We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a 5 star experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly a 5 star experience!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I cannot say enough about this hotel. After a surprise engagement in Austria, my fiance and I treated ourselves by booking a room in the hotel and driving up to Salzburg for the night.

From the moment we arrived we had such a fabulous experience. This is NOT the stuck up, pretentious hotels you often encounter with a 5 star rating....the staff were all so friendly and did their best to give us the best night possible. We ate at the hotels restaurants and it was amazing! After being to a few Michelin star restaurants in London, this food lived up to those 100%.

What's great about this hotel is the location. It is only 10 minutes away from the old part of Salzburg, but perched on top of a hill in a stunning forest you feel miles away. So quiet, peaceful and beautiful views of the city and castle.

Although we first considered this a once and a lifetime stay....we will definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayMcInnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    25
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
288
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Wow. This is truly a pinch-me place. The taxi climbed up and up on a windy road to the top of Monchsberg Mountain, through iron gates, across pea gravel, into a peaceful garden laden with flowers and up to the gorgeous colorful castle that would be our home for 2 nights. If only it had been longer. The staff upgraded us to jr suites and helped make arrangements before we arrived and during our stay (thank you, Sabrina and Eva!). The hotel was exclusive and quiet. Bed linens and pillows were super soft and comfortable. Rooms were tastefully appointed and quiet. Bathrooms were lovely with Bulgari products. We loved the breakfasts on the patio; lunch was excellent too (on our last day we needed a quick, light lunch and the server was happy to bring us items off the regular menu). I hadn't realized that we would walk through enchanting woods from the museum elevator from town. This is really a magical hideaway above the old town of Salzburg. When we checked out, we received a jar of fresh, housemade apricot jam. Word has it a renovation is in the works, to add a pool and other amenities, so check construction status before you book. But I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haveboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livigno, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

No complaints here. just a perfect stay in a perfect hotel. Anyone who complains is not an experienced traveller. Rooms are a little smaller than usual but the hotel makes up for that in every other way.Fantastic room service and food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emanuele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked this hotel based on the other reviews on Trip Advisor. It is expensive, but also worth it. We stayed at other fantastic hotels on our trip (honeymoon), but Hotel Monchstein stood out on its own.

The hotel itself is as striking and fairy tale as the photos suggest. It is perched on a cliff above Salzburg, but is remarkably accessible due to elevators in the cliff. The walk from the hotel to the elevators, in the parkland above the cliffs, was a daily highlight.

What sets this hotel apart was its service. The main desk, restaurant, and room staff were all very friendly, helpful, and made us feel very much at home. We missed them after we left!

Breakfast is great and (for us) included in the room price. It is a better-than-average spread in a spectacular venue (outdoor terrace with some views of Salzburg).

We had dinner one night in the restaurant and it was our favorite dining experience out of the two weeks we were in Europe.

We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomva_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankt Johann in Tirol, Tirol, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Hotel is amazing. Staff are ever so accomodating, nothing is a hassle. Had a late check in and the receptionist offer a cheese platter and free drinks so I would not be hungry going to bed. This is the best location to stay in Salzburg. Away from the noise, traffic, yet close enough to walk everywhere. Use a GPS though when driving to the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and 15 year old son for three nights and couldn't find a fault. On arrival booking in was over a complimentary drink on the terrace whilst all of our luggage was taken to our room. We had interconnecting rooms which worked really well. We couldn't hear anything from other rooms. We ate in the restaurant twice and really enjoyed it. We love good food but don't always enjoy the "overly" attentive staff in some fine dine restaurants. Here they got the balance just right. Great food with good service but left us to enjoy our evening. The first night we were lucky enough to eat on the terrace in 30 degree plus weather. What a treat! We found the short walk to the liftbinto the old town worked well. The hotel felt like a country retreat yet within 10 minutes walk we were in the town centre. The walk back through the woods from the lift helps make this a special location. If you visit in good weather it it worthwhile walking to the lift after dark just to view the city. We got some great photos. We had a small problem with the shower in my sons room. The staff were so apologetic, attended to the issue straight away and then later in the day invited us to free drinks on the terrace as an apology. It was a minor issue and we didn't expect this, but in my view the response is indicative of the staff service we received throughout. If you can afford this hotel (it isn't cheap) I would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Yes, it's expensive but it is totally worth it. We stayed here for two days and didn't want to continue with our trip to Vienna. They make you feel special from the moment you arrive with a welcome drink, fresh fruit and a personal note in your room. Every day, you received more fruit and a card with a quote. The hotel and rooms are absolutely beautiful as well as the amazing view high above the city. It's an easy walk to the museum where you can take the elevator down into the city; the hotel will lend you a hotel pass. They took such good care of my 5-year-old and his dietary restrictions. The breakfast which is included is so good. There's a full menu to choose from. We were truly sad to leave and will have to make another trip to Salzburg just to stay here. Only issue is that it can be tricky to find. Thankfully, we had GPS but even we were doubting it as you twist and turn up narrow roads.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the ground floor. You have a patio and can easily walk around the grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManofLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,065 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Monchstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Monchstein

Property: Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Address: Moenchsberg 26, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schloss Monchstein 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SCHLOSS MONCHSTEIN*****s boasts a panoramic view overlooking Salzburg and offers 24 rooms and suites. It lies in the middle of the city Salzburg on a hill. The competent staff of our gourmet restaurant awaits you. Our MonchsteinSpa fulfils all our guests' wishes. We offer the possibility of a civil marriage in the GOTHIC CHAMBER or a romantic dinner in the SMALLEST RESTAURANT IN THE WORLD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schloss Monchstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing