We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and outstanding breakfast”
Review of NH Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Salzburg City
Ranked #26 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bled, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and outstanding breakfast”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located in hearth of Salzburg, making it easly accessible to sightseeing and old part.

Stayed one night and arrived withca car. Parking garage was full and we were told to park at near garage - 3 min away. This was a bit off, since arrived tired.

Hotel looks average on outside and lobby with reception is also an average experience.

Stayed in room on 4th floor. 427 was nonsmoking and relatively ok, 407 is a smoking room and claustrophobically small. Stay away from that room!

Rooms are ok. Beds ok. Some dirt on bed headings - not appealing.
Bathroom is okey, could use an upgrade and some touches. Was fascinated my TV set - old TV sets that haven't seen for 10 years :-)

Staff is ok, relatively friendly because they must be and that's about it.

I was about to leave hotel in a bad mood until we hit the breakfast next morning. This was the best experience in hotel. Good coffee, great variety, lots of drinks, fruit, bread, etc. This was really really lovely.

Would I stay in this hotel again: No. Nothing that appealing, no space in hotel parking garage, payable wi-fi, outdated TV sets, etc. But I will come to breakfast to this hotel. Anytime :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dba_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    690
    266
    77
    44
See reviews for
278
732
58
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel is in a great location, no more than a pleasant 10-minute walk to the river and the heart of historic Salzburg. It's very clean, well-presented though perhaps lacking in character, and the reception staff are professional with varying degrees of friendliness. And there is indeed an excellent selection of food at breakfast.

I most definitely agree with an earlier reviewer about Room 102, which I had read before travelling. An alarm bell rang in my head as soon as I saw where I would be spending the next three nights, but you have to give hotels the benefit of the doubt. It's a pleasant enough, bright, spacious room, but my goodness does it get noisy at night.

Room 102 is directly above the front doors, and you hear not one but up to three sets of sliding glass doors opening and shutting as people arrive and depart. And then around 5.30 each morning there are what sound like deliveries, complete with plenty of banging and crashing, but perhaps that is also the breakfast area being prepared for 6.30 onwards.

The bonus on my last night was that my next-door neighbour got in around 1am, thumped around slamming doors for a while and then proceeded to run what must be the largest bath in the world, because the water was running for some 20 minutes. My bed was next to a (locked) connecting door, which probably accounted for the lack of noise installation.

Because I had no time during the day to move from one room to another, assuming that another were available, I said nothing to the staff until checkout. When I mentioned it the reaction was not quite one of indifference, but not far from it.

That said, I would stay at NH Salzburg City again, but definitely nowhere near Room 102.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 102 unless you are a heavy sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I took a group to stay here for 4 nights. The breakfast is very good indeed. Just about everything you could wish for, just excellent. The lobby lacked atmosphere totally, need a much better area to relax in. Staff were helpful at the reception desk. The room was average, nothing exciting except a comfortable bed. Struggled to get into the bath to have a shower and the toilet was facing a wall, not great as you could hardly move.
It is a quiet hotel and easy access to all the restaurants and bars. Just around the corner .there are many shops and eating places. We decided to have a dinner in the hotel which turned out like " Faulty Towers" from the TV. Everything went totally wrong with service, tough rump steak and the waiters were poor as well. After massive complain, to be fair, the general manager the day after took charge and was generous to us. The waiters suddenly improved and I sincerely hope that it will continue for their sake.
Yes, I would recommend to stay there because of the location..

Room Tip: Keep the air con on and do not open a window, should do the trick. My room was overlooking the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikingo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bitburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I love NH Hotels and this one does not disappoint. Great rooms, breakfast, staff, and location to the old town. Just a short walk away from all of the main attractions. I will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I visit Salzburg.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bitburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is your typical NH, but with a little Austrian character. Good location for walking to the sights and restaurants, but on a pretty quiet street. Breakfast is good, as always in an NH, and the parking is on site which isn't all that typical. My small dog was welcome, and the bar is a pleasant place for a drink in the evenings after dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel was perfect…located right off the main Linzer Gasse in the new town part of Salzburg and only 5 mins by Bus number 2 from the train station. Don't bother buying the Salzburg card- you will walk everywhere as the town is small. If you must, get on a bus and take a commuter ride to Sud Salzburg and back…gives you a great sense of the how the locals live. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in Austria and extremely generous with its wide variety of cereals, fruits, juices, cold cuts, cheeses, breads, pastries, jams, spreads, and a special mention for the amazing WMF coffee machine…
All the major sights were a 5 - 8 mins walk away…the hotel booked us for the Sound of Music Tour ( 40 Euros each) where they come and pick you up from the hotel directly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside ( not street facing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndaluciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfsburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived late 10 minutes to 11. Check in fast and we went to the bar. The waiter told normaly he will close at 11, but a beer is fine. Finaly we stayed until 12.30, he offerd us a bite and he even extend his stay after his girl friend came to pick him up. This was the best bar service I had during many years and gives you 6 stars for service. Room is good NH standard, bath room has room for improvement, exit the shower is even dangerous. Very good breakfast and nice staff during check out. Room was clean, but elevator and floors dirty ! Locating ok and price over all very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_and_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#28 of 132 in Salzburg
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
860 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Salzburg City

Property: NH Salzburg City
Address: Franz-Josef-Strasse 26 | Altstadt, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#34 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Salzburg City offers guests an ideal location in the heart of the celebrated city of Salzburg, providing modern comfort and top-quality service in an elegant environment as the recognized hallmarks of this distinguished hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), NHHotels, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your NH Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg
Nh Hotels Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing