We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word says it all. Magnificent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just had the Pleasure of staying at the Goldener Hirsch in Salzburg from June 29 through July 1st. What a top notch property with a world class staff and amenities. It's also a hotel with a grand location in the heart of one of the most beautiful small cities in Europe. Keep in mind the Goldener dates back to midevil times and yet despite it's age the rooms were very comfortable, the bathrooms were well appointed and the service by the staff just fantastic. The food from their restaurant was top shelf and the breakfast buffet each morning had a great variety and wonderful coffee. The in room wi-fi worked great and they do a great job with the little things like providing a nice sized and good quality umbrella in the room for venturing out on those rainy Salzburg early summer days. Be prepared for an old fashioned room key/room tag that weighs about 5 pounds. Just hand it to the front desk when as you come and go. It's much better than lugging it around. The Goldener Hirsch is not inexpensive by any stretch of the imagination but it is a classic old and romantic spot in the center of Mozart's home town. It doesn't get much better than this.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Michael N,

thank you so much for your kind and positive feedback about your stay with us. I am really happy that you like the style of the hotel as well as the service level of my staff.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.

With kind regards
Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a great experience at the Hotel Goldener Hirsch, and it's location could not be beat! Right on the main road in Salzburg, you can walk anywhere in the city, including the train station (as long as you don't have a lot of luggage). The hotel is very historic, one of the oldest hotels in the world, and it is a great place to experience the history of Salzburg. My only complaint was that the beds were a little hard, but it was a beautiful homebase in Salzburg!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Natalie E,

thanks so much for your kind feedback and I am happy to read that you had a good stay.
Looking forward to having you with us, soon.

With best regards
Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hubby booked this hotel using his Amex Platinum card, and the upgrades provided because of the card, just about paid the fee for having one! We got upgraded two categories to a mini suite, which had a lovely sitting area, big bathtub, double sinks & separate WC. We also received "free"breakfast at the amazing buffet (value of 30 Euros each) AND an amazing dinner in the dining room! Even without the extra perks, we would've enjoyed this hotel, but it was definitely icing on the cake. GREAT location right on the main shopping street! All of the employees were friendly as well.

Room Tip: If you have an Amex Platinum card, use the AMEX travel service to book your reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 283jennifere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Jennifer E,

thanks so much for your positive and nice feedback and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.

Best regards
Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very nice hotel in the heart of old town, on the Getreidegasse, very short walk to the Mirabell Gardens (for me the best view of the Festung Hohensalzburg in the city). Charming room, very comfortable. We were facing an inner courtyard of some kind so no view, but the room was extremely quiet and that was appreciated. The only issue I had was that the bidet had no water pressure, but we were only there one night so while I reported it, I saw no need to make a fuss. I've been to Salzburg a number of times going back to 1984 and this was probably the best hotel I have stayed in there. I would return!

Room Tip: Room 14 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Liza W,

thank you very much for your positive and nice feedback and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We already had a look regarding the low water pressure.

I remain with warm regards and will return to the Hotel Goldener Hirsch.

Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a unique and pleasant hotel right in the heart of the city. The staff is knowledgable, very friendly and so willing to assist. The rooms are a combination of charm and "old time" in the sleeping area with the bathrooms being sizable and modern. Everything in Old Town is in easy walking distance. A wonderful experience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear George H,

thanks very much for your positive and nice feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to having you back with us, soon.

best regards
Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Location is really great, in the heart of it all. Rooms are all very unique and have lots of charm & character. I particularly liked the more intimate size of the hotel. Good atmosphere in the small but excellent hotel bar. Both restaurants are very good, high quality simple food paired with stylish service.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Sam,

thank you very much for your positive feedback and great review.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With best regards
Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a lovely, overnight stay in a Festival room on the fourth floor of the main building. It was quiet and comfortable and quirky - low ceilings, antiques, split up bathroom (with too may doors!). The room was large. The setting was quiet. I realized, however, after staying in hotels with large windows, that the room felt claustrophobic with its limited outside light and dim fixtures (except for the bathroom). So while from a comfort standpoint, it would be fine to hang out and enjoy the amenities, I didn't really want to spend extra time in the room, which is okay since there was lots to see and do outside our door.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terzlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPutz, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Terzlover,

thanks for your kind feedback and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, except the small windows. Untortuntely, in 1407 this was the style houses were built.

I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £203 - £578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing