We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Ranked #15 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful Experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

They were renovating this hotel and we had a horrible experience. The room was the size of a cruise ship room without the storage. No kidding. The air conditioning was broken. We opened the window and had to close it for the sewer gases. The breakfast was great though. Too far from city center or old town. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Stay closer to the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Lisa T.
we are so sorry that we where not able to fullfill our Service promise in your case. <Regarding room size we provide also superior room types at real low surcharges. We are really sad that we could not react on your concerns during your stay. We always try to find a soilution if guests experience a problem during their stay. Regarding the works: Yes, there are currently works going on in the courtyard and we operate only with a limited No of rooms. But I can asure you and the whole community that there are NO sewer gases involved in this. There are only constructions goiung on. Please accept my sincere appology for all your inconveniences. Warm retgards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    664
    200
    60
    22
See reviews for
388
626
77
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

There are currently renovations going on at this hotel. Don't let that put you off staying, they are confined to between 8am - 5pm, so shouldn't disturb you too much.
If the already renovated public areas of this hotel are any guide, it will be really fantastic once it is done.
Even before it's renovation, this hotel is more than comfortable for a stay in Salzburg.
The hotel is in a great location, about a 10 min walk from each Salzburg old town and the main train station. There are plenty of bars and restaurants close by as well.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, but are showing signs of age, so the current renovation is very welcome.
The breakfast in the hotel was very nice with a plentiful supply of both hot and cold items to fuel you up for a morning touring around beautiful Salzburg.
The staff at the hotel are friendly and accommodating and happy to provide maps and directions to various attractions.
I look forward to returning to this hotel if I ever find myself back in Salzburg and seeing the result of the current renovations.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Brisboy77,

thank you very much for your nice comments on your stay. It is funny to read that only a couple of days later guests report a total different experience. You definiteley have to come back as the breakt fast will be served in the new IMLAUER Sky BAr & Restaurant on the new constructed sixth floor as of November 2014!. Thank you again and we hope to see you again. Best regards from Salzburg. Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Newly renovated Ground floor (Reception area) looks modern but in contrast to guest rooms, they need modernising. The location is very good and is evenly situated between city centre and train station we could walk anywhere from the hotel. Highly recommend a stroll into the city through the local gardens featured in the sound of music film a pleasant work.

Excellent Service the entire reception staff answered all our queries we had they even showed us everywhere you could wish to visit in salzburg on the map.

Still renovation work is going on. So some disturbance if you are staying in rooms during day but as we were always out was never an issue the Air Conditioning system needs to be fixed IMMEDIATELY we stayed in May and was hot so dread to imagine July, I went to reception one evening to mention this as the heat was too much at times and even at that time of night hey went out of there way to get a fan to help us with our problem. The rooms themselves were very spacious and ideal for the 2 of us.

One other plus is the bar area downstairs the bar tender in there was very attentive to detail made amazing cocktails and was an all round great guy. Highly worth a visit for a cheeky beer or three.

Tbis hotel overall was a good experience, excellent marks for customer service, would definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Get a fan for your room …
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moses1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear moses1985,
thank you for your brief comments and please appologize for the malfunction of the airco. It is a brand new device and the construction firm started it of last week unfortunately as always there have been some challenges to overcome so it took another week to get it up and running. Now we are more then glad to get 10°C cold air to all of our rooms which enables us to cool down much more effectiviely then ever!! That does not help you of course but I hope that some other TA users will read my comment...=D
It is wonderful how you describe the services of our front office team and of courese Harry our Barchef. He is indeed an institution and a real specialist in his metier. This is seldom nowadays. I will pass your compliments to all of them and say THANK YOU! Yours sincerely, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights.

Newly renovated Ground floor (Reception area) looks modern but in stark contrast to guest rooms. Location is good. We could walk anywhere from the hotel.
Paid Hotel Parking is just across the street. Still it is advisable to use public transport in Salzburg to avoid parking woes in city.
Excellent Service. Entire reception staff answered all our queries (a lot of them) patiently. Communicated on our behalf to our Car Rental agency in Prague.
Still renovation work is going on. So some disturbance if you are staying in rooms during day.
Air Conditioner system needs to be fixed IMMEDIATELY.
Over all Great experience, Top marks for customer service.

Would definitely stay here again and shall recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Eric S, greatings to India. First the good news. The aircondition in all rooms and public arreas is up and running just in tuime as the summer begins today with fantastic weather! Second, thank you very much for your nice comments regarding the service attitude of our front desk team, they really do their utmost to make our guests' stay an enjoyable one. We hope to see you or your friends again very soon . Warm regards, MArtin Gissel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed over one night transiting between Slovenia and Germany. The service was very good and my room, a jr. suite, was large, modern and beautifully appointed. Salzburg is not that big a place so the location of the hotel vis the old town is fine. Besides its close to some of Salzburg other great attractions. Now here's the onion, I wasn't informed until check in that the hotel was undergoing "some work". I discovered after looking out my window and talking to some staff, that the work is actually a major rebuild involving a conference center and an additional floor. Right now, the top 2 floors of the hotel are not open for business. Fortunately, my stay was a Saturday to Sunday so I wasn't bothered by the noise, but I pitty the person who got the room after I departed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear John L,
thank you for all your compliments regarding the room and the convenient location of the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. Indeed within the next 2-3 months our Hotel will have 3 more highlights which make it a MUST to sleep here while travelling to Salzburg: 1. We currently construct 20 Brnad new Junior Suites and Family rooms in the quiet inner courtyard of the Hotel with a very commpetitive surcharge on the standard room. Watch out for that. 2. A new Pitter Event Center is constructed in the Courtyard which will be one of the most spectacular ones in the Alpine region. 3. The IMLAUER Sky Bar and Restaurant will open in October on the rooftop of th Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter ith a breathtaking view over Salzburg the Castle and the Alps. There our guests will enjoy meals and drinks from dusk till dawn...=D. BUT, we really make sure that the works are done only between 8 and 5 in the daytime. So there is nearly no destruction for our guests.
Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
372 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were traveling with our adult son and had a king bed with a pull out couch (couch was okay as far as comfort). The bathroom had an electrical receptacle, which is a big plus for me, so I could use my curing iron. The location was relatively close to the quaint old downtown area (one mile plus). The breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: We were in room 106...no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtravel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Goodtravel 2,

tahnk you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We are happy that you enjoyed the room as well as the fittings and the location of our Hotel. We hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Europe! Warm regards, MArtin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

It was a decent hotel. Had some issues with the wireless on arrival and had trouble keeping in touch with family and business follow ups, staff really didn't mind that I was disappointed with the Internet. It just opened I guess when we arrived and I think some bugs need to be worked out. Hotel was clean and bed was very comfortable, but I may search around for other hotels if I go back to that city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFireman04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your nice Feedback regarding Service and sleep Quality. Yes indeed we had some start issues with the Internet. But now we have a very strong System operating. Currently we still give it for free for all guests in the test Phase. By the way WIFI is free of Charge in all IHG affiliated Hotels for IHG Rewards Club members. So please join asap and enjoy this free of Charge Service. The Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter will get a fantastic Sky Bar and Restaurant in October where you can enjoy breakfast with a breathtaking view over Salzburg or have a sundowner on the terrace... So please next timed give us another Chance. Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Address: Rainerstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2014 the hotel Crowne Plaza Salzburg - The Pitter was newly renovated and extended. € 15 Mio were spent to create new perspectives and dimensions. Experience typical ,,Salzburg flair" at this traditional hotel, which was already opened by the Pitter family in 1864. This ,,Grand Hotel" offers 198 rooms and suites and is located directly in the city centre of Salzburg. Reach the famous Mirabell Garden & Castle within 2 walking minutes and the main station within 7 minutes by foot. "Salzburg Airport W.A. Mozart" is easily accessed by car or public transport (Bus number 2) within 15 - 20 minutes. Indulge yourself in a brand-new, spectacular location above the roofs of Mozart's city and enjoy drinks and delicacies of our cuisine. Experience the magic of Salzburg at highest level at the IMLAUER SKY - Bar & Restaurant. Open throughout the year from breakfast until at least 1 am! Typical, regional delicacies and a selection of over 30 beer specialties is served at the oldest beer cellar in town, at our legendary "PitterKeller". During fair weather the "PitterGarden" is open for you. New fitness area with sauna and mountain views from the private rooftop-terrace. Hotel guests relax and train there at no extra cost. Endless possibilities at the newly built ,,Pitter Event Center" for YOUR event. 6 glass domes and a total space of 450 sqm make the "Pitter Saal" unique in Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing