We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Found this one on Trip Advisor (always a bit risky), and for once the good reviews are spot on. Ten minutes walk from the centre (take one of their bicycles if you don't want to walk), this beautifully kept little hotel is a real find. It's been in the same family for a few generations and the delightful owner was very much in evidence. We had a beautiful very large room with a lovely bathroom. Everything is in tip top condition. Pretty little garden. Wonderful breakfasts that can be taken inside or outside on the terrace. Excellent service. Great value. Really hard to fault. The only word of warning is that there is no air conditioning (we later learned that the Villa next door has it), so if the weather is hot, best to have a room on the garden side not the road side (it is not however a main road).
We will return...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Location: Short and nice walk just a few minutes towards the Salzach river and city center.
Check in and welcome: Super friendly, warm and professional welcome. Check in went smooth and fast. The staff managed that we could prolong our stay in the same room, even during festival season.
Room: We received a super cozy and perfectly designed room in the house next to the hotel. Great mattress, pillows and linens. Unfortunately, wifi was quite slow and the Nespresso machine did not work.
Breakfast and coffee area: Great variety and unique choice of drinks and food, lots of green food; perfectly attentive and very friendly staff, who is taking care of every wish.
Check out: Very friendly and fast ... as always!
Resume: The Auersperg hotel is our place to stay in Salzburg - we will never book another hotel and will come back very soon in September. The staff really makes you feel at home and knows, how to pamper guests.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights in July. When we first arrived in Salzburg I thought it was all a bit too touristy after Heidelberg where we had come from, but the longer we were there, the more I liked it.

The hotel is very charming, it is in an old building outside the pedestrian area and has a good car park. We were in a big room for three on the top floor and we were very comfortable. The hotel isn't super luxurious but is very charming. I particularly liked sitting in the garden after the bustle of the city centre.

Breakfast was good, bed was fine, bathroom worked well. WiFi wasn't brilliant in the top floor but fine elsewhere. It wasn't cheap, but Salzburg was expensive in general.

And there are loads of free apples!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthgateFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Given that August is festival season in Salzburg I was afraid to find an opening for any decent hotel. I took a chance on this hotel and not only was I surprised by the cuteness and clean huge rooms of the hotel, I was blown away by the extremely professional and high quality of their customer service. I stayed in the villa part of the hotel and enjoyed every moment. Great hotel and people. Warning- it is extremely hard to find a hotel during end of July and August in Salzburg so don't be alarmed if they cannot accommodate late check out.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

If you like modern design, this is a beautiful hotel. Our room was large and the furniture lovely. The room was in an 1800s building with high ceilings and large windows. Breakfast was delicious. The bar is charming and also had great food. Hotel is expensive but highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waves23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hello,

I had a terrible experience with this hotel.

After having made the booking the day before coming, and given my credit card information over the phone to block the room, i get a missed call a few hours later... I call back and the room is not available anymore! They didn't even bother to leave a message or write me an email - and didn't find a solution for me - VERY UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Francois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabine2412, Inhaber at Hotel&Villa Auersperg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

dear mr. francois!
first of all, please excuse, that i do not know your last name. secondly, i would like to tell you, that i was really, really upset by your bad review. you have never stayed in our hotel, so you can't know how much effort we put in every detail to provide our guests with the best service.
my husband - the architect and me, who am i in charge of the hotel in 3rd generation - consider the auersperg as our beloved common "project" and we are doing our very best to make the auersperg to an enjoyable, beautiful place. However, I did have a conversation with the receptionist in charge on that day. guests, who visit us every year, mixed up the date of arrival and realised the mistake just a few minutes after you had booked the very same room. robert, the receptionist, tried to call you immediately, to tell you about this bad coincidence, but couldn't reach you. I really feel sorry, that this happened and that it was such a bad experience for you. and probably robert was not able to find a suitable solution for you in this moment. So, please excuse, if we could have done better in this way. i would like to invite you to get in touch with me directly. i would really appreciate to talk to you personally. with best regards
bettina wiesinger, owner b.wiesinger@auersperg.at

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights during the summer. The hotel is in two buildings the main building and the villa. We stayed in the villa part. The location is good a few blocks from the pedestrian area of oldtown Salzburg. We came by train it was quite a walk from the station but it is fully possible to do. At arrival we were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine, nice. We had a standard double room it was actually a bit on the smaller side not much room to move around. It had air-conditioning. a minibar, safe, TV, free wifi, a blueray player, books and CD:s. There was also a kettle and complimentary tea but no coffee. Also the room had a nespresso machine but the pods to it were with a cost and not complimentary. We found it a bit odd that it wasnt possible to get nescafe or some standard coffee complimentary in a room of this price. The design of the room was modern but still sober and the colours were light and bright. Bathroom had a bathtub with a shower all very clean. One minus thing that there were no complimentary shower soap or shower gel. There was a well needed bottle of water in the room. Breakfast is served in a beautiful breakfast room with plenty of windows. The whole buffet is mainly organic ecological so the quality of the products is high. At the same time we thought that many of the items were a bit unusual for a breakfast and we ended up feeling that there wasnt really so much that was interesting. The standard things are there juice, bread, cheese, marmelades, muesli and yoghurt. Coffee is served in a pot at the table. We never really figured out how it worked with hot egg dishes if they were included and possible to order. We did see some getting something. The information of how this works was nowhere to find. A nice pamphlet was at the table giving info on the weather and places to see. Thanks to a recommendation in that we had a wonderful dinner at a local micro brewery called die Weisse do check this out when you get there. The room price is a bit on the high side for a room of this size and we were not totally happy with breakfast but besides that a great stay and a clean and well run bussiness.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,619 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Villa Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £92 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Villa Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel&Villa Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Hotel Auersperg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing