We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Hotel Mozart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mozart
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Great location, comfortable and spacious room, good service, yummy breakfast - what's not to like?

ROOM: Although original reason for picking this hotel was availability (everything else seemed to have been booked at a time), it turned out to be a really good choice. Based on some of the previous reviews i have requested a corner room at a time of booking. We got a corner room at the top floor and loved the size of it and the great views. It was so pleasant in fact, that one night we opted for dining in our room (got a bunch of tasty treats and a bottle of whine from a local market). The beds were really comfortable, the cleaning impeccable, and we had plenty of closet space.

LOCATION: Loved it. In fact i was so happy that we didn't opt for staying in the heart of old town (too loud with too many tourists for my taste). Mozart is only a few blocks away from all the action, yet provides a much needed piece and quiet at the end of a busy day. Not to mention it's steps away from good restaurants and cafes, as well as a short walk to Mirabell Park. Next time i'm in Salzburg i'll certainly opt for a location like such again.

SERVICE: In my experience was great. All receptionists were friendly and very helpful. Gave great recommendations, and never seemed bothered by our many requests. Made us feel welcomed and relaxed.

BREAKFAST: Delicious and plenteous with many good choices. Yes, you do have to pay extra for it, but considering other options (and prices) in Salzburg it is a really good deal. I would definitely recommend.

ADVICE: When you check in they give you a restaurant recommendation list, which is golden. We've tried half of the places from the list, and loved every one of them.

Get that Salzburg card as soon as you arrive - it really does pay off.

For a relaxing drink/coffee with the best view my vote goes to restaurant/bar at the Museum der Moderne Mönchsberg up on the hill. In my opinion much nicer then Stein Hotel terrace.

Also if you are thinking of a day trip in a good weather, try both Untersberg mountain and Schloss Hellbrunn Gardens. We did both in one day with plenty of time to spare. Bus #25 will take you to both.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DC_traveler_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2010

On arrival at this hotel I have to admit I wasn't blown away, the reception was tiny and it was so quiet. The guy on reception was very nice and gave us a map and told us about some things that were going on that weekend.

Walking into our room was quite different to the entrance to the hotel, I was so surprised by how big the room was! It was a really nice room, very nice decor and very clean and a really good size. We had a room at the front of the hotel which had a little balcony which was quite cute.

The breakfast at the hotel wasn't amazing, was the standard breakfast you get in Europe of breads, cakes, meats and croissants etc but there was a lot less choice than other hotels I've stayed in, could have just done with a bit more choice really.

Location was great, just a ten minute walk to the main city centre so that was great for exploring.

Also, round the corner, about a ten minute walk in the opposite direction of the city centre was a great Thai restaurant. I read about it in my guidebook and we wanted to go on the first night but got there and it was packed so we had to book a table for the next night. It's called Bangkok and was really good, it does proper Thai food and doesn't dull down the taste and spices as they do in a lot of Asian places in Salzburg.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again, despite being a bit let down by breakfast - the hotel was a good price, had great rooms and was in a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Mozart. It was a short walk to the hotel from the train station. We checked in and were given a real key. You actually drop off the key and leave it with the desk attendant while you are not there. The room had hardwood floors and down comforters. We requested a room on a higher floor and received a room on the 5th floor (highest floor) with a view. The room was a little warm and we opened the windows. This could be a little noisy, but the cool air felt great. Breakfast was 5 euros and included cold cuts, cheese, fruit, cereal, eggs, pastries, juices, coffee and water. The restaurant the hotel recommended was great-Gasthof Alter Fuchs. If you have not visited Germany or Austria before, be prepared for people to join you for dinner. Anywhere there is an open seat, someone has the right to join you. Also, if you don't speak German, most restaurants have an English menu that you can request. Most of the places tourist want to visit are close by. We were able to see most of these locations within 1 day. The 2nd day we rented a car and visited one of the Salt Mines. This was a fun place even for adults. We had a great time in our Oompa Loompa suits, riding the train deep into the Salt Mine and having fun on the slides. We would definitely recommend the Hotel Mozart to travelers looking for a charming, cozy hotel near the tourist locations.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hickorync5793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Nice hotel, near from centre of town It is named in honor great Austrians musician - Mozart. In hotel working very friendly personal, which make your trip comfortable and pleasure. Good service, spacious rooms, nice breakfast - what also need a traveller? Here you can take it's all! If you are walking about 10 minutes you arrive to the main sightseeing of Salzburg - Hohennsalzburg Castle

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya_kowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Nice hotel - good location in a beautiful city. I visited Salzburg with my partner, my sister, and my brother and his wife. After a nice day of sightseeing, the 5 of us (ages 60, 60, 58, 48, and 41) decided to open a bottle of wine and talk in a room off of the registration area with about 8 chairs and a television set. This was about 8:30 in the evening. We turned on the television and of course The Sound of Music was on. We were enjoying seeing the sights of the city in the movie, when the night clerk came in and asked us to turn the TV down, which we immediately did. He proceeded to walk through the area every few minutes and look over at us with what can only be decribed as a disapproving glare. After about 6 of these visits I asked if there was a problem with us being in the room - he replied that it didn't look good - I guess to other customers, and that there were TVs in the room if we wanted to watch television. There was no one else around, but there is no possible way that anyone would have felt we were loud or disruptive in any way. We then went up to our rooms, but he proceeded to berate one in our group. I can't understand treating guests in a hotel that way - it's a shame that his behavior spoiled what otherwise would have been a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hampton325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Hotetl had a decent location about a mile from the bridge to where all the attractions are across. Staff were helpful gave a map of sites and recommended restaurants they also could book tours for you and called taxis for you when needed. Room was small but clean no wii fii in room and breakfast was extra. Decent for the price if window was open street could get loud

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eden1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed at the Hotel Mozart two nights. The location is very convenient as it is only a 15 minute walk to the old town. Room was large for a European hotel as it had couch with a sitting area. The furnishings are plain with a small TV. The bed was comfortable. The toilet was separate from the washroom and tub, an unusual design. Windows open for fresh air. Enjoyed the continental breakfast included in the room price. Those who are tall need to watch the entrance to their room as the doorway is about 6 feet tall. One feature is that in this city of Mozart and "The Sound of Music", the movie is played each evening at 8:00 p.m. If you are a fan, you can watch each evening. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le-metro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#14 of 132 in Salzburg
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
871 reviews
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Address: Franz-Josef-Strasse 27, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £73 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mozart 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in four-star luxury in Salzburg and look forward to lovely days in the cosy (70 beds) Hotel Mozart with its many appealing advantages. The rooms are furnished to the four-star standard with loving taste and style. Partial W-LAN Internet access, internet terminal in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mozart Hotel Salzburg
Top Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing