We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stylish comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights in July. When we first arrived in Salzburg I thought it was all a bit too touristy after Heidelberg where we had come from, but the longer we were there, the more I liked it.

The hotel is very charming, it is in an old building outside the pedestrian area and has a good car park. We were in a big room for three on the top floor and we were very comfortable. The hotel isn't super luxurious but is very charming. I particularly liked sitting in the garden after the bustle of the city centre.

Breakfast was good, bed was fine, bathroom worked well. WiFi wasn't brilliant in the top floor but fine elsewhere. It wasn't cheap, but Salzburg was expensive in general.

And there are loads of free apples!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthgateFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    237
    43
    23
    7
See reviews for
226
501
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Given that August is festival season in Salzburg I was afraid to find an opening for any decent hotel. I took a chance on this hotel and not only was I surprised by the cuteness and clean huge rooms of the hotel, I was blown away by the extremely professional and high quality of their customer service. I stayed in the villa part of the hotel and enjoyed every moment. Great hotel and people. Warning- it is extremely hard to find a hotel during end of July and August in Salzburg so don't be alarmed if they cannot accommodate late check out.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

If you like modern design, this is a beautiful hotel. Our room was large and the furniture lovely. The room was in an 1800s building with high ceilings and large windows. Breakfast was delicious. The bar is charming and also had great food. Hotel is expensive but highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waves23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Hello,

I had a terrible experience with this hotel.

After having made the booking the day before coming, and given my credit card information over the phone to block the room, i get a missed call a few hours later... I call back and the room is not available anymore! They didn't even bother to leave a message or write me an email - and didn't find a solution for me - VERY UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Francois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabine2412, Inhaber at Hotel&Villa Auersperg, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
dear mr. francois!
first of all, please excuse, that i do not know your last name. secondly, i would like to tell you, that i was really, really upset by your bad review. you have never stayed in our hotel, so you can't know how much effort we put in every detail to provide our guests with the best service.
my husband - the architect and me, who am i in charge of the hotel in 3rd generation - consider the auersperg as our beloved common "project" and we are doing our very best to make the auersperg to an enjoyable, beautiful place. However, I did have a conversation with the receptionist in charge on that day. guests, who visit us every year, mixed up the date of arrival and realised the mistake just a few minutes after you had booked the very same room. robert, the receptionist, tried to call you immediately, to tell you about this bad coincidence, but couldn't reach you. I really feel sorry, that this happened and that it was such a bad experience for you. and probably robert was not able to find a suitable solution for you in this moment. So, please excuse, if we could have done better in this way. i would like to invite you to get in touch with me directly. i would really appreciate to talk to you personally. with best regards
bettina wiesinger, owner b.wiesinger@auersperg.at
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
212 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights during the summer. The hotel is in two buildings the main building and the villa. We stayed in the villa part. The location is good a few blocks from the pedestrian area of oldtown Salzburg. We came by train it was quite a walk from the station but it is fully possible to do. At arrival we were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine, nice. We had a standard double room it was actually a bit on the smaller side not much room to move around. It had air-conditioning. a minibar, safe, TV, free wifi, a blueray player, books and CD:s. There was also a kettle and complimentary tea but no coffee. Also the room had a nespresso machine but the pods to it were with a cost and not complimentary. We found it a bit odd that it wasnt possible to get nescafe or some standard coffee complimentary in a room of this price. The design of the room was modern but still sober and the colours were light and bright. Bathroom had a bathtub with a shower all very clean. One minus thing that there were no complimentary shower soap or shower gel. There was a well needed bottle of water in the room. Breakfast is served in a beautiful breakfast room with plenty of windows. The whole buffet is mainly organic ecological so the quality of the products is high. At the same time we thought that many of the items were a bit unusual for a breakfast and we ended up feeling that there wasnt really so much that was interesting. The standard things are there juice, bread, cheese, marmelades, muesli and yoghurt. Coffee is served in a pot at the table. We never really figured out how it worked with hot egg dishes if they were included and possible to order. We did see some getting something. The information of how this works was nowhere to find. A nice pamphlet was at the table giving info on the weather and places to see. Thanks to a recommendation in that we had a wonderful dinner at a local micro brewery called die Weisse do check this out when you get there. The room price is a bit on the high side for a room of this size and we were not totally happy with breakfast but besides that a great stay and a clean and well run bussiness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Hotel Auersperg is about 10-15 minutes walk from the old town and therefore the Mirabell park, the castle, dome and of course all the locations for evening events - in that respect its location alone is next to perfect.

The hotel itself appears to have been recently renovated, offering very nice comfortable and modern rooms. All the usual amenities you would expect from a hotel are in place, plus more. For example, all rooms have a tv and Blue Ray DVD player, and films can be obtained from reception - meaning that amusing children is a lot easier.

All rooms have an iPod dock and CD payer with a selection of music. All rooms have a little bookshelf with some books and a guidebook of Austria. These "little touches" make a huge difference!

We stayed with our kids which was no problem. The room was ready prepared with a second double (sofa) bed made up for the children. The rooms are well sized meaning it is easier to walk around and the bathrooms have a great sized walk in rain shower.

Double glazing keeps out the noise (quite a lot of morning work traffic), the breakfast is OK (but no cooked food which may upset some guests and they will declare it insufficient!) and the free wifi is welcome.

The only hint I can give to the hotel is to ensure that south facing rooms have their air con. turned on during sunny days or shut the curtains - the sun streams in making the rooms very hot.

All in all a nice hotel, and I would definitely recommend again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms have effective double glazing - but if you like to sleep with the window open, go for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwatkinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I booked this hotel with reservations at first, but it exceeded our expectations. Hotel is a charming, updated boutique hotel, away from the crowds. The complimentary breakfast was one of the best we've had in all our stays. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially to families not wanting to book multiple rooms. It was a memorable stay for our family

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazybunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 131 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.5 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Villa Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Property: Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Villa Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel&Villa Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Hotel Auersperg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing