We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Elefant
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stadtkrug Hotel(Salzburg)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
NH Salzburg City(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$324
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
474
315
72
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
315
72
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townpedestrian areabreakfast roomattached restaurantmozart's birthplaceseparate sitting areasmall elevatorhotel restaurantcentral locationparking garagetrain stationsmall hotelsuperior roombreakfast was includedshopping streetbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in the Weimar Elefant about three years ago and loved it so booked this one in Salzburg, Austria.
We had a suite for five nights, very, very comfortable and clean. Good breakfast, plenty of choice and the staff are always cheerful!
The only nit pick is the tiny lift which on occasion behaved like Arkwrights till! Shot off with just me and the luggage leaving hubby alone in the lobby - it took another ten minutes!
The restaurant food is good plain tasty typical Austrian/German fare and immediately next door, down the stairs is the Dinner Bar where Max, the manager runs a beautiful bar - great service!
Altogether delightful stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank programmerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We really enjoyed our 6 days at this very central hotel in Salzburg. The hotels front desk staff were superb and very friendly and helpful. The room that we stayed in was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. This hotel has an adjoining restaurant which served fantastic meals at reasonable prices. A great place in Salzburg and central in the historic city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The staff was mostly aloof. Driving to the hotel was quite an adventure not knowing that to get to the hotel one needs "codes" to lower the pylons that prevent just anyone from gaining access to the road the hotel was on. While the internet was free...you get what you pay for...it was poor and inconsistent. The front desk employee when we checked out incorrectly informed us of how to pay for our parked car and it ended up costing us an additional 12 euros. When we informed the front desk person who relieved the previous employee, he was more or less " oh well". While the rooms were very clean I was taken aback by the small blankets and while there were additional pillows in the room, there were not additional blankets. The location of the hotel is excellent for seeing the old town. The downstairs bar was excellently staffed and made great drinks and the food in the bar was basic but very we'll prepared and unlike the staff at the front desk of the hotel the bar personal we're charming and friendly. Not a hotel that I would recommend a friend to stay at...what a shame.

Room Tip: If arriving by car get specific directions from the hotel before you arrive and be sure to get them to handle the garage parking discount appropriately.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Hotel Elefant in Salzburg is a great choice if you want to stay central in old town. The staff was welcoming, the rooms and bathrooms are small but well appointed and clean. The wifi worked very well and was free in the rooms. This hotel is a very charming old boutique hotel and I would definitely choose to stay here over larger "american style" hotels which are in town but not in old town. The parking is a bit tricky to find and I recommend putting the address in your gps ahead of time, you park in the mountain public parking which is a 10 min walk, but the hotel does validates the parking at a reduced rate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neelio45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is walking distance to most of the sights in the old town. If you arrive in Salzburg by car, however, it is a pain to access the narrow, cobbled pedestrian only area in order to drop off your luggage before parking your car about 750 metres away. Our superior room, though nice with comfortable beds had a view of...nothing -just a concrete wall that someone had thoughtfully covered with a fabric tapestry showing a mountain scene! Extremely tacky! Hotel restaurant was very good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank scubamom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews