We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalistic and Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel One Salzburg-Sud
Ranked #19 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

1) Check-in service~excellent.
2) Room (we had 421)~immaculate, hip, flat screen, shower, new/minimalist decor and a view of the river
3) Price~173.€ for 2 nights, parking and breakfast extra
4) Location~on the river, walkable to the old town, other sights...
5) Parking~7pm to 9am free next door in the public lot, 12€ per day at the hotel
6) Breakfast~all you can eat and drink; coffee, tea, juice, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, breads, eggs, fruit salad. Great deal at 7.5€
I definitely would come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitanurseOxnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Rooms has a wonderful Salzach River view. Its so nice to watch sunrise and sunset from the rooms. It also has a fancy patio by the river. You can have drinks or breakfast there. Its location is also very good. 15 minutes to Altstadt by walking. Rooms are clean and commodious. Staff is helpful. Very near to bahnhof.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oylum T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a wonderful hotel at a very reasonable price. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious. No bathtub but the shower worked a treat. The breakfast was a huge buffet with just about everything well stocked and available. Bar and coffee shop in the lobby and there's a huge supermarket across the car park from the hotel. All the staff we met were lovely too.
Not really close to the city, but easy to get around - we stayed at both Motel One's in Salzburg and preferred this one.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor, views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heatherjoy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed with 2 kids in one room a few weeks ago and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was very smooth and pleasant.

Our room was compact to say the least but nicely done (we shared the double bed with our 5-year old and our older kid slept on the single pullout sofa chair). We had a room facing the back so it was quiet and I have to say soundproofing was overall excellent. Overall we loved the Motel One concept.

My only 2 gripes would be the lack of in-room safe and the really tiny size of the bathroom (which also lacks a bit of ventilation).

Breakfast seemed a bit expensive for what we were looking for, but a very inexpensive one (ca 3.50€) is available in the Merkur supermarket behind the hotel.

Location is a bit off but there is underground parking available (7€ per day) and public bus service across from the hotel to the city centre (which is free and unlimited if you take the Salzburg Card; that can be purchased across from the hotel as well).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed 1 night in this hotel and absolutely loved it. There is plenty of parking under the hotel that we paid a small fee for and there is a bus stop right in front if you're travelling by public transport. Take bus #3 or 8.

The room was sparkling clean with lovely fresh linen and apart from the small bathroom we felt that we could've been at a 5 star hotel in any city. Just lovely!

Staff were polite and couldn't have done more to help. Breakfast was sufficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back where it's a bit quieter than overlooking the road which is very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazzbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We recently stayed at Motel One Salzburg Sud for 4 nights.

First the positives - Staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are compact but comfortable.

Location is good with the hotel located right next to the bus stop. City centre can be reached easily by bus and takes 10-12mins.

A big grocery store and coffee shop is located next to the hotel, across the parking lot, perfect for buying breakfast/light meal and water/drinks.

Now the negatives which made us give the hotel an average rating - It is a very basic hotel with no phones in the rooms, so if you have any issues you have to go to the reception each time. They did not have shower caps even though we asked.

Housekeeping was not good. We could see dust on the table in the room and the bathroom sink area was also not cleaned well during our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewdrops131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Located in the Southern part of the city, and an approx ten minute bus ride into the city. Quiet location and lovely motel. In a good position to get to all places of interest as the bus station is directly opposite the motel.
Beautiful reception area and good bar to relax in, in the evening. Rooms are quite compact but comfortable and the bathroom is very modern with a great shower. Beds are a bit hard, but may suit some people. Bedding crisp and white and the towels where thick and fluffy! Hair dryer in the bathroom which is always good. Very quiet, rooms very sound proofed and excellent sound proofing in windows, which was lucky as we where on the road side of the motel.
Breakfast was extra at e7.50 per person per night and was great. Plenty of fresh rolls, croissants, cereals and fresh fruit. Good selection of cold meats and cheese. Coffee was lovely from the machines and there was also fresh fruit juice. Very clean and staff willing to help and friendly.
There is a supermarket just across the plaza from motel which is handy for supplies.
The only downside is that there was no safe in the room. But we had no problems and it all felt very secure there.
Would recommend getting a Salzburg card from the bus station as you pay one price and it covers transport and entry to many attractions in and around the city. We paid e35 for a 48 hour card and saved our selves about e40 each. Lovely city, plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Motel One Salzburg Mirabell
Motel One Salzburg Mirabell
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
528 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,065 reviews
2.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#37 of 132 in Salzburg
689 reviews
2.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,718 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Salzburg-Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Salzburg-Sud

Address: Alpenstrasse 92-94, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: £57 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Salzburg-Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel One Salzburg-Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing