We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good location and great breakfast”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

It's pricey, but what place isn't in Salzburg. There was construction going on when we got there so be sure to request a room far from it. We had a noisy room the first night so they moved us the day after as soon as we asked to be moved. Very close to Mirabell gardens and my favorite sound of music bicycling tour - fräulein Maria's. About a 10-15 min walk to Old Town. Parking is not next to the hotel but down the street for 18 euros a day.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mamaarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear mamaarora,
thank you for taking the time to tell the TA comunity about your experience at the Crowne Plaza Salzbrug The Pitter. First of all thank you for the 4 star rating. We really do our best to make sure that our guests have an enjoyable stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. The load works are already finished and the inside works are progressing well! We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again! Warm regards, Martin Gissel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    672
    202
    60
    23
See reviews for
396
636
77
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Please note although a fine hotel, construction work putting a new roof and beer Keller restrooms is underway, august 2014. Hence 3 stars only.
The hotel is clean, serious money has been spent on the downstairs lobby and toilets. They are really modern and clean. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful. The location is excellent for the train station, so coming and going to and from vienna and munich is very easy.
Eat out, shop, walk, all is within easy foot distance.
The breakfast is good and the rooms a bit bigger than other hotels.
Many small cafés are nearby.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Glenn V.,
thank you very much for your review and the nice comments on location breakfast and service. Yes indeed there are still some works going on but we are getting there in a couple of weeks we are reopening our Restaurant PitterKeller and most of the inner courtyard junior suites and family rooms which will be great! The roof top restaurant will take a while but the works to be done there will not be very noisy and not visible. So we hope to have you back next year to experience the new "Pitter". Thank you again for your time, warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We enjoyed our visit to the Crowne Plaza. The front desk and valet staff were great. Our room was spacious by European standards, very clean and the strong water pressure of the shower was notable. We loved the breakfast. The highlight of our visit was that of meeting the bartender, Harry. He took great care of us and really enjoyed talking with him. His White Russians are like no other and I'll be thinking about those for a long time to come. He made our visit even more special.

I am happy that the hotel is going through renovation and it will be gorgeous when complete.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroad051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear ontheroad056,
it is a pleasure to read that you really enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter! I will definitely pass your compliments to Harry and the rest of the team and say :"THANK YOU!"
Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

There is major work being undertaken at the hotel which was not mentioned at any time when checking in. There is a small notice in the lift saying there is. We were awoken at 6am by the loudest noises, I looked out of the first floor window to see a large lorry unloading a full lorry worth of scaffolding . At first the hotel denied it was theirs as ' works only are carried out after 8am' - this is untrue as when we were downstairs at 7am they were sawing at reception. I think honesty would be better although they were apogee tic in the end and gave us two complimentary drinks.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Christian4,

we are so sorry that you did not have the chance to finish your good night sleep as deserved. Please do not blaim the receptionist. There did in deed tell the truth. The workers are only allowed to start at 8 o'clock but unfortunatley there are sometimes new sub-contrtactors starting their work much earlier. This has been contractualy regulated. It did of course not help in your case and I appologize for this but I wanted to make sure that you understand that our front desk clerks do not lie to our guests. So nobody has to "beware" from us. Works are really getting less loud as we are in the finishing face of the large Pitter Event Center and will open this area by mid September. The roof works will hardly interrupt anybody. Best regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Crowne Plaza Salzburg for 2 nights travelling with a young baby! I was a little concerned before arrival about the possible noise from renovations but I emailed the hotel to request we had a quiet room (as the baby would need to sleep during the day) and this is what we got! Our room was very spacious, clean, modern and quiet!
The staff were friendly and helpful!
The buffet breakfast was average-not up to the standard of other crowne plaza's we have stayed in but have definitely had worse!
Location was great-conveniently located a few blocks from mirabell gardens and about a 10-15min walk to the old town! Also walking distance to the main train station!
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Crowne Plaza Salzburg and would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Leah083,

we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We are sorry that we could not meet your needs regarding the breakfast standards. Yes our displays are not as fancy and modern as some others but we really make sure that the quality of the products are the best we can get. I am proud to say that we have a great variety of local (!) BIO teas e.g. with herbs from the nearby alps and our coffee specialties are fantastic! Also our breakfast staff has a very natural and friendly attitude this is why our guests normally enjoy our breakfast despite the fact that the location is not the best. But that will chanve with November when we move up to our brand new roof top restazurant. So please (!!) come back and enjoy this! Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A group of us (13 in all) stayed there in 6 rooms August 2014. Salzburg, being a small city is easy to explore on foot, and the location of the Crowne Plaza made it easier to do so, being just a few blocks from the Mirabbel Palace, and Mozarthaus. The staff was generally helpful with locating points of interest.

There were lots of issues with the hotel itself. The day we checked in, our carpet was not properly cleaned, there were crumbs on the floor, and I had to call in housekeeping to take care of that. At least two of our rooms for the group had drainage issues in the bathtub and sink. There was a lot of repair work and construction being done throughout the day, this, despite my calling the hotel to check on it, since I had read similar comments on Tripadvisor. They told me on the phone that construction/remodeling was complete. We had to eventually move rooms so as to get away from the dust and related allergy issues. The hotel staff generally treated it like 'we should take this in stride' not as a problem for the guests, that left a poor taste.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poori828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear poori828,
we are sorry to read that we missed to provide you with a save and clean place to rest. That is our main duty. I really appologize for that. We still have construction works going on but they are now much more inside the new built event Center and on the new roof top floor. The Event Center will be finished in September. The roof top Restaurant opens in November. We have a mix of comments regarding the construction on site but we have nearly 100 % positive comments on our staff. So we hope that we where at least able to give you and your people the feeling that we care about your issues that you faced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Room was fine, although one window partly blocked by scaffold / equipment for the renovations. Staff we encountered throughout our time were great - particularly the doorman, bar man, staff in the restaurant downstairs & reception. Unfortunately at just after 7am we were woken by drilling & hammering. Reception were very apologetic, but she explained she couldn't promise it would stop. It didn't. After some discussion we had very fair compensation offered, and we would happily choose this hotel again. Can't give it 5 stars as we had the problem in the first place, but it was managed well. Only suggestion is you need to manage your contractors better! Why drill in a hotel at 7am in the mornings and think no one will complain ?

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizbeth34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Lizbeth34,
you are so right, drilling at 7 is not acceptable and it is not allowed for the workers to start with these loud works before 10am. But sometimes a subcontructor or a new team on the construction area starts too early. Unfortunately it is so hard for the front office team to locate the noise and find the right person to immediately stop this annoying noise. We are thankful that you still quoted us with four stars that is really generous of you. We are all impatiantly waitning for the finalization which will soon be. In Oktober the new Pitter Event Center will open and by then all load works are history (for the next 30 years...=D)
Thank you again and have awonderful rest of the summer. We hope to see you again at the "Pitter"! Warm regards, Martin Gissel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Address: Rainerstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2014 the hotel Crowne Plaza Salzburg - The Pitter was newly renovated and extended. € 15 Mio were spent to create new perspectives and dimensions. Experience typical ,,Salzburg flair" at this traditional hotel, which was already opened by the Pitter family in 1864. This ,,Grand Hotel" offers 198 rooms and suites and is located directly in the city centre of Salzburg. Reach the famous Mirabell Garden & Castle within 2 walking minutes and the main station within 7 minutes by foot. "Salzburg Airport W.A. Mozart" is easily accessed by car or public transport (Bus number 2) within 15 - 20 minutes. Indulge yourself in a brand-new, spectacular location above the roofs of Mozart's city and enjoy drinks and delicacies of our cuisine. Experience the magic of Salzburg at highest level at the IMLAUER SKY - Bar & Restaurant. Open throughout the year from breakfast until at least 1 am! Typical, regional delicacies and a selection of over 30 beer specialties is served at the oldest beer cellar in town, at our legendary "PitterKeller". During fair weather the "PitterGarden" is open for you. New fitness area with sauna and mountain views from the private rooftop-terrace. Hotel guests relax and train there at no extra cost. Endless possibilities at the newly built ,,Pitter Event Center" for YOUR event. 6 glass domes and a total space of 450 sqm make the "Pitter Saal" unique in Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing