We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Ranked #44 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel s well located. Its close to the Mirrabel gardens, a short walk from the old town. The hotel is clean and comfortable. we had the corner room which was quiet spacious.
The lift is as small as a match box and difficult to use if you have big boxes. There was quiet a bit of construction going on near the hotel which was noisy and dusty.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mokshayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We greatly appreciate it that you took your time and wrote this detailed and honest review.
We know that is it very important for our guests who traveled far to get to Salzburg to get comfortable and to get a good night’s sleep. Would you like to tell us why the service did not meet your expectations?
When we built the elevator in our hotel we decided to rather preserve the ambience than to have an oversized looking elevator.
We feel very sorry that the dust and noise of the construction work was bothering you. We try anything to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible – but unfortunately we do not have any influence on these construction projects.
We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel and wish you all the best.
Thank you again for your time. Yours Sincerely,

Anna Sunshine Sigl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location of this hotel is very good. 5 to 10 mins walk from station & only 5 mins walk to Mirrabel Gardens & another 10 or so to the old town. The hotel was clean, comfortable & quiet & staff friendly. The price I paid seemed very good value for Salzburg on a Friday night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dags111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and writing this review of our Hotel Markus Sittikus. It is greatly appreciated!
Secondly, we would like to thank you for pointing out some of our strengths, like the location, the cleanliness and our staff.
It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again in our nice and cozy hotel!
All the best and hopefully until next time in Salzburg,

Anna Sunshine Sigl
Geschäftsführer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. It’s location is very convenient to the train station (about a 10 minute walk) and the best parts of the town are very close. It’s about a 10 to 15 minute leisurely walk to the old town. The hotel is very clean and safe and serves a pretty good breakfast. I really liked the cozy lounge area and the bar is very charming. Our room I found to be a bit tiny but it was comfortable and very quite. I like how the rooms are decorated with a modern taste. I’m note sure if the rooms have air conditioning as it was chilly when we were there last week but if they don’t I’m not sure they should carry a 4 star rating. I also like that they have umbrellas available for their guests- this is a small but very appreciated gesture.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lio-and-Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Still a lot of construction, which may have marred other guests' good night's sleep, but being jet lagged, we were up when the noise began around 6:15 AM -- which is early regardless of which time zone your brain is still in. Other than the noise in the AM, there were little other challenges associated with the construction.

The hotel is located in a pretty good spot. Close to the Mirabel Garden, in between the Old Town and the train station. We had a car, which turned out to be both superfluous and expensive, in addition to being parked about 5 minutes away from the hotel (the hotel provides a discount at the WiFi hotel, be sure to ask). The rooms are all upstairs supported by a tiny little elevator and stairs. The elevator will fit two small folks and three suitcases. We, as most tourists, overpacked.

The rooms are small and quaint with red aprons over the lamp shades (makes for a dark, but colorful room) and a pleasant mural around the room. The toilet is about a foot off the ground and the shower is pretty small. It reminded me of several cruise liner showers. The beds are comfortable -- two twins smacked together -- beware of the divide. The carpet is thin, nothing plush, and there were few English speaking channels for those who don't understand German, Italian or French.

The two women at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. They were very patient with us, and they speak very good English, There is a lounge and a bar on the first floor -- both very comfortable, great places to wait for the tour driver to pick you up.

The breakfast was "cold," but still delicious. A good assortment of breads/pastries/croissants, fruit salad, various cold cuts and cheeses, juices, cold cereal and yogurt. Beware of the strawberry filled croissants -- a little sweet, but very tasty.

The front desk closes at 10:30, so make sure that you bring your room key or face being locked out. Also, they will store your luggage, but the area is a closet open to anyone. Still, we've had a pretty good experience in Austria, so we weren't too worried.

Overall, the hotel was quite good, although, with breakfast, a little expensive (though free wifi!). As with all real estate, "location, location, location." As we search for different places, I don't know that we would return, but don't take that as a slight to hotel. It was, clean, well located, with great staff. Hard to beat.

Room Tip: Don't bring a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrEricJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights over Easter. There was a lot of construction work next door but as it was the holiday period, they weren't working. The hotel is very handily situated mid-way between the train station & the Old Town. The rooms are basic but very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable & the shower very good. The best thing was the staff. They were all very friendly, helpful & spoke excellent English. Nothing was too much trouble for them. A great couple of days in a beautiful city. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend spent one night in this hotel. Very close to the train station and the two receptionists that we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately there is a lot of construction going on on their street which creates a little eye sore but a very pleasant hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is very basic we had a hard time opening the door with a key no swipe cards here. The street was busy with renovations next door, but the girls at the desk were lovely so helpful in showing us places to visit this made up for everything

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joybea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for this feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay altough you had some troubles. We are sorry for the construction work outside the hotel but we hope that it will end soon. We apologize also for the inconvenience the key caused you but as our hotel is very traditional, we decided to stay with the keys. But it is also possbile to open the front door with the little blue chip. We would love to welcome you again and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
963 reviews
0 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlton
Hotel Villa Carlton
#31 of 132 in Salzburg
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Goldenes Theater Hotel
Goldenes Theater Hotel
#35 of 132 in Salzburg
754 reviews
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Markus Sittikus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Markus Sittikus

Address: Markus-Sittikus-Strasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#32 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £76 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Markus Sittikus 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
air condition: No fridge in room: No bike rental: Yes ironing: Yes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Markus Sittikus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markus Sittikus Hotel
Markus Sittikus Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing