We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Time Machine to Historic Salzburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Bristol Hotel is the perfect time machine to transport you to the elegance of 18th century Salzburg. Its old-world gilt is exactly why you came to Salzburg in the first place – so it wouldn’t be right to stay in someplace sleek and modern. You are here for velvet draperies, a claw foot tub, a chandelier over your bed, and carved oak doors that open with a key that looks like a prop from “The Secret Garden.” The beautiful hotel delivers - perfectly capturing the frozen-in-time feeling of the city.

• The lush velvet elevator is trip! The lobby is tiny – not really for lingering or people watching. Our safe was broken and so we left valuables in lock boxes behind the concierge in true “Grand Hotel” style.

• The Nice turn-down service including Mozart themed chocolates.

• We only stayed one night so did not have an extraordinary amount of staff interaction – but all seemed reasonably friendly and helpful

• Salzburg is just a tiny pocket of a city – so you are close to everything. No need to fret about staying on the other side of the river. You can be in the pedestrian “Old Town” in five minutes. We easily walked to the Hotel from the train station – which is definitely doable – maybe only 15 minutes.

• The Hotel is adjacent to the beautiful Mirabell Gardens on one side. The green park in front of the hotel houses a sweet little outdoor bar. You are directly across from The Mozart House – which has a very good information rich audio guide.

• For nearby dining we loved this place Zum fidelen Affen (The Funky Monkey) delicious food, fun atmosphere – not too stuffy. Great service and great value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastCoaster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Bristol Hotel Salzburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed in a suite here for three nights in September 2012. It was the nicest room in which I have ever stayed: the suite was the size of an apartment; the furnishings, rugs and hardwood floors were classy; the bathroom was the size of a regular hotel room. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Best of all, the view of the castle was breathtaking! The complimentary breakfast provided every possible option and was of extremely high quality. The location of the hotel is great--within walking distance of all of the sights. I highly recommend the hotel and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Booked the Bristol Hotel for 2 nights. This hotel lives up to everything it claims. The check in was friendly and efficient. We were given two options for our car; valet or self park, we chose valet for convenience. The rooms were very well appointed and comfortable with a nice spacious bathroom. We were most impressed by the attention to little details. Right next to the elevators there is a small mirror that is replaced every evening by like-sized sign wishing guest a good night in several languages. The breakfast was lavish.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We were sorry to leave this lovely hotel. Everything about it was excellent. The service was attentive and always helpful without being intrusive. The breakfasts were a highlight of each day ! The room we had was spacious and a delight to stay in and there was lashings of hot water in the many mirrored bathroom. The free Wifi in the rooms made life even easier. Delicious apples are provided during the day for guests and chocolates are provided at night. The hotel is excellently situated for the old town. It's no wonder Freud made this hotel his choice when he stayed in Salzburg !! it will always be ours!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitzSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Great location. Next to Mirabelle gardens and hence excellent for the night concerts held there. There were chandeliers in the room and the baroque feel of the hotel fits nicely with rest of Salzburg. Room is quiet due to excellent soundproofing. The bathroom is modern looking and the bath amenities like shower gel are of good quality. The breakfast room is beautiful and staff there are very kind and helpful. The breakfast spread is very good, much better than most breakfasts I had in business hotels in Europe. A chambermaid came to my room at night to do "housekeeping ", which I felt was unnecessary. I will stay in this hotel again if I am back at Salzburg.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThongSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We loved this hotel. The room and bathroom were so light and airy (have never had a window that large in the bathroom!!) The many mirrors made it so easy to check my appearance before leaving the room. The staff were all very nice and helpful. And the location? Perfect. Just a short walk across the bridge to Old Town and a very pleasant walk to the beautiful gardens behind the hotel where scenes from "The Sound of Music" were filmed. This hotel is a "must stay" to anyone visiting Salzburg.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

A terrific experience from beginning to end. The staff is friendly, efficient, and helpful. The breakfast is perfect and the rooms are beautiful. The location is right in the center of Salzburg, just a few minute walk into Old Town. We walked everywhere with no problem and we're not kids! Salzburg is a beautiful city and a stay at the Bristol Hotel is the way to go.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £219 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALZBURG IS WORTH A VISIT ALL YEAR ROUND. ON REQUEST WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEND YOU OUR SPECIAL PACKAGES. The hôtel offers 60 elegant decorated rooms, apartments and suites with antique furniture, equipped with satellite TV, air-condition and internet connection and all modern amenities as well as Concierge Service, Restaurant and Bar. In the hôtelcomplex you will find a bank, jeweller, hairdresser, optician and boutiques. All major credit cards are accepted. Parking facilities in front of the hotel. 24-hours-guarded garage close to the hotel. Valet parking available. Distances to Railway Station 1km, Airport Salzburg 6 km, Airport Munich 160 km, Motorway exit "Salzburg Mitte" 3km. Public bus stop close to the hotel. Reservations direct or through one of our reservation offices, world wide. YOUR RESIDENCE IN THE CITY OF MOZART The traditional 5-Star-Hôtel Bristol is situated in the centre of the festival city, between the Mirabell Gardens and Mozart's residence - and within 5 minutes walking distance to the famous "Getreidegasse". Archbishop Wolf-Dietrich planned, towards the end of the 16th century, to build a palace with gardens for his brother Rudolf Hannibal. This is where the Hôtel Bristol and the Makart Platz are situated today. For meetings and festivities our 2 suites "Makart" and "Karajan" (20-40m2), our Kristallsaal (100m2), as well as our SKETCH bar & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing