We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Although the location is fantastic for proximity to sites, it is quite noisy overnight. The room was very hot, even in April, but it was impossible to sleep with the window open because of the noise on the street. But you can't be closer to everything the city has to offer, so bring ear plugs and check out this historical and cute hotel. The rooms are adorable and quirky. Breakfast at the hotel is very expensive and not worth the money, so have your morning meal elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the pedestrian street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbug13Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Travelbug13Canada,
thanks very much for your comments and feedback. I am happy to read that you liked the decor and service of the hotel.
Unfortunately, we did not know about your issues during your stay, which made it impossible for us to react and make your stay more convinient.
Looking forward to receiving an answer of the email I sent to you today and remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Recently spent two nights here. Being used to the standard St. Regis and Luxury Collection hotels in the US we didn't know what to expect.

What we found was a really charming hotel. The staff were very friendly and made terrific recommendations from attractions to meals to gyms.

The rooms are authentic to a 600 year old hotel which after so many standard luxury hotels was a refreshing change. Just be warned if you are over 6' tall that there may be a few head bumps on doors - but hey that is also part of the charm.

Would recommend the hotel and definitely would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Steven,
thank you very much for your kind and positive feedack. I am happy that you enjoyed our hotel as well as the city of Salzburg.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We adored this hotel. Traditional, formal but friendly, great breakfast, cosy rooms. A,azing location. Concierge were very helpful. We cut short our trip elsewhere to go back and asked for a quiet room and they gave us a suite. Just lovely, old fashioned and we Hope to go back with our family.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Sarah F,
thanks for your kind feedback and I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you return soon with your family.
With kind regards
Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Most hotels are not an "experience", they are a place to sleep and get a drink. Not so here. This place dates back 500 years+. So there are some quirks (like 'watch your head' and an occasional uneven floor) but it is loaded with European charm. Rooms are nicely appointed and the bathrooms also nice. The help is friendly. The restaurant in the hotel was outstanding. Central location on a lovely smaller street. We want to return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLF422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear CLF422,
thanks very much for your kind and positive feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the spirit and style of the hotel.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
I remain with kind regards
Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights in a junior suite which was lovely and had a nice view of the pedestrian area of Salzburg. The room was large, very comfortable and the bathroom was modern though watch out for the low beams! Breakfast was very good and included in the rate along with one dinner in their restaurant, which was excellent. Service was top notch and I could walk everywhere from the hotel and loved that it was right in the pedestrian only area. Wifi worked well too. I didn't see any other rooms but I imagine they are all quite different as it's in a historical building. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I only saw my junior suite which was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moremiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear moremiles,
thanks very much for your kind and positive feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed the spirit of the hotel as well as our service.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

After a busy week of business in Frankfurt, my wife and I traveled to Salzburg and the Goldener Hirsch for the weekend. Our stay at this hotel was first-rate, in every aspect. It is a historic building/hotel, and you can feel the charm as soon as you enter. As others have pointed out, location in the old city is perfect, and only a short walk to many points of interest and restaurants here or across the river. All staff at the hotel were extremely friendly, helpful, and English was perfect. We especially appreciated all of the help and recommendations from the front desk staff. Their recommendations for restaurants were right on, each time. We received an upgrade to a nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, large room with sitting area and large bathroom. I certainly did not expect an upgrade given that I paid for the room with Starwood points, so a very classy touch that made me feel even more of a valued guest. Room was very quiet, including at night. We did not eat at the hotel, but did visit the bar for a few drinks prior to attending the Mozart Dinner Concert (also recommend). Nice, cozy little bar with very attentive service. I would highly recommend the Goldener Hirsch as the place to stay in the old city, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Charles L,

thanks so much for your positive and kind feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you will return very soon.

I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted At the door by concierge who took our bags straight off us and valet parked our car. We were upgraded too, to a beautifully decorated large room with sitting area, with bathroom and separate loo. So two loos which was fab. The decor in the room was gorgeous very antique and typically Austrian. Huge comfy bed with thick fluffy duvets and pillows. The hotel is situated on the pedestrianised shopping street. So you walk straight out into the heart of the old town. The reception staff were so attentive and nothing was too much for them. We asked about classical music concerts, they recommended one at the chapel in the Mirabell palace. It was amazing!!! Just a piano and cello playing Mozart, Bach, Debussy and more. There were only around 20 of us in the small venue. It's was beautiful, atmospheric and very moving. We also went on the panoramic sound of music tour. The hotel arranged it for us and we were picked up directly from the hotel reception and the cost was charged to our room. There was a turn down service and choccie left on pillow. This hotel is all about being made to feel special. We didn't breakfast in the hotel so can't comment. To sum up though fabulous hotel in a beautiful city.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank pclash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear pclash,
thanks for your kind and positive feedback and I am happy to read that you enjoyed our service as well as our wonderful city.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.

With best regards
Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £207 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing