We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forceful pushing re Gala Dinner & Front Desk Service Poor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Forceful pushing re Gala Dinner & Front Desk Service Poor.”
Reviewed 8 January 2010

No one knew what was going on re trips, events at any given time over the Xmas period at the Front Desk. On numerous occasions I was given incorrect information which caused much confusion and inconvenience. The staff are young and need better training as to what is actually available for their guests to visit.

I was asked on at least five occasions asked did I want to attend a Gala Dinner, I declined on each occasion. I was actually told by a lady that I could not book for the week unless I attended the Gala Dinner at 95 Euros each!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANTACLAUS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    673
    203
    60
    23
See reviews for
396
637
77
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I am a Priority Club Platinum member, and stayed at this hotel in Dec 2009. Front desk staff are ambivalent, and have no idea what a Priority Club Platinum member is or what additional perks or amenities they can offer to priority club members. I received incorrect directions, wrong bus and train info from various front desk staff everuday I was there. Room decor is outdated and bathroom toiletries inadequate. The bathroom in my particular room was tiny and not cleaned very well. Beds are old and rooms generally stuffy. Old tube style TV in every room, but no free internet, the hotel is not in a quiet location, my room was overlooking the street and car noise was constant all night long. It is walking distance to the main train station and the attractions downtown, although the bus service is more convenient (if you can get the proper information from the front desk staff) . The slosest bus stop is about 2 blocks away. Mirabel Palace about 5 blocks away. Breakfast food is the same everyday, please change it up a bit! . Breakfast service staff is not very friendly. Unless, you want the points, I´d recommend to try a hotel closer to the main downtown area with much better customer service.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed one night in Salzburg, it was Christmas day - and they made space for us in the Pitter keller - excellent food, good beer selection and excellent service. The room was spacious with four beds, no noise during the night, fantastic breakfast the selection is so enormous you could eat the whole day to cover everything available. We can recommend this hotel to anyone with and without children. Close to altstadt and train station. we walked everywhere with our 4 and 6 year old kids.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnenaufgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

First we encountered very unfriendly staff. We asked for a good restaurant for dinner and he sent us on a wiled goose chase, we never found that restaurant. Our room was lovely, very clean, comfortable bed. I did not expect synthetic pillows and blankets. When I asked for down I was told they have none. There is no free internet in the room. The restaurant Pitter Keeler is very nice, pretty good food, when you can get in to it. We were only able to eat there 1 night. The rest of the time they close it for partied, without any advanced notice. However there is a bar at the street lever where you can get the same food. We tried ones, it is a smoking bar and even when empty you can't breath. Bar was totally empty and we wanted to sit in the booth, but waitress pointed to the bar stools and demanded we sit only there. When I asked where to hang the coat she pretended not to understand and kept pointing to the bar stool. So we left. Thank god for the Christmas markets where you can eat wonderful sausages and pork shanks. Thus we were left with way below good impression of the Crown Plaza hotel. Must mention one fact though, one day I forgot my diamond rings on the night stand. About and hour later when I discovered it my heart sank. There was my engagement and wedding band as well as an antic ring my husband gave me. I was sure that it would be stolen by the cleaning crew and I will never be able to find them. My husband ran back to the hotel hoping that room was not cleaned yet. However the room was cleaned and rings was on the night stand. I was pleasantly shocked. In America I am sure outcome would be different.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The hotel was perfect for our short 3 night stay, the beds were very comfy, staff on the front desk helpful, although didnt really offer any advice on what to 'see' or 'do' in Salzburg, or provide any info on the hotels facilities. We thought the cleaning staff were lacking, our tea and coffees wernt refilled daily, a complimentry water bottle from the hotel sat in the room empty for 2 days before being cleaned away, dirty cups left, and the bins in the room were not emptied, although they were full. As we got the hotel at a cheap rate from last minute, we thought it was good value for money over the christmas period. Although looking at their usual prices, i dont think i would be prepared to pay so much for such a stock standard chain hotel. We also ate in the resturant-pitter keller, and found it to be good value, and the food a very good standard. Overall a nice hotel, good location, and perfect if you can get a cheap deal!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

If you like cooked food served cold then you'll be fine here.The ''hot '' buffet breakfast is only luke warm and as the plates are not heated by the time you get back to your table it is well and truly cold.Our room service meal of shnitzel was completely cold as well.
When the temperatture of the food was questioned the breakfast supervisor,(a petite oriental woman who spoke excellent english) picked out a piece of bacon from the bacon tray ...felt it....then... can you believe it....put the slice of bacon back in.!!
Needless to say would not stay here again.One evening when we had dined in the Pitter Keller,we had a very brusque and surly waiter which realy didn't help either.Only good point was a very pleasant and cheerful barman in the bar called Harry.
The hotel is good 15/20 mins walk into the old town.And for the price we paid we could have saved 40 euro a night by staying at the Marriott Rennaisance which ...ok... is a further 10 mins from the old town but by the bus and train station so if you got a bus in to town or even a taxi bothways you would still save a lot and of course you would have the famous 'marriot 'bed to sleep in and not making do with cheap pillows filled with lumpy bits of foam which they have at the crowne plaza...Also their breakfasts are always good AND hot.
Salzberg is itself a fabulous place to be around christmas time and will definately be going back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patncath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scouser with a passport!
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

Hi
Stayed for three nights in December for a surprise 50th birthday treat. Hotel is very comfy, food and beer in the Pitter beerkeller is good. All staff very friendly! One little warning, the free bottle of red wine is just for the first night...you pay for the others bottles.

Right...Salzburg...lovely town, catherdrals/churchs/castle on the hill/river/Christmas was everywhere!!...I wondered what they did the rest of the year! My wife booked a 'Sound of Music tour' for me! Just what I really wanted!!!!! But surprisingly it was ok and booked with Bill's tours not Panorama who seemed to have taken over! Peter our guide was very nice and very chatty!
Saw all the usual tourist stuff on the tour, the Salzammergut lake district, lovely scenery and snow everywhere. If your going Christmas time then St. Gilpen is really worth the visit...fairytail stuff!

Nightlife is low key in Salzburg but we found a little bar where the locals seemed to gather, call Treff, tucked away near the Salzburg museum. Saw a Oompah band and some weird Lederhosen clad fellas doing a nativity play and singing...different for inside a pub!!

The locals drink the Gluhwein by the mug full in 'winterlounges' outside bars where you stand up, about 4.5 euro but bring the mug back and you get 2 euro return. The castle is well worth a visit and if you are fit walk up the steps and save 14 euros for two. The scenery changes as you climb and it does not take long.

All in all I would recommend the Plaza and Salzburg, Prague is prettier but Salzberg has some lovely surrounding scenery and the people are really friendly! Even the taxi driver at the airport told me to get the bus No2 which stops outside the Crowne Plaza, this saved me 10 euro and lost him a fare!!

Go in winter or if not I'm told the best month is September...not as much rain!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Globeblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Address: Rainerstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2014 the hotel Crowne Plaza Salzburg - The Pitter was newly renovated and extended. € 15 Mio were spent to create new perspectives and dimensions. Experience typical ,,Salzburg flair" at this traditional hotel, which was already opened by the Pitter family in 1864. This ,,Grand Hotel" offers 198 rooms and suites and is located directly in the city centre of Salzburg. Reach the famous Mirabell Garden & Castle within 2 walking minutes and the main station within 7 minutes by foot. "Salzburg Airport W.A. Mozart" is easily accessed by car or public transport (Bus number 2) within 15 - 20 minutes. Indulge yourself in a brand-new, spectacular location above the roofs of Mozart's city and enjoy drinks and delicacies of our cuisine. Experience the magic of Salzburg at highest level at the IMLAUER SKY - Bar & Restaurant. Open throughout the year from breakfast until at least 1 am! Typical, regional delicacies and a selection of over 30 beer specialties is served at the oldest beer cellar in town, at our legendary "PitterKeller". During fair weather the "PitterGarden" is open for you. New fitness area with sauna and mountain views from the private rooftop-terrace. Hotel guests relax and train there at no extra cost. Endless possibilities at the newly built ,,Pitter Event Center" for YOUR event. 6 glass domes and a total space of 450 sqm make the "Pitter Saal" unique in Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing