We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A prefect choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #13 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A prefect choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We couldn't have booked a better hotel. It has the best location, right in the middle of the old town. Although our room did not have a view, it was quiet, clean and had everything we needed. Like many European hotels, the room was small, but it was super cosy. I particularly liked the wooden floor and leather chairs. Much better and fresher than the usual carpet and velvety furniture. The wifi was fast and excellent water pressure for the shower.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. Although I'm a fan of the variety of American breakfast, I was very satisfied with the continental buffet the hotel offered. There were eggs and bacon every day. Although the spread was always the same, the freshness of all the items really impressed me. The bread, salad and fruits.... Everything was freshly cut up...no canned stuff. Even the cold cut was tastier than those in other hotels.

I'm so glad that we chose Hotel Elefant. I hope to have the chance to visit Salzburg and stay at the hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    292
    68
    23
    4
See reviews for
149
439
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was the last hotel on our 2 weeks European vacation and it did not disappoint us. Our arrival by car proved to be a challenge but once we returned the rental car, there was no issue. This hotel is around the corner from Mozart's birth place and the shops. Our room was great on the top floor facing the street with a great view of the many churches around. The hotel beds are the most comfortable and provided much needed good night sleeps.

We booked The Sound of Music sightseeing tour with Panorama Tours and it was well worth it. My husband and I are huge fans of the movie and this gave us a view of the making of the movie which was really enlightening.

The continental breakfast was great. Although the restaurant Elefant is separated from the hotel, I will say that we ate there on our first night and really enjoyed it. The waited recommended the Nockerl desert and were not disappointed, while it could have fed the entire restaurant, it was delicious and light.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomaxOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hits: We selected this premise for its excellent location, which was great. Located in an alley within a short distance from the tram station which we alighted from. Very near the Mozart birthplace attraction and shopping street.
Misses: We had some problem with accessing the wi-fi, unable to login using the password & user ID provided. Room was smaller than expected. Reception staff gave us wrong bus number to take to our destination which we wanted to visit, luckily we double-checked at the tram station before boarding. Breakfast was average. Not convenient to take tram to the main train station as the tram station that has routes to the main train station is much further away (not the same as the one we alighted).
The hotel kindly advised us to take a taxi and offered to call the taxi for us. Taxi ride cost around 20 euros.

Room Tip: Opt for bigger room if you have plenty of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yummydelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Three night stay was very pleasant. Room was fine for two people. 4th floor overlooking street with some slight street noise but it was just atmosphere as far as we were concerned. Stefanie and Jutta were very nice and extremely helpful throughout the booking process and stay. The breakfast was excellent with many a variety of choices. Easy to walk everywhere from this location. Would stay again in a heartbeat if I have the good fortune!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Location is excellent, cannot be beaten.
The hotel is a small one, with few rooms, the rooms are fine, the bathroom is ok. I ask for an upgrade to a superior room because mine was very small.
Breakfast is ok, but nothing great.
Do not miss the Fortress, but it is a hard way up, so if you do not like to walk up, take the funicular, it worth the view from there.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are nicest, and it worth the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Right from the start the location of this hotel made me smile. It's on a quiet side street, yet turn left and you are on the shopping street, turn right and you walk to the fortress.

The hotel staff were extremely helpful and booked us tickets for the Dinner with Mozart concert which is just up the cobbled road.

Our rooms were lovely, we had booked 3 rooms and they were all clean and nicely decorated with good clean bathrooms. The hotel was quiet at night, we had a good nights sleep.

The breakfast was good, a buffet style continental with waitresses serving tea and coffee.

It really was a great stay. This hotel was recommended to me and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone else. It was lovely!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gill75ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Everything about the hotel was excellent, particularly the location and the staff who were extremely friendly and helpful. The only negative point was the fact that the hotel doesnt have its own bar which is a shame when returning at the end of the evening and being unable to get a night cap.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.2 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Property: Hotel Elefant
Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing