We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RELAXING HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“RELAXING HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights from 23rd May in a room overlooking the quiet garden. The welcome was great and all staff were very friendly. The room was large, clean and perfectly adequate. Breakfast was very good and plentiful and could be taken in the garden, although this was spoilt by smokers. The hotel is in a quiet district a10 minute walk from the main Rail Station and similar distance to the beautiful Mirabel Gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quiet and pleasant and only marginally more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    237
    43
    23
    7
See reviews for
226
501
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This family-run hotel, which also includes an interior private garden, is so well-run, with the owner personally looking after our needs, is in a good location, within walking distance of all the sights in Salzburg. Our room was as large as a one -bedroom U.S. apartment with a large bathroom. The breakfast buffet was spacious and delicious, with excellent service, reasonably priced.
Most importantly, after a great day of walking the city, or touring outside of it, to be able to come back to "home", with the interior garden that is so peaceful, was such a great experience.
Great pied-a-terre for Austria, and Salzburg!
Also offer free bicycles to tour the city.

Room Tip: Choose the Villa rather than the hotel since the rooms are larger and they have A/C. But you still e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We chose the Auersperg as a base for an extended weekend break in Salzburg. Location was a key criteria in our choice and we were not disappointed. A pleasant 10 minutes walk from the Old Town and a similar distance from the Mirabelle leaves the hotel ideally situated if you want something just out of the city centre. If the location is good, the rest of this boutique hotel is excellent. A warm welcome was enhanced by a glass of prosseco; the superior room in the main building was spacious and clean, and came with nice touches such as a lounge area, separate toilet and bathrooms, cd and DVD players. The bed(s) were traditional Austrian - hard as nails, and with those irritating single duvets that follow you around in the night. The breakfast is billed as bio and there is a terrific choice of breads, fruits, meats, eggs, cereals etc etc - the choice is huge. There is a small bar area, a rooftop spa and massage treatments can be booked. This is a very good hotel, well located, with great rooms, a plentiful, healthy breakfast and some nice touches. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night between train trips. The location was fairly close to the train station, which is why we chose it, but it was in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle. As we were only there the one night, we didn't go into town; just walked a few blocks to a restaurant for dinner and back to the hotel. Our room in the villa was very comfortable and clean, with plenty of room for the two of us and our luggage. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were not able to take advantage of our included breakfast as we had to catch an early train to Zurich. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was my 4th time at the Auersperg and although I usually don’t take the time to write reviews I felt like in this case I should.

I travel a lot for work and due to Company Policy we are usually tied to staying at a Hotel of either the Hilton or the Intercontinental Hotel Groups. With neither of the two represented in Salzburg, I get to select a Hotel of my own choice. There is absolutely nothing wrong with your Intercontinental or Hiltons, but it is a very refreshing experience to arrive at the Auersperg; the personal and warm reception as well as the charm this comparatively small, privately owned Hotel exudes make it feel like a home away from home. The rooms are beautifully furnished and it quickly becomes obvious that a lot of love and passion has gone into the decorating and the choice of fabrics etc. It’s the attention to detail that makes the difference; be it the fluffy duvets, the high quality bathroom amenities, the Nespresso Coffee machine or the chocolate on the pillow each night.

The beautifully laid out garden with its small pond as well as the sauna & steam bath on the roof terrace, overlooking the mountains & roof tops of Salzburg, are a pure bliss after a hard days’ work.

And not to forget the breakfast; I’m a rather health conscious person and with an all organic, beautifully presented breakfast, that offers everything to the hearts’ content, it couldn’t be a better start to the day.

From the big smiles that I’m greeted with at breakfast to the way special requests are dealt with, at the Auersperg, one very much gets the impression that the owners and their staff don’t just show up for the job each day, but rather run the place with joy & passion.

Thank you Auersperg, for always making my stay in Salzburg so enjoyable. Sayonara, see you in a few months’ time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our 3 teenage daughters. Great location within easy walk of main sights. Beautifully furnished and modern, yet retained its charm. Superb breakfasts and friendly staff. We were able to borrow bicycles and Bettina recommended a nice route for us to take.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KLinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. We were staying for our 20th anniversary and they had a bottle of champagne waiting in our room! The breakfast was excellent. The bed and bathroom were great and the location was about a 10 minute walk to old town. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cincyfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 131 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.5 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Villa Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Property: Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Villa Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel&Villa Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Hotel Auersperg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing