We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience but not again..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haus Gassner-Pirnus
Ranked #57 of 63 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our experience at Haus Gassner was mixed. Some good but mostly bad.

On the positive side -the location of Haus Gassner is excellent as it is only a short bus ride into the Old City of Salzburg, with a bus stop only about 150m from the Haus.

The rooms are full of light and are airy. However, thats where it ends...

As we were traveling in the summer and wanted to avoid living in air-conditioning, we opened the window on our first night to only have the room literally inundated with mosquitoes. However, this wasn't too hard to get rid of as we had some mosquito repellent for some and the others were taken care of by the notice and significant cobwebs and daddy-long-legs spiders in the corners of the room.

Our bed was on a bit of a slope so with your head effectively downhill, you'd be sleeping with the blood pressure in your head slightly higher - this isn't great for a restful night's sleep. The bathroom however was the worst of all, as the towels seemed to be old and rough. What topped us off was that the soap in the bathroom was left there for us to use from the previous guests - both in the shower and hand-basin. Assuming that this was an oversight, we discussed this with our friends staying there also and they had the same thing in their room. This is NOT good hygiene and is just being too tight.

Given that there are a few accommodation options along Moosstrasse, I would considered the other ones before staying here. Corners were cut in places that just should not have been.

Room Tip: Moosstrasse is full of accommodation so look for somewhere along this street if you want to be out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

The room and house are nice and clean. The lady owner was also helpful and friendly. Quiet and good location for guests specially looking for quiet place for sleeping. The only problem was breakfast, we found the butter, the milk and the sauce on the table were all expired.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonShanghaiLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We visited Salzburg last august in our classic formula with my wife and the two boys. Salzburg is a small gem of a town and two days should be enough to see the main attractions.
Haus Gassner
Plus: Very clean and good value for the money. We had a huge rustic room and a very modern bathroom. The view was great from our balcony. The beds were comfy, the mountain air and quietness concurred to a perfect night sleep.
Average: Location is on a nice and quiet street (Moostrasse) and almost every second house is a B&B. Not at walking distance to the center but the bus station is in front of the house. We drove to the center and did not regret as it was a very interesting experience. The main parking is in a mountain and the exit tunnels lead to the heart of the city.
Minus: Breakfast is at the limit. It was not bad or something but it shows scarce. Although Madam Maria is a nice hardworking lady she has an age and maybe it would be a good idea to get some help. At the ground floor and in the lobby there was a very unpleasant smell but fortunately it did not affect the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IonutRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at the Haus Gassner-Pirnus last summer because we were looking for budget accomodations near Salzburg. We arrived by train, and we were easily able to find the bus to take us down the Moosstrasse to find this B&B.

When we first arrived, we discovered that Maria is perhaps a bit hard of hearing, as we stood outside and knocked for several minutes. We assumed that she wasn't home, so I called her on my cell phone and she immediately came to the door, apologizing for not hearing us!

Maria is a very nice lady and her B&B is neat as a pin and very charming, with an alpine feel to it. My husband and I and our 2 teenage daughters shared one large room with 3 beds and a lovely bathroom ensuite. We had a beautiful view and a small balcony; I was very happy with the room. Our only complaint was that the gnats were competing fiercely with us for the breakfast meats and cheeses; our girls were a little freaked out over that. I'm a country girl myself, and I don't let a few bugs interfere with my enjoyment (especially if they're harmless little gnats).

For dinner, we walked down the road a piece and found a couple of gasthaus-style pubs; unfortunately, we chose the one that wasn't preferred (as Maria later told us, so it's a good idea to ask her guidance before going). In the morning, we were easily able to catch the bus to downtown Salzburg. Altogether, this is a great place to stay without breaking your budget.

Room Tip: We had to walk up 2 flights of stairs to our room; there are others available on lower levels, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tarredon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We only stayed in Salzburg for one night. Maria was a lovely host. Our room had a snow capped mountain view, was clean and very warm. The breakfast wasn't great, but enough for a bite to get you to lunchtime. The house is a few seconds walk from the bus stop that goes into town every 15 minutes. We ate dinner at blobergerhof up the road which was good for Austrian fare. Overall, a good, comfortable place to stay if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Ms. Maria Gassner is a very nice elderly lady who owns the house. Her room price is also very reasonable. Nice country style room with private bathroom. She serves good enough bfast but I think she should invest more on dishes as some looks quite worn out. We asked for a mountain view room and that was what she gave us. Turned out, there are a lot of mountains in Salzburg but her house doesnt face the nice one with snow caps on top. For the price, Haus Gassner is excellent but I personally would prefer a place with a frontal view of the snowy mountain. Location wise, the bus stop is just in front of the house.

Will prefer to stay in: Haus Steiner, Haus Reichl Reiterweg or Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof (www.bloberferhof.at) or Haus Am Moos

We stayed only 2 nights in Salzburg. Salzburg is a small town and our days were packed but enough to see the town. During that time I would have preferred to stay another night as the mountain view was a beautiful break away from all the city sights we have been visiting.

If you stay in any of the b&bs along Moosstrasse, have lunch in the city proper of Salzburg but dinner along Moosstrasse Street where your house is located. They have a couple of lovely Austrian flavor restaurants on this street that serves good food and good ambience. Walk to or home from restaurant to enjoy the street and the view it provides.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimerald_Evangelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarloZap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Steinerhof
Steinerhof
#85 of 132 in Salzburg
35 reviews
2.0 mi away
Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post
0.5 mi away
Hotel Frauenschuh
Hotel Frauenschuh
#26 of 132 in Salzburg
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
0.6 mi away
Haus Steiner
Haus Steiner
#5 of 63 in Salzburg
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haus Ballwein
Haus Ballwein
#15 of 63 in Salzburg
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Gassner-Pirnus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Gassner-Pirnus

Address: Moosstrasse 126/B, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing