We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Romantik Gersberg Alm
Ranked #42 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location of this hotel is nothing short of spectacular. The view of Salzburg is stunning but the hotel is a mere 15 minutes from the center of town. The rooms were spotless, the dining areas (inside and outside) were lovely. While the room, restaurant and service were great, it's the location and the view that steal the show. It's very peaceful with views of Salzburg and the surrounding countryside are amazing, both day and night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HVTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    40
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
69
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed there for one night since all city hotels were booked for the August Musical festival. Nice change. Located high above Salzburg with a great view (referring to previous reviews: people, don't make the hotel responsible, if you are not capable to find the place or crash your car; also if you are in Austria, don't expect to speak to people who understand American culture; ever tried the reverse in the US?:-)). Service was nice and friendly. The room was average size and equipped. No AC though which was an issue during the August heat wave with 40C (105 F). Great was the outside dining with nicely prepared local dishes and wines. Overall a great value for this time of the year compared to some of the city hotels I stayed at before. You need a car and it's a 15 minutes drive to the center city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGlobalMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Znojmo, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel twice and we were there many times for a dinner and every your experience was really great. The hotel is very nice, peacefull and traditional. The staff is helpful and the rooms cosy.
The view is spectacular and sitting out, having a glass of wine and looking on Salzburg is unforgetable. Other thing to recommand is the restaurant- very good dishes and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewangelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cugir, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

If you are eager to stay in the middle of the crowds, do not even try to find this hotel. If you prefer a more discreet stay, enjoy the personal contact of a small house and the personal attention, still want to be somewhat close to the center and overlook Salzburg: this is the place for you. An old farm house, adapted to a luxury hotel but still fitting in the landscape, local cuisine, far away from the main roads but a short 15 min ride from the city center.

In fact, it is so hidden away that you should prefer a map to GPS. And you also have to book quite in advance as it is often full if anything is going on in Salzburg. The place is well known by locals who fill up the restaurant or even book the house for family events and other meetings, so you can discover the local idioms that are unknown in the "big brand" hotels of the area.

We enjoyed the family-style management, and when we need again a hide-away in the area, we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel was one of the best hotels we have been till today! The people were amazinly friendly, the location great, very very clean, the food was amazing, well, it is a "must go"!!
Definatelly an amazing place to stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mchaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I was there for a romantic getaway at the end of November with my boyfriend and from the reviews in other websites it looked as it was the perfect place for the main purpose of my trip.

First of all the route suggested by our gps device was the shortest maybe but in the mountains and very difficult one. I could not image how difficult wouild it had been in case of ice or snow.
After passing this difficulty of the road we found the place and entered the reception area. You wil not have a good impression when you enter there, the staff was'nt the kindest I have ever met. There is no elevator and there are a few stairs to go to the second floor, but however its Ok.
When I enter the room I had a major dissapointment. The double room had two separated beds and I didnt like it at all. Not only that but it wansnt even clean and prepared. I started arguing with the receptrin and after that we had an upgrade (with no extra fee) to sime kind of apartment. That improved somehow my opinion about his hotel. The second room was big, clean but not shiny clean, the furniture seem old. I dont know.
The view was very impressive, as you can see Salzburg from the window.
The breakfast was OK, not that good for my taste.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tzvete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Must say I am surprised by some of the reviews below. Just returned from a few days at the Gersberg Alm with my family and had a truly incredible time.

We had two rooms, both very spacious and clean, although perhaps a little tired-looking. One was at the front with stunning views over the whole valley, including Salzburg itself with its picturesque castle and cathedral. That room had a lovely skylight and was light and airy. The other room was at the back with no views and tiny windows, which made it a bit stuffy given the heatwave (beware - no air conditioning).

Breakfast involved a great selection of food and could be eaten at the lovely outdoor area or inside. Dinner was delicious and again the atmosphere outside was great and the service friendly and efficient. Plenty of staff around.

The garden area is large and well thought-out with deckchairs and so on, and the pool is beautiful (although unheated) and has views of the valley.

Staff were happy to book taxis, restaurants etc. and to advise on activities in town.

If what you are looking for is a chic, modern, spotless, all-mod-cons luxury travelling experience, this is perhaps not it. But if you want a unique, genuine, beautiful, relaxing spot with great food and good service (albeit not always flawless) then look no further - book your room right away!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel Frauenschuh
Hotel Frauenschuh
#25 of 132 in Salzburg
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Schone Aussicht
Schone Aussicht
#55 of 132 in Salzburg
206 reviews
2.6 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#35 of 132 in Salzburg
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
830 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#31 of 132 in Salzburg
301 reviews
2.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Gersberg Alm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Gersberg Alm

Property: Romantik Gersberg Alm
Address: Gersberg 37 | Postfach 96, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#32 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Gersberg Alm 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From The Gersbergalm you reach Salzburg City Center in 15min by Car. Quiet sourroundings, charming Austrian Staff and one of the best cuisines of Salzburg will wellcome you. Free Parking, Restaurant, Bar, open pool, Sauna. Free WiFi in all rooms. 44 Rooms, 90 Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Romantik Gersberg Alm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Gersberg Alm Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing