We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class all the way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. The staff was very friendly and professional. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and they seemed genuinely happy to see us. Which was amazing since we looked like a complete mess after our planes, trains and automobiles experience in 90+ degree heat (I think that is something like 35 degrees for my European friends).

Nonetheless, we immediately felt relaxed and happy with our choice. We stayed in the Villa and the accommodations were beautiful. Our room was spacious and efficiently organized. The only issue was there was no soap in the bathroom and believe me I needed a shower. The rooms lack air conditioning and were very hot. More on that later.

The hotel is located in a safe residential area and is a couple blocks away from the main tourist area. It is a very easy walk to dining and entertainment. There is a café and market nearby for any items that a traveler may have forgotten. The train station is also walkable if need be.

After a night of joyful festivities, we walked back to the hotel and enjoyed the quiet calm of the area. The room was still very hot so I needed a cold shower prior to bed. A fan was provided by the hotel which helped a little bit but I still woke up a little grouchy and sweaty. Back in the cold shower I go. A full continental breakfast was included in our rate and it was wonderful. The shady garden setting was perfect. I immediately forgot about the heat and was back to feeling like I was home. Everything was so fresh and delicious. Eggs were made to order and spot on. Again the staff was so welcoming and friendly. A very pleasant experience for sure.

There is a rumor the hotel will get A/C, and if true, there is no other place to stay in Salzburg for a quiet and relaxing vacation. The staff here is first class all the way. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Villa. Book early (like Jan/February) if traveling in August. Salzburg Music Fe...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2ndCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
There are newer reviews for Hotel&Villa Auersperg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Initially concerned because this hotel wasn't in the center of everything, this turned out to be the best part. We loved that the hotel provided a respite from the crowds, but was easily within walking distance to all major sights.
The rooms are immaculate and spacious enough for a family of 4.
The breakfast was outstanding! You can't imagine all the different delicious choices.
The courtyard is a wonderful, peaceful place to decompress in the afternoon.
The staff was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tclyras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel is small enough to be cosy and big enough to provide all you need. Nice Nordic design atmosphere in the topquality rooms and a tempting breakfast buffet with lots of local biofood. Homemad end delicious. Try the "Guglhupf" - promise! The garden is simple like a private garden, but filled with comfy deckchairs and lots of candles in warm summernights, so you can rest outside with a glas of wine after a busy day in Salzburg.
Nice and friendly staff, free bikes for you to use and a great location at the rim of the city-action, so you have silent nights, especially if you aks for a gardenroom. Excellent Value for Money indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room. The street is not very busy, though, but the garden side is absolutely peacef...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susser2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I was in Salzburg for 3 nights and really enjoyed staying in this hotel. I booked for a single room, but was given a double in the villa. The room included TV, DVD player (DVDs available at reception), guide to Austria. The room was clean, modern and pleasant to spend time in when, which is important for me as I was travelling alone. The staff at reception were very helpful, recommending places to walk (giving me maps) and also places nearby to eat.
One evening, I used the spa and was the only person there. The Spa is open (clear windows from showers and sauna so people in buildings opposite can see in), which I wasn't expecting, so if you are quite private, you may not like that. But honestly, it was beautiful, with free fruit and drinks and magazines. There was also a lovely view of the mountains.
The hotel is a short distance from the town centre, but it was just a pleasant walk. I had trouble finding a cash machine nearby, so make sure you get your money when you are in the town centre.
Absolutely recommened for anyone wanting a bit of luxury and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Villa room was great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parisexpatexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Spent two nights here on our honeymoon, en route to the Salzkammergut region. After several trips to Europe, I can easily say this was our best stay. Clean rooms, quiet setting, a short walk to old town, bikes for lend (gratis!), this place is wonderful. After checking out, we wondered why we didn't book more time there. Do yourself a favor, and check the place out!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IowaHawks03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I booked this hotel assuming the walk into the old town was short. Yes it is only 10 - 15 minutes to the start of the old town but after a full day walking around the twon on a hot day, the return journey seemed a long way. I also found the same walk back at night to the restaurants required one to again don practical walking shoes.
We had requested a room in the villa but were told curtly on arrival that rooms are subject to availability and we had been allocated a hotel room. Querues regarding tourist information in English was met with a blank look and the offer of a Salzberg Card was never mentioned to us. A query re access to a hotel doctor was answered with 'we have never needed one before' gave me the impression the desk clerk did not fully understand our request! At least we were pointed in the direction of the nearest pharmacy.
I have noted in other reviews access to tea and coffee facilities but these were not in our room, however there was a mini bar. There was no air conditioning in the room but a pedestal fan was provided and as we had to keep the windows open at night the road traffic was a bit of an issue.
Overall I was disappointed with the location of the hotel and the lack of helpful staff.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lesley2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

So impressed with this hotel, and brilliant value for money. Stayed in an exec room In The villa (room 226) which has to be the best designed hotel room and bathroom ever. Big, light and great attention to detail. Even the tv and DVD fitted flush to the wall. Even the lighting was good, and loads of opening windows.
It's in the Baroque part of the city, only a couple of minutes walk from the shoppingandpedestrian area and about 10 mins to the medieval area. It has the most lovely garden and a large outdoors seating area where you can have breakfast. And what breakfasts! We didn't need to eat again until supper. Am Definately going back. The old world charming service still exists here. Lovely staff. Couldnt be more helpful or attentive.

Stayed: July 2013
3  Thank debbieg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Villa Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £124 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Villa Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel&Villa Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Hotel Auersperg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing