We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Camp”
Review of Camping Nord-Sam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Nord-Sam
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Camp”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped by for 2 very cold nights of camping and really liked the site. Location is easy to find and Saltzburg centre is 15 mins away on the bus. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Facilities on site are clean and warm, only negative is limited chargeable wifi.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeHarvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    68
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
88
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Great location and easy access to Salzburg by bus - bus stop approx. 100 metres from campsite and tickets available from camp office. Clearly defined shady sites for motorhomes and able to choose own site. WiFi reasonable (EUR3 / 24 hours) but reception weak - could only really use in the office area - also limited by hours this is open. Family run site and staff very helpful and accommodating. Excellent SPAR supermarket nearby. Showers/Toilets excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
375 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a busy site in July/August, so pre-book to guarantee a spot. I saw lots of would-be campers turned away due to there being no space.

The site has clearly defined camping plots that are separated by trees and bushes. However, some of the plots are small, making it a tight fit if you want to park your vehicle on the plot along with a tent. Electrical hook-ups are available.

The site has wi-fi (3 Euros per device for 24 hours) but it is often impossible to use it, particularly in the evening when more people are trying to use it.

Staff at reception were helpful and English is spoken. There is a bus service that stops nearby the camp to get into Salzburg. There is also a Spar grocery store nearby. The camp reception sells basic items and has fresh bread in the morning.

The bathroom area was reasonable/average. There are only two washing machines and one dryer for the entire campsite, so it was difficult to get access to them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Reserved two nights in advance at the campsite - good booking service and email communication. We arrived at around 11am and were shown to our pitch - we had a car and small tent. The pitches are a reasonable size for tents, surrounded by trees and hedges to provide privacy. Staff are friendly and helpful with info provided in English.
We hired bicycles on site and cycled the 5km into Salzburg along the easy-to-follow flat route by the brook and river. Lots of places to park and padlock cycles in Salzburg.
There is a large Spar nearby - the onsite 'shop' only has minimal basics.
Facilities - showers, loos and washing - were all clean and tidy. Swimming pool was freezing!
The only downside would be locating the tent pitches near to the small lane and water tap where the campervans refill their water tanks every day - they start queuing from around 6.30am so a bit noisy.
Overall a decent campsite at a reasonable price for access to Salzburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisnatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in this campsite after choosing it due to the pool and other positive reviews on tripadvisor. On the whole we were very pleased with the campsite both location and facilities. We were given a warm welcome and offered a choice of sites. Most sites were surrounded by hedges/bushes which gave both privacy and shade. Would advise buying the Salzburg card as you see more as all attractions included (You can buy this from the campsite). Only negatives would be drinks in the camp shop are more than double than from the local Spar which is only about 5 mins walk away. Also only 4 or 5 sit down toilets for the men for the whole site.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Camping Nord-Sam is a nice campsite with good bus links to the centre of Salzburg. However we were camping in a small tent and it felt as though the were less accommodating for those in tents compared to campervans etc. We were in quite a cramped spot with the other tents on ground which seemed to be quite covered in gravel.
Having said that we did enjoy our stay and the facilities were very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethspl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had booked ahead but at our time of travelling (July 2012) if you turned up early enough you'd have gotten a pitch as it is a pretty transient site.
The pitches are separated with trees and shrubs, there is a convenient little shop, excellent dish washing facilites and toilet facilities and also a washing machine (€). The reception also serves basic hot drinks, bear and wine to enjoy on the terrace.
There is also a great swimming pool which out kids loved - not it's open from 9am-12am then from 2pm to 7pm. This didn't spoil our day at all and affords the campsite some peace from happy children.
There is a cycle path directly from the site into the city centre (about 4km) which was great for us and the kids. It follows alongside a lovely stream which then joins onto the river, affording fab views of the castle and spires of Salzburg as you cycle in. Cycling is so safe and part of the culture here - Britain take note, you have a long way to go.
If you fancy a meal out, try the Pizzieria nearby, it was quite reasonable, huge portions and lovely smiley service. One of the best pizzas I've had.
I

Room Tip: Some of the pitches are bigger than others, just to be aware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suduperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#45 of 132 in Salzburg
621 reviews
2.8 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#70 of 132 in Salzburg
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
733 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
2.9 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Nord-Sam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Nord-Sam

Property: Camping Nord-Sam
Address: Samstrasse 22a, Salzburg 5023, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Salzburg
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish put up campsite on the outskirts of Salzburg. Places are separated by bushes and trees from each other. ONLY 3KM FROM THE CENTRE ... BUS STOP ON THE SITE! Buses run every 15-30 minutes. The journey to the center takes only 20 minutes. A biking trail from the campsite along the river SALZACH leads directly into the city center.Convenient shower and toilet facilitys! SWIMMING POOL! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing