous tourist buses disgorging hordes of tourists throughout the day.

No AC and no fans during an unusually hot spell, and a malfunctioning TV that had to be at least 30 years old.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

If you want a hotel that is basic, no thrills and just to sleep in then go here. It is close to the old town and the train station. It is a bit noisy at night as it is buy the main road but we were so tired after walking around AMAZING Salzburg that we never noticed. the girl was helpful on the desk. the room is pretty basic but the bed was VERY nice. Lets be honest. you get what you pay for and we paid 130 euros for two nights so i cant really complain. Would stay there again. We had a wonderful two days in Salzburg and were very upset to leave. the hotel is right next door to the gardens were they filmed the sound of music!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillymorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The single worst hotel we've ever stayed in. 4 Stars, yeah right!?!
The double glazed windows haven't been fitted correctly so all and mean all the noise from the road floods in, night and day. From buses braking, to the pedestrian crossing beeper sound, to drunks yahoo'ing it up at 3am, it would have been quieter sleep on the street! No AC either our room had all day sun so was like a sauna day and night... Dated and worn interior. Told the girl on the night desk about how noisey the room was at midnight as we couldn't get to sleep, she was empowered to resolve the situation, so I spoke to the older bloke on the front desk on the morning and he said he'd see to it and have us moved to a room that didn't face the road... We came back to find a younger woman on the reception and we asked her about the new room we'd been promised. She then explained we'd have to pay for an upgrade.... So here we are in our original room, sweating it out at 5pm, sweat beading down my leg as I type... Even with window wide open and the curtain closed to keep the sun out. Holiday hell, this is it. Have heard good things about the Bristol Hotel from other travelers. Avoid the Austrotel at all costs. FYI never been motivated to write a review before this experience. Total shocker!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The location is superb for exploring the beautiful city of Salzburg. The room was large and very comfortable. Staff were extremely helpful and made many of our travel arrangements and excursion bookings for us.
It is a good 4 star hotel ideally placed right across from Mirabellplatz and a short walk from the excursion pick up points for day trips out to the salt mines or the Sound of Music Tour etc...
All in all an excellent hotel which I have already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel was a great find for us while traveling with our daughter. Since there are very few hotels in Europe that can accomodate more than two people in a room we were very pleased to find that Austrotel had a triple. The room was a very comfortable size for the three of us and also very clean. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. It is also very centrally located. We loved being so close to the Mirabell Gardens!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel, and it was as good as everything we'd read. Great location, super clean, and even though our room faced the street, it was super-quiet! The bed could not have been more comfortable...we slept great!
Only suggestions are to have the wireless internet code last for the entire stay of the guest...not just day by day. Also, to get the ceiling exhaust in the bathroom working. Other than that, it is a great hotel with wonderful people and we will gladly stay there again!

Room Tip: We had Room 409 on the 4th floor, front of building, and with the windows shut, it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel was pretty average. It looked quite expensive when you go in but I felt it was expensive for what you got. It is located relatively centrally and is on a bus route if you want to tour outside the town. IT is near the Mirabell Gardens. IT was in a quiet location in a side street although they did decide to collect the bins early and a lot of tour buses seemed to use the street as a drop off point so it got noisy quite early which was a shame. The staff were fine but a bit cold. THey seemed efficient but not overly welcoming - it seemed like a bit of a chore for them and the receptionist looked bored a lot. SAlzburg is expensive so take a lot of money but try and find the cellar bars if you go out - these are hidden away under buildings on the street next to the river so try and spot them - theyre well worth it

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirkyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
888 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#51 of 132 in Salzburg
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlton
Hotel Villa Carlton
#25 of 132 in Salzburg
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Mirabellplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Mirabellplatz

Address: Paris-Lodron-Strasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £79 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel am Mirabellplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Central Location and HistoryWelcome to Hotel am Mirabellplatz, Salzburg.Built as a palace for the Archbishop Paris Lodron in 1653 our house radiates historical charm together with modern character. Due to the excellent location in the old town, the most popular sights are within walking distance. Be it elegant comfort room, modern business room, spacious family room or exclusive residence room - all rooms were furnished with great attention to detail and were lovingly designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel am Mirabellplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrotel Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Austrotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Austrotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing