We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned hotel - clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for three nights in June 2014. Taxi from airport was €14 so worth getting one.
It's a very old hotel, right in the middle of the old town, and well positioned for sight seeing.
We had a standard room which was adequate for our stay. Comfortable beds and pillows, full size bathroom, bidet, shower and 2 sinks. Separate toilet which is unusual but much better. Had a mini-bar and t.v. Didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment in the food. Staff very helpful - we had a quick check-in and nothing was too much trouble.
It was very hot when we stayed, so a bit of air-con would have been nice also no tea/coffee making facility in standard rooms, only in the suites.
Overall a nice hotel which I would recommend for its location.

Room Tip: We were in 408 overlooking the back streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEPHENSONSX9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Where to start, we booked here as a treat for an anniversary thinking the location and hotel would be romantic. We were upgraded to a suite which was massive, but after the excitment wore off we were overcome with disapointment. The first of which, a dirty ashtray in the bathroom full with old smelly cigs! We arrived back lateish (11pm) after a lovely meal out, but discovered when we got into bed that they were two singles pushed together on silly plastic casters which span them across the room each time moved or rolled over. My partner plugged his phone into the socket in the wall to then be given a shock as the casing and the whole socket itself fell out of the wall! In the light of the morning, after not sleeping due to a booming night club underneath the hotel (does not state this when you book!!) we noticed a massive coffee stain down the wall which was covered up by a tall lamp shade. It was all just a bit shoddy, noisy and we left with a bitter taste which was a real shame as the location is by far the highlight of this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank water_travel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is supposed to be 5 stars yet not even a bottle of water or anything free in the room. I've stayed in 3 or 4 star and you'd get a bottle of water. There was a minibar but you had to pay for everything in it. Breakfast was €26 per person everyday which was outrageous. Room was quite small and run down. The shower was in the bath and was missing some panels which meant water would spray onto the floor when you were showering. The best thing about this hotel is the location, you are right in the old town and beside everything you need and want to do in this area. I don't think I'd recommend it though as for a 5-star it was a big let down.

Room Tip: We got a room facing away from the street as this is where most noise comes from. I'd recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbmcguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

To begin with my friend and I checked in to this hotel in the old town of Salzburg which is very picturesque. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a very large lovely room with a view which was a welcomed surprise. During our stay the staff were very helpful and friendly and the location of the hotel is perfect.You can walk to most attractions easily from here. However several days before we checked out my credit card was charged with the full amount of our week long stay. We told the staff upon arrival we would be splitting the cost and paying by two separate cards which they said was fine. I did not find out about the charge until I returned home. I guess they realized their mistake as the very next day the charge was reversed. However no one said anything at the time and because of bank fees and exchange rates their mistake cost me slightly over $100.00 and I am not impressed! Obviously this establishment cannot be trusted so be very wary of this hotel. I had originally given my credit card details over the web on booking.com to make the booking. These details are what the hotel used as I did not give them that card upon arrival.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A unique pearl of Austrian hotels. In the heart of Salzburg, the Hotel Altstadt Radisson Blu with its incredible history tracing back to 1377. A perfect location and within walking distance of all that Salzburg has to offer the discerning traveler ... And Shopaholic.

Room Tip: Each one of the rooms is unique and furnished with a sense for luxury. Medieval wooden ceilings, par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel itself is lovely, really old and nicely furnished. It is also in a very goo location and very handy for exploring Salzburg. However, the hotel didn't have ANY aircon and it just so happened that whilst we were there there was a mini heatwave and it was above 30 degrees! We were melting in our room. Even with the windows open, it didn't make any difference, plus our room looked over the street, which was ok noise wise during the night, but we were woken by the bin men, road sweeper and people setting the cafes up at 6am which didn't help the situation. I asked the staff if they had a fan or anything but they said they don't have any fans until July. My advice to anyone thinking of staying at this hotel would be; if you are planning on going in the winter then it will be lovely, the hotel itself is nice but do not stay there in the summer, you will melt in the heat. The staff explained to me that the reason they don't have aircon is that it is such an old building, which is understandable, but they should have some alternative. This is definitely not a 5* hotel, it was no better than the 4* hotels we have stayed in. Oh and the breakfast is really expensive. We didn't have any as we thought 26 Euros each was a bit excessive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rackers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The location of this hotel perfect. Walk out the back entrance directly to the cobblestone streets of old Salzburg. Large room. Large bathroom. Comfortable bed. Nice cafe with outdoor seating. Short walk to everything in Old Salzburg and to the pedestrian bridge over the river. Helpful staff making reservations,etc. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
1,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#16 of 132 in Salzburg
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Address: Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £98 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Salzburg; landmark building can be traced to the 14th century; near all major points of interest & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salzburg
Salzburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing