We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Salzburg Central
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jedermann(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ganslhof(Salzburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (965)
Filter reviews
965 results
Traveller rating
222
448
216
59
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
448
216
59
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townupgraded roomreception area isdie weissemirabell platzclean hotelmain roaddecent hotelthe busminute walkfree wifinice roomtakes about minutesrooms are bigbreakfast includedquiet areastayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 965 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

In Salzburg, it seems you have to pay an arm and a leg to stay in a decent hotel in the old town, so we opted for something a bit cheaper outside the old town. We had a Superior Double Room which was very good (slightly on the small side - so i suppose a Classic Room would be even smaller) - it was very clean, the bed was big and comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. We asked for a quiet room at the back with a view of the mountains and it was very pretty.

Be aware though, rooms at the front of the hotel are on a very busy main road, and on one side, rooms look out over a petrol station.

One of the two disappointing things was there was a lack of ambience in the hotel lobby. It was very quiet, no music, no atmospheric lighting - so it didn't feel all that welcoming (but the staff were friendly and helpful).

Second disappointing thing: location. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the river and old town, which we didn't mind as we had opted for a cheaper hotel. But the hotel is on a rather unpleasant main road, with characterless buildings - a shame as the rest of Salzburg is so beautiful.

Having said that, we had a pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a cheaper, but decent option in Salzburg.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior Room at the minimum - and ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel, so you don't have a room on the main road
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear guests from London,

thank you for the time for writing your review and give other guests a feedback of your stay in Salzburg. We appreciate your positive words. -
For all guests who are not keen on walking to the old district of Salzburg we can offer a direct bus line from the hotel to the city center.

We wish you a peaceful christmas time.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The staff at reception were courteous, efficient, helpful and welcoming. The superior room we had was very large indeed and well equipped with everything spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a walk in shower and there was generous sitting room in the bedroom. Breakfast was great, wide selection of hot and cold food. Sure the hotel is a 15 minute walk from the city centre but with a bus stop just outside the front door and buses running every 10-15 minutes this was no problem. We would definitely stay here again and will look out for the same special deal we got on the accor hotel website. Best deals include breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seaboughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guests,

great to hear that we could make your stay comfortable and you had many enjoyable moments!
We will pass your feedback to our staff members, for them it is the most important honor for their job.

We are looking forward welcoming you in the Mercure Salzburg Central!

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We just spent a night at this hotel after exploring the old part of town and the Christmas markets. It is a nice, clean hotel with pleasant and informative staff. Our room was spacious, with a good sized bathroom and a comfy bed. Although wifi is free, we had trouble connecting. If we stood in the corner just right then it worked! Otherwise, no luck. There is also a water heater in the room with some teas and coffee to choose from. The hotel has a restaurant and a small bar, but we did not utilize either. If you are driving, there is underground parking for 11€ a day which we felt was reasonable. Now if you are looking for a hotel that is centrally located in the touristy part of Salzburg, this is not your place. It is across the river and about a 20 minute walk away. While it is not the most scenic area, we never felt unsafe while walking at night. There are a few restaurants near by if you decide to eat near the hotel. You will come across more the closer you get to the river. But be prepared. Saturday nights get very busy, and if you do not have reservations somewhere, you may be stuck making due with what you can find. At 9:30, we finally found a pizza place with space available that we would probably would not have chosen if we could have gotten in else where and it wasn't raining. If it is your first visit to Salzburg and you want the wow factor, stay in the historic part of town. But if you are like us and have been to this lovely city umerous times, this Mercure is a good choice. For less than 100€, we really enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snormy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear guests from Carlsbad,

thank you for the time writing your positive review and impressions about your stay at the Mercure Salzburg Central.

We hope we can welcome you again at one of the Mercure Hotels the next time you visit Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

To start with the worst, the receptionist was extremely terrible. I don't know about the others, but there is a thin guy wearing glasses who did not show any kind of hospitality or interest to the guests. Once entered the room, it was smelly. Decoration is not so bad. It is the first hotel were I could not find a safe (locker). The view is ruined by trees and other buildings.



Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alraisi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guests from Dubai,

thank you for writing your impressions regarding your stay. We really feel sorry about the inconvience that have been caused for your upon check in and will discuss this with our staff accordingly.
In a certain room category we do not offer a locker in the rooms directly. But we would have been pleased to store everthing in our safety deposit boxes at the front desk for you.

We hope Accor can welcome you in one of their properties again.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews