We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variable service”
Review of ARCOTEL Castellani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ARCOTEL Castellani
Ranked #41 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Very clean and modern hotel and close to a quick bus ride into centre of Salzburg. The service from the staff was not always the most welcoming and slight sense of being a bit of a nuisance to them and the efficient running of the hotel and catering.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank derinzydennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear guest,
dear derinzydennis,

thank you very much for taking your time to rate our hotel. The experiences of our guest are very important to us.

We are happy to hear that you had a enjoyable stay due to the calm but as well central location of the hotel.

We deeply apologize that you made bad experiences with the hotel staff - we forwarded your comment and hope that this won´t happen again in future.

Hopefully we´re allowed to welcome you again very soon at the Castellani Parkhotel.

With kind regards

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager and the Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Two reasons to say here. 1. You get an online rate at 100 euros, or 2. You can't find a room elsewhere. Sadly I was in category 2. Salzburg has a limited supply of hotel rooms and during the music festival it is impossible to find vacancies in the nice hotels. My top picks would have been the blaugans, the kircher or even the Bristol. I even think the holiday inn or mercure would be better options if you are looking for budget accommodations. The location is also not great you have a 15 minute walk along the highway or on a bike path which can get a bit dicey. There is a bus across the street but unless you speak German don't try to communicate with the driver.

This hotel is bad on just about every level. We had two rooms and asked for extra pillows but were told the hotel only had 2 in stock. These pillows were pathetic! The beds were fine but everything else about the room was comparable to what I imagine a motorway rest area room would be like.
The room key card is from the 90s so if it gets anywhere near a phone or iPad it won't work. I was scolded by a woman at the front desk for asking for a new key twice.
Luckily we were only here 2 nights, got in late and left very early.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Zade Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest,
dear Mr. DoubleZZ,

thank you very much for taking your time to share your experiences at our hotel.

We feel very sorry that you made bad experiences due to the location of our hotel. Some guests like the fact that the hotel is calm located and some would rather want a hotel directly at the center.

We also deeply apologize for the matter concerning the pillow - normally a guest get a extra pillow on request - we forwarded your comment to the responsible body and hope this won´t happen again.

We hope we are allowed to welcome you again very soon to convince you of our advantages.

With sunny regards

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager and the Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is about a half hour walk from the city centre. There's a Spar express very close by so you're able to buy some groceries (no produce). Breakfast is buffet and quite good. The room was clean and quiet. The bathroom was good with the exception of the tub which was a rather high step to get in and out of. Also, the shower area had a half glass partition that didn't quite go far enough so it was a challenge to keep water in the tub. Internet was free but was very intermittent with numerous disconnects. Higher speed internet was available at a cost but we did not pay extra so I cannot comment that. All in all...I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DonMes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest,
dear Mr. DonMes,

thank you very much that you took your time to rate our hotel. The experiences of our guests are very important to us.

We feel very pleased that you had a enjoyable stay due to our "calm" but as well central location.

We are glad about that fact that you liked our various breakfast buffet - a good day starts with a good breakfast.

We hope we are allowed to welcome you very soon again.

With best regards

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager and the Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Placed in a quiet area of Salzburg, not close to the city center but not far either, Castellani is a good choice for a business travel or even for a pleasure one, in discovering beautiful city of Salzburg. Cozy rooms and friendly receptionists. Breakfast is good, even if it could be a bit more various. Over all, I recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flipendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,
dear Mr. Flipendo,

thank you very much for taking time to rate our hotel. It´s very important to us that guests share their experiences with other travellers.

We are happy to hear that you had a enjoyable stay due to the calm but as well central location of the hotel.

We thank you for the comment concerning our friendly staff - the employees of a company represent the enterprise.

We hope we are allowed to welcome you very soon again.

With sunny regards

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager and the Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the hotel in mid August. We were surprised on arrival to discover it was in the same group as the Angelo in Munich from which we had just come but actually this may have been a disadvantage for the castellani as we had a basis for close comparison.

We liked:
The Hotel location (no distance from the old town on foot)
The breakfast (my mum thinks this was actually of higher quality than in Munich)
The Restaurant (Fabulous dinner but quite pricey)

We (really) didn't like:
The internet (Again, this was the same ridiculous system as in the Angelo where the network is open but you have to then login with your name and room number). Here the internet was even worse as you often couldn't log in and it dropped in and out. Personally, I think this needs fixing pdq! My suggestions would be either a secured network with a password that changes periodically (e.g daily and is posted at breakfast or available at reception) or seperate usernames for each room occupant. Alternatively, don't advertise free wi-fi if you don't intend to provide anything of worth; if the highspeed was less expensive (€10 is fine if you're only staying one night and occupying only one room!) more people would sign up for it.
Desk staff. I agree with another reviewer on here that they come across as what we brits would call "snotty". Also they're often chatting to other staff or doing paperwork and don't even acknowledge you until they're ready!
Tour groups. This is in no way the hotel's fault but my mum was twice woken up by large numbers of arriving/departing people late at night or early in the morning. Could the hotel maybe spread the groups out more? In my experience people are quieter when not arriving/ departing one part of the hotel en masse?

Overall an ok stay that didn't damage our enjoyment of Salzburg.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank missbad92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,
dear Mrs. missbad92,

thank you very much for taking your time to rate our hotel! It is very important to us that guests share their experiences with us. Due to comments like yours we can improve our services!

It´s a pleasure to heare that you had a enjoyable stay because of the location of the Castellani Parkhotel.

We deeply apologize that you made bad experiences with the desk staff. We forwarded your comment and hope that this won´t happen again in future.

We thank you for the comment concerning the breakfast and the restaurant at our hotel - we are happy that we could spoil you with the culinary specialities.

Nethertheless we hope we are allowed to welcome you very soon again in Salzburg and at the Castellani Parkhotel.

With kind regards

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager and the Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel could use some updates as far as flooring and carpeting. If your on foot, it's a hop skip on a bus and your in town otherwise a bit of a walk but not terrible. This was my 5th trip to Austria and I have always found the people warm and welcoming. This is my first experience in where I was treated otherwise. It seems as though if you are not walking in with money on your hands and feet that you are treated poorly. I felt very uncomfortable checking in, in my active wear as the blonde (long hair) receptionist treated me as though I was a peasant off the street. Not to mention my first night it seemed as though a wedding was being hosted at their venue, which included loud music blaring late into the night. My money would have been spent better elsewhere and if I could receive a refund, I would take it in a heart beat!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Kaitlyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,
dear Kaitlyn L,

thank you very much that you took your time to rate our hotel. It´s very important to us that guests share their oppinions. Due to comments like yours we can improve our services.

We feel very sorry about that fact, that you made bad experiences with the staff at our reception. We forwarded your comment and improve this immediately.

We feel pleased that you were satisfied with the central but as well calm location of our hotel.

We deeply apologieze that you had a uncomfortable stay due to a wedding - we´re really very sorry for this.

Nethertheless we hope we´re allowed to welcome you once again at our hotel that we can convince you with the the best of our hotel.

With best regards

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I spent two days at this hotel.

What we liked:
Excellent location for buses or walking to town. We walked.
What is really nice is that you are not in the towns traffic and so it's not so hectic getting in and out with your car. Also plenty of parking!
The Restraunt in the hotel was very good
Staff we're friendly and helpful(when they weren't getting swamped by buses of people)
Condition of the hotel was good and clean

What we did not like
Our shower was a tub that you had to step up in and it was one foot higher than the floor. Too dangerous with wet feet!!!
Very crowded at times BUT our room was very quite! Lots of people so for breakfast get in early.
Our carpet was wet from poor design go the shower and so we had to put a towel on the doorstep leading into the bathroom.
To use the toilet the bathroom door was in the way.

Overall we will use again when we come back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,
dear Mr. Ray B,

thank you very much that you took your time to rate our hotel.

We feel very satisfied that you had a comfortable stay due to the calm but as well central location of our hotel.

We feel very sorry that you had inconveniences at the breakfast.

We thank you for the comment concerning our staff - the employees of a company are success factor of an enterprise.

Hopefully we´re allowed to welcome you again very soon at the Castellani Parkhotel.

With kind regards

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager and the Castellani Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,643 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#39 of 132 in Salzburg
665 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#38 of 132 in Salzburg
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
887 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
888 reviews
1.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Castellani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Castellani

Address: Alpenstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Castellani Parkhotel)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £82 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Castellani 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Castellani offers a perfect combination of pleasure, enjoyment, creativity and relaxation. The 4-star hotel boasts seminar rooms, two restaurants, a large garden, a fitness and relaxation area as well as the baroque St. Josephskapelle for weddings and christenings. Just a few minute's walk away from the city centre, there's no better place to experience the abundance of culture and sporting opportunities that Salzburg has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARCOTEL Castellani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Castellani Parkhotel Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing