We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ARCOTEL Castellani
Nearby Hotels
Stadtkrug Hotel(Salzburg)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Salzburg City(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Der Salzburger Hof(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
152
224
91
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
224
91
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distance of downtownold towntour groupnice comfortable hotelminute walkbus stoppetrol stationpublic busbreakfast buffet was goodpleasant stayair conditioningthe staff was friendly and helpfulsalzburg cardtakes about minutescomfortable bedshotel locationfour star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a two night stay at Catellani. We were three adults .We were fortunate to get a room like a suite with two separate rooms. Very inconvenient to use the ironing table. Could not pull out the ironing table and the screws came out loose. Thought it would get fixed when the maid saw it and would report it. But stayed the same. Could not even remove the iron to iron the closes on bed.
Breakfast was average. Very crowded during breakfast times. Staff were overwhelmed and looked stressed out. Not very helpful during breakfast.
Overall it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Dear bizlee,

First of all we want to thank you to give feedback to our hotel.

We are happy that you were satisfied with the room you had. We feel sorry about the problems with the ironing table. From this time on our staff will be more attentive to such things.

We regret that our staff was stressed out because of that many clients. We apologize for this and will optimize processes.

Just a few guests take their time to rate a hotel and just because of these guests we can improve our service.

We would be more than glad to welcome you again in our Hotel in order to convince you of our service.


Yours Sincerely,

General Manager
Gerhard Seid & Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel room broken into due to faulty lock. Stayed two weeks with family in two rooms - someone knew our movements very well by end of stay and took advantage. Still traumatized. Hotel manager could have refunded about 900 ( or was it 600) euro by accessing hotel's insurance as all our money stolen. They were really scum about it all. Kept postponing it (the claim) to wait us out, knowing we had to leave the country. If we were residents, we could have appeared in court, but without witnesses to appear, hotel knew we had no case!
One family member who spoke german stayed another 2 months in Austria, but it wasn't long enough. Hotel procrastinated and they did it well.
Yes, I'm talking about you, as you are still the 'manager'!
Based on what we've read in other reviews, not much has changed.
We had Austrian legal representation, so found out about the standard hotel insurance all hotels are required to have to compensate guests who have money stolen from their rooms. Like I said, we were treated like an inconvenience, not like humans.
Hotel reception staff even sent the police ( with their fingerprinting equipment and other forensic tools) away, saying the did not know of any break in!!!!!
We had even told the staff we were expecting the police. They told the police we were out - a complete lie. We were on the top floor, waiting.
We had a hard time not touching anything until the police had a chance to return another time. How utterly slack is that??
Really rude staff who even had the temerity to lie to the police!
How could you? Shame on you!
I mean, really, imagine not admitting they had thieves accessing hotel guest's rooms? To the police, or even hiding it all from other guests, yes the did their best job hushing it all up.
Sad, sad, irresponsible and totally unprofessional.
Our worst holiday stay EVER.
Could nEVER recommend any of this hotel chain. Management like that is bred from the top down.
And their insurance would have covered it all anyway.
Completely unethical.
I'm happy to be contacted to verify all of this statement. Even took videos of the broken door latch and all the rest.
Will post video later, and photos when we have time.
Hotel management like this gives all a bad smell.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Traveller,
Dear Mrs S S,

Thank you very much, that you took time to rate our hotel.

We are sincerely sorry, that you gained such bad experience in your hotel in Salzburg. We would like to inform you that we provide our staff with best practice security trainings to ensure best security possible to our hotel rooms and as well as to our hotel guests.

Unfortunately we have to inform you, that we did not host any Australian guests during your stated period, where you and your family visited the city Salzburg. We also have no records of a theft or damaged doors. Would it be possible, that you mixed our hotel with another one?

Once again, we are deeply sorry for the unpleasant incident you experienced. However, we would be more than happy to welcome you in near future as our guest in the Castellani Parkhotel, in order to show you the real friendly Austrian hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Gerhard Seidl & the Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel rooms were small but clean and nice. The full length windows opened and allowed a cool breeze to come in. The hotel was quite a walk to the center of town, but a bus stops nearby. The buffet breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerlily62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The outlook of the hotel (especially on the official photos) is very nice, but inside it is far-far behind of the quality reflected by the price of the hotel...
The rooms are very small, the furniture is very-very cheap, for 2-300 USD/night the "Ikea quality" furniture from 1980 is unacceptable.
The style of the bathroom is also a time lapse to the past, the TV in the room was purchased at least 15 years and has only german speaking channels...
Meanwhile he breakfast is excellent.
----------
If you arrive with children, keep them away from the horror paintings of the lobby area. What is the role of this horror exhibition, dear Hotel Management????

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthurSmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear guest,
dear ArthurSmith66

Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your thoughts in this feedback with us.

Our hotel combines “modern with classic” and shows a little bit of the history of Salzburg. We have new and modern elements in our lobby and in our hotel part “Parkhotel” and the main building “Herrenhaus” stands for classic and the tradition of Salzburg.

The paintings in our lobby shows the actors of “Everyman”, which is the most popular event here in Salzburg at the festival in August.

We are sorry that we did not convince you with our high quality standards in our modern and also classic hotel near the Salzburg city centre.

Nevertheless we are happy that you liked our extensive breakfast offer.

Dear guest, we would be honored to welcoming you back at our hotel.
Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a nice place to stay. The rooms are very clean and are a nice size. Found the staff to be very helpful. The grounds are well maintained. The location of the hotel makes is easy to access the different sites you may want to visit in Salzburg. The breakfast buffet provides a nice selection of food,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear guest,
dear John L

thank you very much for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Thank you for mentioning our great buffet breakfast and the near distance to the old town of Salzburg!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg.
Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews