We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mozart's Birthplace (Mozart Gerburtshaus) Is Much Better”

Mozart Residence (Mozart Wohnhaus)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.71*
and up
Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart
Ranked #27 of 164 things to do in Salzburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Texas
Level Contributor
1,364 reviews
494 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“Mozart's Birthplace (Mozart Gerburtshaus) Is Much Better”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very happy we went to the Mozart Dinner Concert and toured his Birth Place first. If this had been our first we might have not gone to the other two. The home is located across the river from the old town and easy to find. The audio tour is a must if you do not know the local language. Mostly portraits and no pictures allowed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    286
    217
    71
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei, HI
Level Contributor
365 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“The movie is the best part”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is an unusual museum, it seems most of the attention is given to the debate over the authenticity of pictures and portraits of the famous man. This must be of importance here in Salzburg, perhaps not-so-much to us outsiders.
BUT! The short film at the beginning of the displays is worth the ticket price, in my opinion. This well-done synopsis of the life of Mozart was interesting, informative, and concise, and we learned allot. The other interesting piece of information is to be found in the last room before exiting the museum ~ look for the piece on what the marketing value of the Mozart image is worth! Amazing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportEnvyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudon, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Diasppointing”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This tiny museum contained a few musical instruments and the rest were pictures of Mozart, some believed to be actual portraits, others not. They show the composer at various ages but, for the most part, they all look alike. We were in and out of there in ten minutes. Not worth the price of admission!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Limited interest”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is not the museum to come to if you want an introduction to the life and music of Mozart or if you would like a recreation of the rooms in which he would have lived. The exhibit has already been well described by recent reviewers and, while we found the audio guide informative, its focus was too narrow. The final room was full of interactive displays, which my son greatly enjoyed and which added extra interest, but I don't feel that the museum as a whole warranted the entrance fee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This place is mostly paintings and other images of people that might or might not be Mozart. I got the audio guide, which gave rather long explanations of most of the stuff in this museum. I didn't find it all that interesting. You can pick up a few things about Mozart, but not what I expected. Without the audio guide and without being able to read the language, I'd have had no idea what I was looking at. We want here because our guidebook recommended it, but I wish we'd tired his birthplace instead. No pictures can be taken inside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Devin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mozart Residence (Mozart Wohnhaus) also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Mozart Residence (Mozart Wohnhaus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing