We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel”
Review of ARCOTEL Castellani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ARCOTEL Castellani
Ranked #42 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are a nice size and well appointed. The location is just a short walk away from Old Town as well as convenient to the bus stop locations. The service from the front desk and the cleaning staff is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,
dear Mrs Pam W,

thank you very much for rating our hotel. It´s very important to us, that guests share their experiences with other travellers. Beaucause of that we can improve our services.

It´s a pleasure to hear, that you had a comfortable stay due to our rooms and as well the location of our hotel.

We thank you very much for the comment concerning our hotel stuff. The employees of an company are the success factors of an enterprise.

We hope we are allowed to welcome you very soon again in Salzburg and as well in the Castellani Parkhotel.

With kind regards

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager and the Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel 2 nights in July 2013 on the way home from our croatian holiday.We love the city of Salzburg, furthermore during the musical "Festspiele".The hotel is located in the vicinity of the historical town, reachable by tram in 5 minutes. The tram station is only a few meters far from the hotel.The hotel has itsbown parking place free of charge, the staff at the reception and housekeeping helpfull and pleasant. The room had grewt view into the hotel garden, was large enough, clean and well featured. The breakfast buffet small, however with wide choice of morning "meals".Moreover during the summer the terrace in the garden is opened and you can enjoy your breakfast under the sun umbrella! We had the pleasurevto sit wt the terrace there and it had an amazing breakfast atmosphere.
We can recommend the hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tereza111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Geschäftsführer at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking time to rate the Castellnai Parkhotel Salzburg. We are very pleased that you don´t forget the hotel, nethertheless your stay was in july.

We are delighted that you could profit of the location and that you could enjoy the advantages of the hotel garden in summer times.

Once more we thank you very much for your comment concerning our stuff.

We hope we can welcome you in Salzburg very soon again.

Best Regard from Salzburg to the Czech Republic

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager and the Castellani Parhotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Having gone to Salzburg to celebrate a family occasion, we were disappointed that we chose this hotel. The Castellani Parkhotel, is no doubt perfectly serviceable as somewhere for businessmen to lay their heads for the night, but it doesn't; rank very highly for atmosphere or proximity to anything that tourists would want in Salzburg. Above all, don't book this hotel if you don't have a car. The rooms are clean and pleasant, if rather warm, and the breakfasts by far the best part of the hotel's service offering. The reception staff were likewise pleasant and helpful. As for the bar - there's more atmosphere on Mars. It's difficult to be too critical of this hotel, but it was just sterile, and we wouldn't consider stopping here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel, otherwise you're just overlooking bland buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Dear Mr David,

First of all we want to thank you for visiting our hotel and that you took the time to rate our services. Due to comments like yours, we can improve our services.

We feel very sorry, that you were disappointed about the length of way to the city center. We are glad to provide our guests a location out of the hustle of the old town but close to all sights of interest.
That’s why we sincerely regret that you didn´t receive the information about the good connections of public transport from our hotel to the old town.
It´s a pleasure to hear, that you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. We have forwarded your great feedback to our whole team as it´s feedback like yours that keeps our team highly motivated.
As well we thank you for the comment concerning our wide breakfast offer.

We hope we can welcome you very soon again in the Castellani Parkhotel and show you the best public transport connections to the sights you are interested in order to satisfy you in any way.

Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & the Castellani Parkhotelteam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed 1 night as part of the tour package. We were assigned a small room considering 2 adults and a 10 year old. The room was however clean with good shower pressure coming through the hose.

The breakfast spread was good and reception is helpful.

The location is somewhere a distance away from town center.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexgohkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Dear Alexgohkw,

thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences with us.

Just a few guests take their time to rate a hotel and just because of these guests we can improve our service.

Thank you for mentioning our great breakfast buffet and our friendly and helpful staff. A good feedback concerning our staff means a lot to us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again very soon in Salzburg.
Best regards,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & the Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a two night stay at Catellani. We were three adults .We were fortunate to get a room like a suite with two separate rooms. Very inconvenient to use the ironing table. Could not pull out the ironing table and the screws came out loose. Thought it would get fixed when the maid saw it and would report it. But stayed the same. Could not even remove the iron to iron the closes on bed.
Breakfast was average. Very crowded during breakfast times. Staff were overwhelmed and looked stressed out. Not very helpful during breakfast.
Overall it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Dear bizlee,

First of all we want to thank you to give feedback to our hotel.

We are happy that you were satisfied with the room you had. We feel sorry about the problems with the ironing table. From this time on our staff will be more attentive to such things.

We regret that our staff was stressed out because of that many clients. We apologize for this and will optimize processes.

Just a few guests take their time to rate a hotel and just because of these guests we can improve our service.

We would be more than glad to welcome you again in our Hotel in order to convince you of our service.


Yours Sincerely,

General Manager
Gerhard Seid & Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel room broken into due to faulty lock. Stayed two weeks with family in two rooms - someone knew our movements very well by end of stay and took advantage. Still traumatized. Hotel manager could have refunded about 900 ( or was it 600) euro by accessing hotel's insurance as all our money stolen. They were really scum about it all. Kept postponing it (the claim) to wait us out, knowing we had to leave the country. If we were residents, we could have appeared in court, but without witnesses to appear, hotel knew we had no case!
One family member who spoke german stayed another 2 months in Austria, but it wasn't long enough. Hotel procrastinated and they did it well.
Yes, I'm talking about you, as you are still the 'manager'!
Based on what we've read in other reviews, not much has changed.
We had Austrian legal representation, so found out about the standard hotel insurance all hotels are required to have to compensate guests who have money stolen from their rooms. Like I said, we were treated like an inconvenience, not like humans.
Hotel reception staff even sent the police ( with their fingerprinting equipment and other forensic tools) away, saying the did not know of any break in!!!!!
We had even told the staff we were expecting the police. They told the police we were out - a complete lie. We were on the top floor, waiting.
We had a hard time not touching anything until the police had a chance to return another time. How utterly slack is that??
Really rude staff who even had the temerity to lie to the police!
How could you? Shame on you!
I mean, really, imagine not admitting they had thieves accessing hotel guest's rooms? To the police, or even hiding it all from other guests, yes the did their best job hushing it all up.
Sad, sad, irresponsible and totally unprofessional.
Our worst holiday stay EVER.
Could nEVER recommend any of this hotel chain. Management like that is bred from the top down.
And their insurance would have covered it all anyway.
Completely unethical.
I'm happy to be contacted to verify all of this statement. Even took videos of the broken door latch and all the rest.
Will post video later, and photos when we have time.
Hotel management like this gives all a bad smell.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Traveller,
Dear Mrs S S,

Thank you very much, that you took time to rate our hotel.

We are sincerely sorry, that you gained such bad experience in your hotel in Salzburg. We would like to inform you that we provide our staff with best practice security trainings to ensure best security possible to our hotel rooms and as well as to our hotel guests.

Unfortunately we have to inform you, that we did not host any Australian guests during your stated period, where you and your family visited the city Salzburg. We also have no records of a theft or damaged doors. Would it be possible, that you mixed our hotel with another one?

Once again, we are deeply sorry for the unpleasant incident you experienced. However, we would be more than happy to welcome you in near future as our guest in the Castellani Parkhotel, in order to show you the real friendly Austrian hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Gerhard Seidl & the Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel rooms were small but clean and nice. The full length windows opened and allowed a cool breeze to come in. The hotel was quite a walk to the center of town, but a bus stops nearby. The buffet breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerlily62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
1.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#37 of 132 in Salzburg
954 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#39 of 132 in Salzburg
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,737 reviews
1.1 mi away
Austria Classic Hotel Hoelle
Austria Classic Hotel Hoelle
#63 of 132 in Salzburg
103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Castellani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Castellani

Address: Alpenstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Castellani Parkhotel)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#30 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £70 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Castellani 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Castellani offers a perfect combination of pleasure, enjoyment, creativity and relaxation. The 4-star hotel boasts seminar rooms, two restaurants, a large garden, a fitness and relaxation area as well as the baroque St. Josephskapelle for weddings and christenings. Just a few minute's walk away from the city centre, there's no better place to experience the abundance of culture and sporting opportunities that Salzburg has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ARCOTEL Castellani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Castellani Parkhotel Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing