We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salzburg Hotel Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Salzburg Hotel Stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have visited Salzburg during 2nd week of July 2014 and preferred to stay some where near to attraction center. Since we are traveling with young child, thought to have secured and comfortable stay and checked in the Hotel Altstadt Radisson Blu. The location was excellent as thought. Mozart square, Cathedral and Palace were just in front of the hotel and well in walking distance. The mozart concert dinner in St.Peters Square oldest restaurant was nearby. The ambiance of hotel corridor, stair, rooms interior were blend with Salzburg old architecture. Hotel reception staff helped us to visit Sound of Music day tour and Salt mine tour. Overall stay was satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europe42_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    261
    119
    66
    42
See reviews for
177
362
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a historic building, and the character and features have been preserved, while providing good facilities. We had a very nice spacious room, with original beams, and a view on to a historic square. The room did not have aircon installed but as we were there in hot weather a mobile unit had been provided, which kept the room cool. There was a well stocked minibar and large safe. Internet was free though the signal a little weak in our room.
Staff throughout were pleasant and polite, and spoke sufficient and usually very good English. Reception is quite small, we did suffer a long wait once when the two staff were engaged by a difficult and time consuming customer - but other times went quickly.
The location is excellent, right in the centre.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HardshipPosting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here in the summer months. Bedroom grand, comfortable bed but no A/C, a small free standing fan only, which we knew before arriving. Staff friendly and welcome fruit, chocolate and champagne was a lovely thought. Good location within Salzburg but a fair walk to the nearest car park if carrying luggage. The real negative though was the sparse breakfast buffet, for this reason I would not choose to stay at this hotel again. The hotel was definitely not worth the price we paid.

.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel in the historical centre of Salzburg. If you are looking for hotel with convenience location, clean and very friendly staff then this the hotel for you. The breakfast is very expensive, however do not consider this seriously, the coffee shop of the hotel is offering excellent breakfast items in very good prices. Also the parking is far but very convinient, the extra discount for the hotel guests makes it also very affordable

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Giannos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here! We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was great after a long trip through Europe. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The location was perfect and walking distance to everything! Very clean and the welcome drink was a nice tough. Only con would be that breakfast was very expensive and we chose to go other places. Could not have been a better stay!!! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The central location of the Radisson Altstadt is a blessing and a curse: handy for the historic centre but noisy- either in the rooms facing the Judengasse or I suspect those looking across the main road to the Salzach River. Though here in a relatively cool evening the bedroom had heated up and with no aircon that window just has to be open. Somewhere nearby is a compressor thudding away till 2 a m.

No need to set the alarm- the cathedral bells at 7 am would wake the dead!

It's well appointed but the welcome is strange. A free drink is offered and when you ask where the bar is, they take you there. But it is in practice closed with not a soul in sight on Sunday evening!

I avoided the 26euro breakfast and instead had a delicious apricot croissant and excellent coffee out of doors on the nearby Residenzplatz for 4 euros 50.

Such is the tourist demand in Salzburg such a hotel can survive despite offering due to its location much less on amenity and comfort than the modern traveller expects,and at a full price in season. I would avoid it in hot weather but if the location is the thing, here it is.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Salzburg was the highlight of my 2 week European vacation...and I was delighted to stay in a hotel with such charm, character and ambiance smack in the heart of the "old city"! My room was HUGE with original hardwood floors and a hallway /door separating the bathroom from the bedroom area. It also had gorgeous antique furniture and THE most comfortable bed, flat screen TV and window with shutters that opened onto the lane. I actually asked the front desk if I had been upgraded...No..I was told this was their standard room category. I can only imagine how lovely their superior rooms would be! I loved being in the old town with its winding lanes, museums, churches, fabulous boutiques and quaint restaurants.
I arrived by train and went to the information booth in the station - They told me which bus would take me directly from the train station to old town (2.60 euros and 15 minute bus ride) and was dropped off approx 8 minute walk from the Radisson..easy peasy.
For those of you who don't like antiques..or are looking for a modern property with all the amenities of home..you will have to cross the river which is also only a 10 - 15 minute walk from old town. There again...there are tons of restaurants and boutiques - just more modern.
For me...the Radisson was the perfect hotel. I might mention that I have been a travel agent for 36 years and have stayed in numerous hotels in Europe. This was one of my favorites.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be noisier than others when the window are open. Best to request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Address: Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Salzburg; landmark building can be traced to the 14th century; near all major points of interest & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salzburg
Salzburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing